We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liguria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed only one night to visit family, but this was a really beautiful stay! The building is stunning, with a liberty/art deco design. It was clearly remodeled recently and they have a done a great job. The rooms are fantastic, with tall bright windows, recessed lighting in the crown molding and most importantly--very clean. The bath had some issues with drainage, but overall a great experience. Soft pillows and a big comfortable bed...in Italy!!!

The hotel is located right on the Lungomare, or right in front of the sea with a small, free parking lot. Rooftop restaurant and lounge with a pool. And as always, the wonderful NH Hotel breakfast buffet! Service was okay, decent by Italian standards, pretty aloof for American standards.

I took advantage of a winter special and stayed for 79 euros--Livorno is not a big tourist spot, so I think they offer some great specials. But if you have a car, Livorno is only 20 minutes from Pisa, and right off the autostrada that connects to all the major locations. If you get a good deal, it could be a wonderful location to base yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    203
    72
    27
    12
See reviews for
79
279
26
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights here and it proved to be a great base for seeing some of southern Tuscany. The hotel offered everything we needed in comfort with good English speaking staff. The pool and bar area is very relaxing with great views and just what's needed after a hot day out. Room was adequate and comfortable. We also got a great price for a hotel of this quality. Livorno has limited attractions in itself but great for getting on a train to Florence and Pisa.

Room Tip: Always try for a room at the front with great views to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyborg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at NH Grand Hotel Palazzo for two nights - and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very helpful. The city of Livorno does not have much to offer - but the hotel is a perfect base for trips to Pisa, Lucca etc.
And the pool area could easily keep you occupied for a day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A stunning looking hotel in a good location, but definitely as most of the NH hotels are, a corporate business hotel rather than a leisure choice. We had a suite which was beautiful very modern within a very historic building, which surprisingly worked well. The rooftop terrace and pool is a nice touch, but it is very small and the pool freezing. I would say a good place to stay for the night if you are awaiting a boat from Livorno, but that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlaifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

haven't got enough words of praise for this hotel!! top class breakfast, quiet rooms, spotlessly clean. ok the shower seal leaked, big deal. rooftop pool a little small and quite chilly as not in full sun but OH MY GOD! what a view! staff great, beautiful facilities, fantastic stay! don't listen to the miseries who moan! simply lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We checked into our room having been quite impressed on arrival but that soon changed. When we entered our room, there was a dirty razor in the bathroom, used toiletries, rubbish and a half empty bottle of water. They changed our room and thought that was fine. Not in our book and not what I expect from a five star hotel!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon so we got the suite on the fifth floor with a sea view. There was only one staff member who was helpful and kind to us. The rest were so rude. They made us feel so uncomfortable. The view of our room was amazing, probably the only thing keeping me from rating the hotel lower. The finishings in our room were poorly done and the bathroom sink area was dirty (even after room service came and went.) The lights in our room stopped working the day before we checked out, we didn't even bother to complain about that. We ordered room service late one night because we were exhausted from traveling and our meat was undercooked so badly that we didn't eat the two pieces. I went to the front desk the next morning to inform them that we didn't even eat our meals because they were so undercooked, the woman at the desk told me that she can't do anything about it because we didn't complain immediately once we had the meals. When I told her we were too exhausted to wait for two more meals, she said well you should have complained that night I can't do anything for you. At 10:30pm one night, three staff members tried entering our room. They did not knock or anything, we were asleep so we woke frightened. My husband went to the door and they said they were trying to clean our room... it was 10:30pm on a Sunday night. When we talked to the front desk about it, they said that they do this every night. So they apparently barge into your room at night without knocking? We told them we did not want anyone coming at night which they never came back again. Definitely not normal to enter someones room that late without knocking. We were paying top dollar in our room, one of the most expensive rooms there and they treated us like garbage!! There is no doubt that it's a beautiful hotel with amazing views but it's not ran like a 5 star hotel. I think this place wouldn't be bad if you are staying for a night or two but I don't recommend staying any longer. Honestly, I'd rate this hotel lower if the views weren't so nice. Definitely a let down though.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Livorno
#1 Business Hotel in Livorno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.