We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ver nice hotel, would definitely stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Ver nice hotel, would definitely stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel. Stayed here while on vacation and wanted to be close to the ocean and explore the region. From here we visited Pisa, lucca, and cinque terre as day trips. While the town of Livorno doesn't appear to have much to offer, the hotel is situated across the street from the ocean and offers great views from rooms, the rooftop pool, and restaurants. This hotel offered free parking and spacious rooms and bathrooms similar to what we find in North America which is very different than what we found in other Italian hotels. I don't know if this is a 5 star hotel but more likely a 4 or maybe 4.5. There is no doorman to help with luggage, no valet, some minor things in the room could have been a little cleaner and that I think would have made a big difference in raising the rating. Don't get me wrong, I would definitely stay here again and wished we had stayed longer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    210
    74
    29
    12
See reviews for
85
287
27
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

THis hotel is grand in all the meaning of the term.
It has a spacious reception, charming, intelligent and knowledgeable staff who have only one purpose - to please their guests.
Our room on the 3rd floor gave us a breathtaking vista of sea, large ships and the hustle and bustle of a large Italian coastal town and major port.
Breakfast was perfect with heapings of eveything you desire and we taught them very quickly that Tea is made with BOILING WATER. No problem after that.
THe corridors are silent at night - a real blessing
Our room was enormous with the most comfortable 7 foot bed in existance!! Flat screen TVs, desk,safe, fridge plenty of drawers and hanging space - something so often missing!!
5th floor infinity pool too cold at this time of the year to venture into, but, the excellent teak loungers had no matresses - why - after an hour they were too hard to lay on - and no parasols - come on!! But, that is the only piece of nit picking I could come up with.
Rooms had everything with bathroom essentials refilled, and then some, every day. - and spotlessly clean.
Livorno is an ideal place to sea Northern Tuscany with autostrda on your doorstep to Pisa and Lucca reachable in under an hour. San Gimignano takes two hours and Florence is best reached by train - 1.5 hours with four stops.
All in all, a great hotel - I would certainly go back again!

Room Tip: Just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful locations, great rooms, excellent breakfast and stunning seaview restaurant and bar. Service level is honestly shocking. Half of the staff at the reception and restaurant seems to be resting. 10 minutes waiting for check in, half an hour for coffee at the bar. Service level in restaurant like the staff lacks basic training.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel, roof terrace and pool looks so nice, restaurant excellent food and service, staff all helpful, all in all very pleased with our stay.
Only downside we didn't haves shower in our room .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great service. Great view great hotel. Makes the difference Since livorno is really bad I suggest you use the hotel to its max , certainly the roof garden is a must see. The promenade in front of the hotel is wonderfull

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The photos make it look good and in reality it doesn’t disappoint with its imposing presence overlooking the promenade. We were lucky enough to be given a sea-view room on the 4th floor with excellent views. It appears that some of the 3rd floor sea-view rooms have balconies. Our room was very spacious and the double bed wider than it was long. Lots of freebies but beware the expensive mini-bar! The wardrobe space was huge and an easy to use free safe was contained within. Free Wi-Fi was reliable and pretty fast.
Buffet breakfast was adequate without being spectacular; al fresco dining is a pleasant option. There are ample free parking spaces in the hotel grounds. Our room wasn’t available until 3pm which was a little disappointing as we arrived at 2pm but Reception advised that this was the standard time for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely building, well-furnished and very clean. Room & bathroom were excellent, with bath and separate shower. Room overlooked the garden (ie rear), so very quiet at night. Views over the sea can be had from the lovely terrace on the 5th floor. Helpful staff. Buffet breakfasts were excellent. Easy to reach in about 20 minutes on the No.1 bus from the railway station.

Room Tip: Rear-facing rooms are quieter than those with a sea view, as the latter is across a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#1 Business Hotel in Livorno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#1 Green Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.