We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - can be costly, but best accomodation in Livorno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Palazzo

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Livorno
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel - can be costly, but best accomodation in Livorno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you want a formal, immaculate stay in Livorno, this is the only place. It has a somewhat cold feel (in that it is formal and very big), but is very well decorated and maintained. It has a beautiful indoor pool overlooking the sea. There is also a beach club across the street, but it is nothing like the hotel. The staff is very courteous and service is excellent. There is a spa as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    154
    57
    24
    11
See reviews for
55
215
24
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I won't go over what others have said about this place, suffice to say it's very impressive from the outside, pretty impressive on the inside and arguably the best hotel in Livorno. Ample car parking, fairly easy to find. A nice spot with lovely sea view. We had sunset drinks on the terrace bar and it was just divine.

The room was large, modern and beautifully decorated. High ceilings, very comfy mattress. I think we both had the best night sleep for a long time.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, opting to go to a local restaurant Cantina Senese which the hotel recommended. It was great.

Staff on reception were helpful and gave us a map of the area. We only stayed one night but definitely an option if you've just flown into Pisa and want a night nearby before heading out into Tuscany.

All in all, it's a lovely hotel and I would recommend it if you can get it at the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Do 5* hotels have buffet breakfast? No. But this one does. Do 5* hotels go out of their way to be helpful, seeking to give you exactly what you want? Yes. But this one doesn't.

The position, room size, decoration, and ambience of this hotel are all good or very good. This is, however, frustrating as they hint of what might be. Sadly, and in accord with other reviews here, the hotel
Is let down by the attitude, in generality, of the staff (I'd say the story is mixed, with reception staff being the most awkward).

Our room was large and very tastefully decorated. Good quality linen and toiletries.

The roof top tiny pool was enjoyable and refreshing. Note- there is no beach in front of the hotel: the sea breaks onto rocks. The view is beautiful.

The hotel is separated from the sea by a moderately busy (but not disturbingly so) road. On the far side of the road is a promenade that leads into town.

The bar service on the roof is provided at what might politely be called a leisurely pace. The accompanying nibbles are good.

The breakfast is a buffet - in good weather served on the veranda looking towards the sea.

Somewhat unusually for a top range Italian hotel, the vibe is very casual. This is possibly the result of a large number of guests from holland and from Germany. The guests do not have the elegance of typical Italian hotels
Of this type.

Despite these gripes, well worth a visit if you are in the area or well worth the trip alone if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I really like the old building of the hotel, which was totally renewed, and gives a touch of the luxury of the old days. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, big beds, flat screens, marble-bathrooms etc.
The hotel could be much better, here the points I miss:
Internet: They offer free access to wlan internet, but it is so slow, that I could not really use it.
Lobby: An aerea with service where you can sit down, work, and have a cup of tee or coffee or a snack is missing in the lobby, they have chairs etc, but no service. The roof terrace is very nice, but no service all the time (not in the afternoon till 3 o'clock) and it is more designed as a restaurant in the evening.
With more and better service, the hotel would be great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Grand Hotel Palazzo is an old palace that was totally refurbished and brought into the 21st century a short while ago. The tasteful renovation was done a couple of years ago so not much to complain about the amenities. If you are lucky enough to get a room facing the sea you will not be disappointed with the views, simply stunning. The rooms are of pretty decent size and very comfortable. Where I see a problem is with cleanliness which in certain areas must be improved. The bathrooms could be cleaner, there are signs that since the renovation no repairs were done when things were broken. To state a few examples, the carpets need to be hoovered from time to time, or lightbulbs need to be replaced once broken - these are elementary things that need to be perfect in a so called 5 star hotel. That said, there isn't much that needs to be done in terms of upkeeping - yet! I regrettably predict that the maintenance of the hotel will be neglected which is a danger because things will then start falling apart very quickly. But I would for sure stay at the Grand Hotel Palazzo again, mainly also because of the breakfast which was great! Very nice buffet wide great variety and the little bonus is when its good weather and you can eat outside. The hotel restaurant on the top floor is fine, typical hotel restaurant with not much atmosphere but the food was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed only one night here, as planned. There was plenty of parking and the hotel, our room, everything was wonderful...except for the staff. The two women working the evening/nite shift were very friendly...the morning shift personnel were borderline rude. The view from our room of the ocean and boardwalk was breathtaking. And as long as you didn't wander farther than about 1/4 mile on the boardwalk from the hotel, Livorno seemed great. My husband asked the front desk personnel if they could recommend a restaurant for dinner. They told us there was a good restaurant but it was a bit of a hike. No problem. We made our there (through some sketchy neighborhoods) only to find the restaurant closed. We found another restaurant about 1/2 block away and it was the only meal on our trip to Italy that we had that was very bad.

Getting back to the hotel. It is modern, hi-tech to a degree, beautiful infinity pool on the roof. We'd stay there again if only it weren't in Livorno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week at the begininning of September. We chose the hotel because it is well located for day trips to Pisa (35 min drive), Siena (2 hour drive), Lucca (50 minute drive), Florence (90 min drive), Vioreggio (50 min drive), San Gimignano (90 minute drive) and other Tuscan sites. The hotel is also only a 20 minute drive from Pisa airport and is easy to find.
We had two lovely well appointed rooms which had marble bathrooms and were well furnished, clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very nice with a selection of breads, cheeses, ham, pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurts etc which you can eat inside the breakfast room or on the outdoor terrace. The only problem with breakfast was ordering a hot drink! It was very difficult to attract staff attention in the breakfast room to order coffee which spoilt what was otherwise a good breakfast!
The reception staff were welcoming and pleasent; and the housekeeping staff were very efficient.
The hotel has a small indoor/outdoor rooftop pool and sunbathing area, but be warned the pool is very cold and was only used by the brave! The rooftop terrace is a nice area to relax in the sunshine and has a limited number of sunbeds available for residents use.
The hotel also has a rooftop restaurant which was very quiet and expensive, but it had a nice outdoor sitting area overlooking the sea which was a good place to sit and have a cappuccino before bed.
The hotel sits on the sea front at Livorno and overlooks the lido and sea, and it is a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Livorno itself is a port where both freight and cruise ships dock, but the town is a bit shabby and lacks nice restaurants and sites.
To conclude the location of the hotel is great if you are planning a site seeing itinery by car and the hotel is a lovely place to return to after a tiring day visting the surrounding towns and cities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#1 Business Hotel in Livorno
#1 Family Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.