We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look of the Hotel: 5 Star, reality maximum 4 stars!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
GreenLeadersSilver level
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Look of the Hotel: 5 Star, reality maximum 4 stars!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I really like the old building of the hotel, which was totally renewed, and gives a touch of the luxury of the old days. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, big beds, flat screens, marble-bathrooms etc.
The hotel could be much better, here the points I miss:
Internet: They offer free access to wlan internet, but it is so slow, that I could not really use it.
Lobby: An aerea with service where you can sit down, work, and have a cup of tee or coffee or a snack is missing in the lobby, they have chairs etc, but no service. The roof terrace is very nice, but no service all the time (not in the afternoon till 3 o'clock) and it is more designed as a restaurant in the evening.
With more and better service, the hotel would be great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    191
    68
    27
    12
See reviews for
74
261
26
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Grand Hotel Palazzo is an old palace that was totally refurbished and brought into the 21st century a short while ago. The tasteful renovation was done a couple of years ago so not much to complain about the amenities. If you are lucky enough to get a room facing the sea you will not be disappointed with the views, simply stunning. The rooms are of pretty decent size and very comfortable. Where I see a problem is with cleanliness which in certain areas must be improved. The bathrooms could be cleaner, there are signs that since the renovation no repairs were done when things were broken. To state a few examples, the carpets need to be hoovered from time to time, or lightbulbs need to be replaced once broken - these are elementary things that need to be perfect in a so called 5 star hotel. That said, there isn't much that needs to be done in terms of upkeeping - yet! I regrettably predict that the maintenance of the hotel will be neglected which is a danger because things will then start falling apart very quickly. But I would for sure stay at the Grand Hotel Palazzo again, mainly also because of the breakfast which was great! Very nice buffet wide great variety and the little bonus is when its good weather and you can eat outside. The hotel restaurant on the top floor is fine, typical hotel restaurant with not much atmosphere but the food was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed only one night here, as planned. There was plenty of parking and the hotel, our room, everything was wonderful...except for the staff. The two women working the evening/nite shift were very friendly...the morning shift personnel were borderline rude. The view from our room of the ocean and boardwalk was breathtaking. And as long as you didn't wander farther than about 1/4 mile on the boardwalk from the hotel, Livorno seemed great. My husband asked the front desk personnel if they could recommend a restaurant for dinner. They told us there was a good restaurant but it was a bit of a hike. No problem. We made our there (through some sketchy neighborhoods) only to find the restaurant closed. We found another restaurant about 1/2 block away and it was the only meal on our trip to Italy that we had that was very bad.

Getting back to the hotel. It is modern, hi-tech to a degree, beautiful infinity pool on the roof. We'd stay there again if only it weren't in Livorno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week at the begininning of September. We chose the hotel because it is well located for day trips to Pisa (35 min drive), Siena (2 hour drive), Lucca (50 minute drive), Florence (90 min drive), Vioreggio (50 min drive), San Gimignano (90 minute drive) and other Tuscan sites. The hotel is also only a 20 minute drive from Pisa airport and is easy to find.
We had two lovely well appointed rooms which had marble bathrooms and were well furnished, clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very nice with a selection of breads, cheeses, ham, pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurts etc which you can eat inside the breakfast room or on the outdoor terrace. The only problem with breakfast was ordering a hot drink! It was very difficult to attract staff attention in the breakfast room to order coffee which spoilt what was otherwise a good breakfast!
The reception staff were welcoming and pleasent; and the housekeeping staff were very efficient.
The hotel has a small indoor/outdoor rooftop pool and sunbathing area, but be warned the pool is very cold and was only used by the brave! The rooftop terrace is a nice area to relax in the sunshine and has a limited number of sunbeds available for residents use.
The hotel also has a rooftop restaurant which was very quiet and expensive, but it had a nice outdoor sitting area overlooking the sea which was a good place to sit and have a cappuccino before bed.
The hotel sits on the sea front at Livorno and overlooks the lido and sea, and it is a 5 minute walk from the town centre. Livorno itself is a port where both freight and cruise ships dock, but the town is a bit shabby and lacks nice restaurants and sites.
To conclude the location of the hotel is great if you are planning a site seeing itinery by car and the hotel is a lovely place to return to after a tiring day visting the surrounding towns and cities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

booked two rooms (executive & standard for the children). Well maintained, spacious and clean upon arrival. Very good isolated from the street noise and very good beds. Staid for 10 nights. Swimming pool on the roof is OK for the children. Restaurant on the rooftop offers great views every evening. Breakfast buffet is OK, but not what it should be for a 5-star hotel. So were some other issues: ammenities in the bathroom weren't always replaced when empty (had to ask for it on 3 occasions), booked for 8 in the rooftop restaurant and asked for one specific Prosecco and fish from the menu. I was advised the day after that none of them were available... One should expect that the F&B manager would take care of this for a group of 8. The food was ok for the price paid. Male reception staff could be friendlier... Private parking (free) is very usefull. Overall, I would rate this hotel 4 star because of the service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at NH Grand Hotel Palazzo. When we arrived we were given two double rooms for five of us (2 adults and three children). We asked whether there was an extra bed so the children didn't have to sleep in ONE double bed. The receptionist, a surly gentlemen with zero customer service expertise, categorically said the hotel does not offer a separate bed for this level of room but we could pay more if we wanted. I questioned that our travel agent had agreed at the time of booking that we would have an extra bed or we would not have booked it. This was met with a certain amount of arrogance from the reception staff who said there is NOTHING they can do and offered no solution. Our travel agent then spoke to NH Head office who admitted that we were correct and that one of our rooms should be upgraded to accommodate our children with an extra bed. We were pleased that NH hotels agreed to resolve this problem quickly. However, nobody called us or apologised for the inconvenience. We had to ask reception if they had spoken to their head office in order to get the upgraded room.

I have stayed in hotels all over the world but I have to say the service throughout the hotel is appalling, nobody smiles or asks how your stay was or even helped us with our luggage into our car at departure. One night we asked if they could recommend a good local restaurants or provide a map of Pisa - the response was met with blank faces and simply answered 'No'. These staff NEED TRAINING. It's such a shame as the hotel could be fantastic. On the plus side it's in a great location, the rooms were clean and luxurious and represent 5 star quality. The magnificent building and swimming pool area on the 5th floor are impressive. I am sure the award-winning restaurant was good too but not really suitable for a family of five as the prices are high. The breakfast was excellent, a superb buffet with large variety of fruits, cereals and breads and excellent scrambled egg and bacon.

In conclusion we had a good and pleasant stay here but were very disappointed with the service. I hope the hotel management look at this area of their business and improve the customer service experience so that this hotel can deliver the 5 star service we were expecting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Breakfast coffee in a flask/urn in a 5* hotel in Italy??? every 2 star hotel can do better

Had a big black bug in my son's bed and after calling front office they are so arrogant they dont even apologize or offer any compensation

the floor was so dirty by son who is crawling had black legs and cloth

Bathroom is a disgrace, tub is dirty and my wife needed to clean before giving a bath to the son

shower is back full of fungus, towels and sheets are not changed daily

shower is leaking all over the floor because the silicon is dried up and everywhere open gaps


the internet is a joke every day I have to get a voucher from the reception that is printed on recycled paper with other guest information on it (thats how they keep your data and privacy) and for every device you need to get a voucher.. iPhone, IPad, laptop and so on.. after you log in and you close your device or laptop you need to log in again so I ended up to log in like 100's of times... OMG so stone age the speed
Staff is all very arrogant,
BUT the breakfast croissants are the best ever

Room Tip: well better go for a other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Livorno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#1 Green Hotel in Livorno
#2 Family Hotel in Livorno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.