We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff need training in how to deal with customers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The staff need training in how to deal with customers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at NH Grand Hotel Palazzo. When we arrived we were given two double rooms for five of us (2 adults and three children). We asked whether there was an extra bed so the children didn't have to sleep in ONE double bed. The receptionist, a surly gentlemen with zero customer service expertise, categorically said the hotel does not offer a separate bed for this level of room but we could pay more if we wanted. I questioned that our travel agent had agreed at the time of booking that we would have an extra bed or we would not have booked it. This was met with a certain amount of arrogance from the reception staff who said there is NOTHING they can do and offered no solution. Our travel agent then spoke to NH Head office who admitted that we were correct and that one of our rooms should be upgraded to accommodate our children with an extra bed. We were pleased that NH hotels agreed to resolve this problem quickly. However, nobody called us or apologised for the inconvenience. We had to ask reception if they had spoken to their head office in order to get the upgraded room.

I have stayed in hotels all over the world but I have to say the service throughout the hotel is appalling, nobody smiles or asks how your stay was or even helped us with our luggage into our car at departure. One night we asked if they could recommend a good local restaurants or provide a map of Pisa - the response was met with blank faces and simply answered 'No'. These staff NEED TRAINING. It's such a shame as the hotel could be fantastic. On the plus side it's in a great location, the rooms were clean and luxurious and represent 5 star quality. The magnificent building and swimming pool area on the 5th floor are impressive. I am sure the award-winning restaurant was good too but not really suitable for a family of five as the prices are high. The breakfast was excellent, a superb buffet with large variety of fruits, cereals and breads and excellent scrambled egg and bacon.

In conclusion we had a good and pleasant stay here but were very disappointed with the service. I hope the hotel management look at this area of their business and improve the customer service experience so that this hotel can deliver the 5 star service we were expecting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    203
    72
    27
    12
See reviews for
78
279
26
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Breakfast coffee in a flask/urn in a 5* hotel in Italy??? every 2 star hotel can do better

Had a big black bug in my son's bed and after calling front office they are so arrogant they dont even apologize or offer any compensation

the floor was so dirty by son who is crawling had black legs and cloth

Bathroom is a disgrace, tub is dirty and my wife needed to clean before giving a bath to the son

shower is back full of fungus, towels and sheets are not changed daily

shower is leaking all over the floor because the silicon is dried up and everywhere open gaps


the internet is a joke every day I have to get a voucher from the reception that is printed on recycled paper with other guest information on it (thats how they keep your data and privacy) and for every device you need to get a voucher.. iPhone, IPad, laptop and so on.. after you log in and you close your device or laptop you need to log in again so I ended up to log in like 100's of times... OMG so stone age the speed
Staff is all very arrogant,
BUT the breakfast croissants are the best ever

Room Tip: well better go for a other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Looking at the pictures of the hotel, I was so looking forward to our stay. We arrived a couple of hours before check in, I asked at reception if our room was ready, he said it was. But would not let us in unless we paid extra. All the staff were unhelpful, breakfast wasn't good, the staff there were incredibly rude, it was laughable . The hotel garden was nothing like the photos, I really don't understand why it has 5 stars. The only posative thing . The room was quite nice, and good toiletries, that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is the best situated in Livorno. You have a beautiful sight over the sea. The staff is friendly and serviceminded. The cleaning and changing of towels is perfect.
I stayed in one of the topfloor rooms with a private terrace and it was wonderful with a perfect wiew over the sea.
I can recommend the top floor restaurant. I had dinner there twice and both the service and the food was excellent.
I will certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the 5. floor with a seawiew and spoil yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just returned, spent 8 nights at this hotel. Livorno itself a bit quiet but good base to travel to Pisa, Florence etc from local train station. Beaches not up to much and very expensive to spend the day, ie 5 euros to enter plus 8 euros each for deckchair and umbrella, at 21 euros each per day we opted out and used the pool garden on the roof of the hotel instead. I'm sure if they reduced the drink prices there it would prove more profitable in the long term.
The hotel lives up to its previous reviews, our room on the second floor was huge with wonderful high ceilings. A truely magnificent building. A special mention to the very hard working and polite staff who served breakfast and our maid, these people are often forgotton but are so important in enhancing the reputation of the hotel. Also a big thank you to Frederica on reception who went out of her way to make our stay that bit more special. Thank you.

Room Tip: We intended to upgrade to a sea view but preferred our more spacious garden view room on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was a complete joy. It's spectacular-looking and the staff was outstanding. They simply could not do enough to make sure that we had a wonderful stay. As others have said, it is a surprise to find this comfortable, elegant place in such a workaday city.
The pool with glass sides is a knockout. The hotel would make a wonderful base for exploring the area. And oh, by the way, dinner on the roof with water views and the lighted glass pool was memorable. Order the octopus starter! They serve a lovely breakfast, which is included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked our flight and hotel through Expedia a found this hotel to be beautiful and elegant! With 4 nights we got the 5th night free. It was a good central location to go to Pisa, Lucca, Cinque Terre and the Marble Mines. Great water views, fun place to walk, delicious restaurants, pastry shop and hotel breakfast buffet was exceptional with anything that you might desire. We loved a restaurant a few blocks away called Vizu Virtu. Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
#1 Green Hotel in Livorno
#1 Business Hotel in Livorno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#2 Family Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.