We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG local run only 2 star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Livorno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OMG local run only 2 star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Breakfast coffee in a flask/urn in a 5* hotel in Italy??? every 2 star hotel can do better

Had a big black bug in my son's bed and after calling front office they are so arrogant they dont even apologize or offer any compensation

the floor was so dirty by son who is crawling had black legs and cloth

Bathroom is a disgrace, tub is dirty and my wife needed to clean before giving a bath to the son

shower is back full of fungus, towels and sheets are not changed daily

shower is leaking all over the floor because the silicon is dried up and everywhere open gaps


the internet is a joke every day I have to get a voucher from the reception that is printed on recycled paper with other guest information on it (thats how they keep your data and privacy) and for every device you need to get a voucher.. iPhone, IPad, laptop and so on.. after you log in and you close your device or laptop you need to log in again so I ended up to log in like 100's of times... OMG so stone age the speed
Staff is all very arrogant,
BUT the breakfast croissants are the best ever

Room Tip: well better go for a other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    207
    74
    28
    12
See reviews for
81
282
27
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Looking at the pictures of the hotel, I was so looking forward to our stay. We arrived a couple of hours before check in, I asked at reception if our room was ready, he said it was. But would not let us in unless we paid extra. All the staff were unhelpful, breakfast wasn't good, the staff there were incredibly rude, it was laughable . The hotel garden was nothing like the photos, I really don't understand why it has 5 stars. The only posative thing . The room was quite nice, and good toiletries, that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is the best situated in Livorno. You have a beautiful sight over the sea. The staff is friendly and serviceminded. The cleaning and changing of towels is perfect.
I stayed in one of the topfloor rooms with a private terrace and it was wonderful with a perfect wiew over the sea.
I can recommend the top floor restaurant. I had dinner there twice and both the service and the food was excellent.
I will certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the 5. floor with a seawiew and spoil yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just returned, spent 8 nights at this hotel. Livorno itself a bit quiet but good base to travel to Pisa, Florence etc from local train station. Beaches not up to much and very expensive to spend the day, ie 5 euros to enter plus 8 euros each for deckchair and umbrella, at 21 euros each per day we opted out and used the pool garden on the roof of the hotel instead. I'm sure if they reduced the drink prices there it would prove more profitable in the long term.
The hotel lives up to its previous reviews, our room on the second floor was huge with wonderful high ceilings. A truely magnificent building. A special mention to the very hard working and polite staff who served breakfast and our maid, these people are often forgotton but are so important in enhancing the reputation of the hotel. Also a big thank you to Frederica on reception who went out of her way to make our stay that bit more special. Thank you.

Room Tip: We intended to upgrade to a sea view but preferred our more spacious garden view room on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was a complete joy. It's spectacular-looking and the staff was outstanding. They simply could not do enough to make sure that we had a wonderful stay. As others have said, it is a surprise to find this comfortable, elegant place in such a workaday city.
The pool with glass sides is a knockout. The hotel would make a wonderful base for exploring the area. And oh, by the way, dinner on the roof with water views and the lighted glass pool was memorable. Order the octopus starter! They serve a lovely breakfast, which is included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked our flight and hotel through Expedia a found this hotel to be beautiful and elegant! With 4 nights we got the 5th night free. It was a good central location to go to Pisa, Lucca, Cinque Terre and the Marble Mines. Great water views, fun place to walk, delicious restaurants, pastry shop and hotel breakfast buffet was exceptional with anything that you might desire. We loved a restaurant a few blocks away called Vizu Virtu. Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

After a long flight from Canada with unfortunately a toddler crying the entire way, then a 4 hour drive from Rome what a relief to reach our first destination. Our GPS took us through the main city center and needless to say we were a little concerned. Very busy and very typical of a city of this size. What a surprise to find the hotel on a beautiful seaside street with a more relaxed holiday atmosphere. Check in was easy and the reception spoke enough English for us the get all of the necessary information. Our room was smallish but no more small then any hotel you would have gotten in any metro city in Canada. There is a beautiful waterfront across from the hotel where you would almost think you were in a southern California coast town. Lovers strolling, teenagers hanging out, roller skaters wheeling by and tourists capturing the sunset, had to remind ourselves we were now in Italy. We opted for dinner at the hotel which was definitely in a beautiful setting. Rooftop with an infinitie pool as a neighbor (too cool to use when we were there) we enjoyed our first Italian meal. Great meal, which be prepared to take your time as it is the Italian way to sit and enjoy. Beds were a little to firm for our liking but we found that in every hotel in Italy. The only reason I would give this hotel a 4 instead of a five ( other then the few cosmetic things that I did not see but my very observant spouse noticed on arrival) I unfortunately sliced open my toe on the threshold into the bathroom and we mentioned to the reception that I had totally ruined a towel with the blood we had to mop up they simply replied they would have it fixed. A simple apology would have been nice. If you're looking for a nice stopover between Rome and the north I would recommend this hotel for its location and beautiful sunset.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Viale Italia, 195 | Terrazza Mascagni, 57127 Livorno, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Palazzo)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Livorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Livorno
#1 Green Hotel in Livorno
#1 Business Hotel in Livorno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Livorno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo is an exquisite five-star hotel with breathtaking views of the Ligurian Sea, exuding the luxurious charm of over one hundred years of glorious history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, NHHotels, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Livorno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Livorno Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.