We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole to your Saves list
Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole
Via Peramonda 1, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastically situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very good for access to Florence. A free site taxi takes you the 1800 metres into Fiesole (you can obviously walk it but the streets ane pavements, where they exist, are narrow so not pleasant walking). You can then get a number 7 bus (they run every 20 minutes) which takes you right to St Mark's Square. Tickets can be bought at the campsite. On your return you can phone for the free taxi.
The view from parts of the site is exceptional. You're up on a hill looking down on Florence and if they trim the hedges a bit, or you have a van with a high floor, you can actually see the the Duomo quite clearly. From other parts of the site you can get great views of Fiesole.
There's a small minimarket, not well stocked when we were there in May, a decent restaurant with wonderful panoramic views from the terrace and a good swimming pool.
Toilet facilities are adequate but not particularly clean and in a poor state of repair (many toilet locks broken).
You choose your own position and the area suitable for medium to large sized motorhomes is fairly limited.
Be careful how you approach the site - follow the direction on the website or risk losing a wing mirror, as we did, or worse
The staff were exceptionally helpful and welcoming.
Redogs: More than one at homes just below the site so obviously you hear them from time to time but no one dog barked persistently while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
28
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Bad news and good ones: the only bad is indeed the dog. Same like others: never heard a dog barking non-stop all night until about 4-4:30 a.m.
The rest is good, or very good. The cabin we stay in, was clean and with everything you need. Everything was working fine, and the staying was great. There was some mosquitoes but traveling everywhere in the world is hard to remember a place where is mosquitoes free. Get some spray and if you get bites, rub it with dry fine table salt. Works always 100% guarantee.
The people from the reception were very helpful, polite. The WI-FI wasn't the strongest, but we still got our connections .
The shuttle bus to Fiesole was very good, and the return with buses 45 and 47 was OK. Walking from the bus station to camping (about 300 meter distance and maybe 50m elevation) was perfect to keep us slim and healthy (!!).
The bus 7 was great to downtown Firenze from Fiesole. Bought pass for 10 trips for 10 Eu at the camping reception. Used in all busses.
The store in Panoramico is very good for basic things, not much expensive than in the city. Very friendly personnel. The restaurant is a first class, we saw people coming from Firenze to have dinner there. Well, the view is incredible from the terrace.
The pool (open till 7 pm ) is a great place to cool down after a day of sightseeing. In special at our visit was well over 30 C each day.
All in one: was a great hit to go and stay there.
Alida and her team made our stay absolutely unforgettable.
Kudos Panoramico, keep up the good work, we will be back one day if in area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

First off, the good: the staff were wonderfully helpful, the view if incredible, the facilities were nothing like any camping I've ever known, and the restaurant and store would fit right in downtown. The site was private and comfortable, and it the shuttle bus was efficient and reliable.

BUT...there was a dog who belongs to a home just outside the camping ground which had to be heard to be believed. It literally NEVER stopped barking, all night, both nights we stayed. It was like a car alarm, and can't be exaggerated. Didn't take more than 10 seconds off...I don't know when it sleeps. Now, on the upside, one of the girls I was with said the full moon was probably the cause...something about animals getting weird when it's in the air...and additionally, I don't think it's physically possible for an animal to go on like that indefinitely, so it probably won't still be a factor if you go, but for us it meant 2 sleepless nights cusring in disbelief. Other campers nearby were equally amazed, and theories to explain the phenomenon ranged from abused animal to deaf owners. Honestly, if I was reading this, I would assume an element of hyperbole, but it's simply not true...this dog really was a canine version of a broken smoke alarm going off all night.

The setting for the restaurant and pool has to be seen to be believed, and the service was excellent, but the food was just ok.

So my review is sort of split...without the dog, this place is an absolute find...but with the dog, it requires some sort of advanced earplugs and sleeping pills.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We rented a mobile home for a week and we had a very pleasant stay. The view from the pool is absolutely amazing. The site and the facilities are very clean. A shuttle takes you to the bus stop in the little town of Fiesole (5 min), then you have a 30 min ride with bus 7 to the center of Florence during which you can enjoy the enchanting landscape. A very nice, cheaper alternative for families visiting Florence.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — prices at the camping shop
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bremen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

We just stayed there for one night, and I have to say:
only one or two sites had that "panoramico" view. Sites were very small, pool should have been nice when opened but may was too early.
Bathrooms were nice and clean, staff friendly.
But the price from 38.00 for 2 adults and a Ford nugget was absolutely too high for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

This was our first time in Camping Panoramico, but not our first time camping in Tuscnay and we thought it was a great place to stay. It is about 10 mins bus journey from Florence to Fiesole in the Tuscan hills, then another very short bus journey of a couple of minutes to the campsite. It's called camping panoramico because of the ridiculously amazing view of the entire city of Florence - cannot describe it.

The campsite is small - average size, there are just pitches, no static caravans so either cars, caravans or camper vans. There are some small cabins but we camped. The ground/pitches is all hard soil type stuff, no grass so we needed our inflatable bed rather than just our sleeping mats. We found it relatively easy to get a good pitch, even arriving late afternoon at the end of July.

You cant book a pitch ahead, but can ring up on the day to check that there is still room. We didnt we just turned up and there was plenty of room. You just book in, stay as long as you want, then pay at the end.

The campsite has a pool, restaurant and shop! The shop is bit over-priced but coop in Fiesole is VERY cheap so therefore worth the walk!! The campsite has excellent facilities such as great toilets, showers, washing up rooms. Has a great communal kitchen (for keeping beers cold!) and rather randomly an ironing room - we did not use that!!

The only downside is the climb!!!!! You get the No.7 bus from Florence to Fiesole(apporx 10-15 mins), then get the 47 or 49 bus from Fiesole main square to the campsite entrance. It is then only a couple of hundred metres up a VERY steep hill to the reception! but it is worth it!!

We found it very easy to go into Florence and travel to other places such as Pisa and Lucca. We ate a couple of times in Fiesole and found it quite reasonably priced and a lovely eveing out. Only downside is the trek back up to the campsite - we cheated and got a taxi! (less than 10 euros).

There is a free mini-bus from campsite TO Fiesole but not back the other way which would be a huge advantage, but it was still a helpful service on the day when we were leaving.

It is quite a relaxed campsite and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We payed approx £20 per night for both of us and a plot which we thought was fine.

  • Liked — Lots of things; the view, the relaxation, the campsite, the peacefulness.
  • Disliked — The climb / trek up to the campsite - need to put on a shuttle service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Lets get this straight, Camping Panoramicio is a beautiful campsite scattered with Cyprus trees and with fantastic views from the beautiful pool terrace over the whole of Florence taking in the Duomo, in this very wealthy town of Fiesole on the outskirts of Fiesole which houses some famous history from the Roman amphitheatre, to the houses of the Meddici family. Yes you do pay extra for this campsite, it is very well maintained, very peaceful, very friendly staff, the shop is typical of any campsite shop to be honest, the restaurant is nothing to write home about, and it has a bar that opens till at least 12am (NO NOISE). There is a shuttle bus from the campsite to Fiesole town as it is quite a walk and the No 7 bus runs regularly to Florence City. We often ate in Fiesole town because it is so nice, and got a taxi back to the site...... very cheap!! So I would not worry to much about getting home. Totally worth it if you want to spend a few days R&R and a few days sight seeing. We have camped there a number of times but now book the cabins..... much less hassle.

  • Liked — The views, the surroundings, the staff
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole

Address: Via Peramonda 1, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.