We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last day in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parco di Montececeri

Parco di Montececeri
Fiesole, via Cave Maiano, Fiesole, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Attractions in Fiesole
Type: Parks, Cultural
Attraction details
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Last day in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our last day, last trip before we left Tuscany in October. The weather was perfect, which helped a lot the overall impression - when it comes to 'nature attractions' you need good weather to really appreciate it. The park is easy for walking (no climbing required), quiet, well mapped so you know where you are or what you see. There are some very nice etruscian remains (see photos I attached). You can also get on rock, simply by walking, which is the highest point of the whole park - from the is very nice view to whole park and its surroundings. Its better not to hurry in the park, to take at least 2-3 hours for it, possibly more - there are more places from where you can have very nice view down, some benches where you can sit, eat perhaps, and enjoy the nature, the view, the quieteness around you. In overall definitely worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A walk in the Tuscan hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visited Fiesole to see the Duomo and the Etruscan remains, and then walk back to Florence. When we got there we found that the tourist office had maps for local walks. Feeling somewhat sated with art and culture we walked instead. The park is tranquil, interesting flora and fungi, and offers splendid views over Florence. We lunched in the cafe at the top left on the square where the house Chianti was excellent and very good value for money. Beware! We had planned to walk back into Florence but having already walked and then lunched decided to return by bus. By then the kiosk selling bus tickets had closed and the bus drivers were unable/unwilling to sell us tickets. An alternative source of tickets is located in a tobacconists on the right of the main steet about 500m up from the square.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meddybemps, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good day trip from Florence. We packed sandwiches and took a bus from Florence to Fiesole, then walked up and down the hills. Park has wonderful view of Florence. Sat on a bench, had lunch and enjoyed the view. Well worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Go to Fiesole and watch the sun set over Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We drove up to Fiesole which overlooks Florence. We walked through this small suburb of Florence. We bought gelato walked up the hill to the Park that overlooks Florence and from there we watched one of the most beautiful sunsets we have ever seen. The clouds were perfect that evening and the sky was beautiful reds, oranges, blues and purples. We watched the lights start to come on it Florence and then returned to Florence for dinner.

It was a much better very then from Boboli Garden - and it was free.

Parking is very limited so It was a bit of a walk to get there but it was worth the view.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice walking trail through the parc with beautiful view on Florence. No directions available. Da Vinci was said to use this place as try out place but no indications available.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parco di Montececeri also viewed

 

Been to Parco di Montececeri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parco di Montececeri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.