We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Convent of Fiesole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Missionary Museum - Convento di San Francesco

Franciscan Missionary Museum - Convento di San Francesco
Via San Francesco 13, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
055 59175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Fiesole
Type: Religious Sites, Museums
Attraction details
Duarte, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Convent of Fiesole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

actually this was the first time i went to Fiesole on a date with a friend and we walked around the convent to take in the view and of course it was lovely , that was many years ago but even in the dark i still remembered it when i returned during the day

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    36
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quiet and cool above the heat of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The convent was established around 1399 and retains a small, very pretty area of cloisters, always colourful with flowers. The Church is small with a crucifix by Neri di Bicci. The monk's cells are still intact and it is possible to go up a narrow staircase and visit some of the cells.

The view from just below the Convento is magnificent, views across Florence and the surrounding countryside. Take the no.7 bus from San Marco to Fiesole terminus and then a short but steep walk from the square where the Convento di San Domenico i s located takes to past a leather shop and view point, up to San Francesco.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went to Fiesole on a Sunday and were lucky that there was a market in the town square that morning - I don't know how often that occurs. We made the climb up to the convent and paused along the way to take photos as we climbed. The climb is steep but there were places to rest and enjoy the view before continuing onwards.

There is a plaque in the courtyard of the convent which states something like "this is a most sacred place" and requests that visitor respect this. After having been in all the huge, glorious, rich duomos, I have to say that this little church felt much more sacred than any of the other huge churches. It was very still there and the isolation of the church from Firenze and even Fiesole (because of its climb) emphasized to me how dedicated the nuns must be to live there cloistered.

Unfortunately we missed seeing the rooms of the monks.

If you can manage the climb, then it's worth it. Even doing part of the climb offers great views of Firenze.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing church, and Chinese treasures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The incredibly steep climb from the centre of Fiesole is most definitely worthwhile, if you take the time to visit both the chapel (which is tiny, but incredibly richly decorated, with gorgeous Renaissance frescoes), and the museum (the garden is beautiful too). We were astounded to find so many Chinese cultural treasures in the museum (also some Egyptian items). Whilst it hardly seems ethically right that a Christian institution has kept so many historically & culturally important items (absolutely stunning, in fantastic condition) acquired during its time in China, we consider ourselves very lucky to have been able to see them. A bizarre and flabbergasting experience, and definitely worth the climb. As wonderful as it was for us to be able to see them without the travel to their place of origin, it's a pity the people of China don't have these pieces, as they're part of their history, and don't relate in any way to Christianity.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The view is worth the steep walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Be prepared for a VERY steep walk...but the view at the top is breathtaking. The central courtyard of the monastery is charming and serene. A must-see part of a day in Fiesole.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franciscan Missionary Museum - Convento di San Francesco also viewed

 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Been to Franciscan Missionary Museum - Convento di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franciscan Missionary Museum - Convento di San Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.