We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the theater alone worth the trip from Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Theater and Civic Museum (Teatro Romano e Museo Civico)

Roman Theater and Civic Museum (Teatro Romano e Museo Civico)
Via Portigiani 1, Fiesole, Italy
39 055 59118
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Fiesole
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 269 cities Reviews in 269 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Even the theater alone worth the trip from Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Even if Fiesole could not boast its famous views on Florence and other sights, the vision of the Roman theater it would be enough to justify the trip to this small, hilltop town (is very useful bus n.7, running from Piazza San Marco in Florence).
First of all, theater is located in a scenic location, with a view to a beautiful and peaceful countryside, on the opposite side to that of Florence. You can see here the will (common both to the ancient Greeks and Romans) to situate if possible the theater in scenic sites.
Secondly, a tour around the ruins gives the sense of the age when the ancient Fiesole was more important than Florence (in fact, the Romans founded Florence in the plain, in competition with the Etruscan Fiesole), and thus an idea of the whole area in ancient times, an idea almost completely canceled in Florence from the development of medieval metropolis.
Instead, the connected Archaeological Museum, although interesting, has a quite local meaning.. If you are even a little interested in archeology, don't miss the all-important museum in Florence (close to Piazza Annunziata).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    71
    15
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best archeological place we have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We visited this site and were amazed by the beautiful surroundings and the excellent state of the excavations. The park is surrounded by the hills of Tuscany and is very picturesque. It had excellent walkways and lifts for those in wheelchairs and many explanations in Braille for the partially sighted. The museum was set into the hillside around former excavations which were visibly accessible through glass panels. We learned a lot about the Langobard people who had originally settled the area. A peaceful, tranquil retreat. Caught the number 70 bus from San Marco Square. 4.70 euro for two return tickets purchased from the local tobacconist.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Worth a visit but needs more informative displays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This 2000 year old Roman amphitheatre and other ruins are an easy short bus trip up the hill to Fiesole from the centre of Florence. Some well designed signs or audio tour would have enhanced the explanation of the various sites while walking around unless you can read Italian or Italian Braille. It was fun for the kids to run around unhindered through all the ruins and the amphitheatre steps to let off steam after a long lunch. The rapid bus ride down the hill was certainly worth the two euro return bus ticket for thrill seekers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Florence and I'm so glad we took the number 7 bus to explore Fiesole, including the Roman Amphitheatre and Museum in particular. It was one of our favourite things during the whole week! The admission, and the bus fare, were both covered by our Firenze cards. The bus was busy but we got seats both ways, and the journey didn't take very long. We spent a very enjoyable half day looking at the ruins, the beautiful scenery and the many fascinating artifacts in the museum (there seem to be more explanatory signs in English now than earlier visitors say they found). We had a very nice lunch sitting outside at the cafe within the site (they offer a 10% discount to those with admission tickets). After lunch we went back to the town square and took the steep path up to the Monastery - fabulous views over Florence from up there, and the Monastery was also very interesting as we were able to see some tiny monks' cells.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing out of the way jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

beautiful view and not crowded. A hidden jewel in a small hilltop town 20 minutes from Firenze. You can stop at a cafe next to the site and view it while having a cool drink or a light meal.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Theater and Civic Museum (Teatro Romano e Museo Civico) also viewed

 
Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Been to Roman Theater and Civic Museum (Teatro Romano e Museo Civico)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Theater and Civic Museum (Teatro Romano e Museo Civico), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.