We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Bonelli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Bonelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Bonelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via F Poeti 1, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
16
37
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Villa Bonelli in November of 2011 for our honeymoon. It's taken me a couple of months to write the review but I promised myself I would do it so I can share the good experience! This hotel is such a great hidden gem. We stayed in two beautiful and much more fancy hotels in Venice and Florence, but we both agreed that this was our favorite. We were put in the "best room" which is on the top floor and offers a great view over the valley. The decor is very minimal but I loved the exposed beam ceilings and the view was all the decor we needed. Everything was very clean and the service was outstanding! Peter helped us out tremendously with anything we needed, including helping us map out our strategy for seeing Florence. He also helped recommend restaurants. It is just a couple blocks away from the main square in Fiesole and convenient to all the shops and restaurants, as well as the bus stop. Breakfast is included and very substantial. Pastries, cereal, fruit, and assorted meats and cheeses. They also will make you a cappuccino if you'd like. It is such a great bargain and you get so much for so little! I can't say enough about how great of an experience we had here.

We still swear we are going to come back and stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I was in Italy touring for three weeks and the Bonelli was the best deal I found: clean, cute, smallish rooms -- most of them with a view -- and a courteous and efficient staff. I stayed here for four days at the beginning of November and paid 40 Euros per night when a friend was with me and we had a two bed room and then 32 Euros a night when my friend left and I moved to a single room, which was as nice as the first. It is nearly a perfect way to see Florence for those on somewhat of a budget. The No. 7 bus runs from the Fiesole town square (five minute easy walk frome the hotel) to Piazza San Marco in the middle of Florence every half hour. Breakfast is included in the room rate. The only slight negative is that if you've got a rental car the parking at the hotel is an additional 10 Euros per night. Add to this that the road approaching the parking and hotel is narrow and steep. However, I simply parked the rental car in the public free parking down the hill and walked to the hotel. I had no problems with security in this parking lot, but it's a bit of a walk up a staircase to get to the hotel. All in all, this was a very good experience and a great, great value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My family of 5 stayed two nights at the Hotel Villa Bonelli while visiting Florence. Our two rooms were spacious and had nice hillside views. They also included a refrigerator, which was a very nice feature. Parking was remote, a slight negative. Breakfast was decent, although they definitely need to replace a poorly operating toaster (and preferably have at least 2 toasters available).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is good value and if you want to experience Florence from up in the "clouds" Fiesole is the place to be. We stayed for a week and paid 70 euro a night so you can't complain about the value. The rooms are clean and many of them have good views but the breakfast offerings are a bit spartan.
Don't spend all of your time down in Florence - the Fiesole area has some good walks and the archeological zone is well worth a look.
All in all, it would be good if the front of house staff were a bit more welcoming but the Hotel Villa Bonelli is a good value hotel option.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

this is a nice, simple, family run hotel in the centre of fiesole. They usually have offers, so the price for a double room is more than affordable. We've stayed several times, and the standard of the rooms is pretty much the same (tho the rooms either facing the olive groves or the ones on the top floor have the best view and are quiter), but the standard of the bathrooms can vary somehow - nothing too bad, but they are in general need of a refurbishment. There is a free parking place but it's really small (I had a smart and that's ok, but don't go with anything big!). Fiesole has however some free parking spots just 5 min. from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thredbo Village, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

A family run hotel in the quaint yet typical Tuscan mountain town of Fiesole. Only 10 minutes by frequent bus to Florence, set high above that city, this was an ideal place to stay. Nothing was a trouble to the staff who were cheerful and helpful at all times. The breakfasts were good and the restaurants in the town ranged from high class to cheap and tasty. Visiting the Roman and Etruscan ruins with its amphitheatre and museum was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Bonelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Bonelli

Address: Via F Poeti 1, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Bonelli 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Bonelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonelli Hotel Fiesole
Hotel Villa Bonelli Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Bonelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.