We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst dinner in Italy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Di Maiano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fattoria Di Maiano to your Saves list
Fattoria Di Maiano
Via Benedetto da Maiano, 11 | Località Maiano-Fiesole, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worst dinner in Italy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

As part of group dinner food was disappointing, staff unfriendly and service slow. They were the positives..so best to say no more..don't bother!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
7
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

At first glance you have to wonder if there is anywhere more beautiful in Tuscany. Unfortunately, that's where it ends. Rustic is a generous description of the accommodation. The apartments are horribly dated, unclean and the amenities are limited. We traveled as a family with a baby and we were without a microwave or kettle. The staff where absolutely lovely and tried their best to help whenever they could, but if you don't have something, you can't give it to someone. We attended a family wedding at the Villa which was absolutely phenomenal. Given the opportunity to return, I would not choose this as my accommodation. For the same price you can find something a lot nicer in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were lucky enough to attend an amazing wedding at the venue and to say that they were, relaxed, welcoming and accommodating to our large group is an understatement.
I guess you could consider us a relatively wild bunch of family and friends and they embraced our party nature at this wedding and made us feel overwhelmingly welcome.
The bride and groom were delighted with the place, which is so important to them enjoying their day, but all of the guests loved it too. the view was breathe taking the place was lovely and homely, the beds were so comfy, and the food and drink were brilliant. overall, it was amazing, and the memories I wish cherish forever.
Also the pool was a bit chilly when we were there but was really nice and refreshing whilst overlooking the best views, and you can even go and make friends with some donkeys!

Room Tip: We shared a little villa type place with six couples having our own room and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We got married in Fiesole this september and booked up rooms at Fattoria Di Maiano for our family and friends to stay. At first we were dubious about the rooms as they looked so rustic I was concerned that some of our fussy guests wouldnt like the place. The rooms we had had no air con but it didnt matter, the weather was around 30 degrees and it did not feel too warm in the rooms. On occasions of course it was slightly warm but we had fans and the staff were more than helpful when it came to asking for another fan if any rooms felt they needed it. It was such a beautiful place to stay with so much character. Each appartment was different and all equally as nice as each other. The reception girl Sara was lovely, so smiley, helpful and friendly she made you feel so welcome, and spoke very good english. I forget the names of the owners son who worked in the resturant and young girl who worked there too but they were brilliant as well. I couldnt fault the staff and the service we got.

The welcome baskets were filled with the best biscuits I have ever had and im gutted i didn't have room in my case to bring packets back, a lovely bottle of home made wine along with olive oil and fruit. Such a lovely touch after travelling to the appartments.

We had a court yard out the back of our appartment and it was perfect for all of our family and friends to get together in the evening to share a few bottles of vino!

Only thing I would say about the place that I wish was better was the location. The taxis from here to Fiesole town or Florence were a rip off even though it wasn't that far.....but it didnt over rule the good points about Fattoria Di Maiano.

If you are getting married in the Fiesole region and want to put your family up somewhere where they can all chill out together around a great sized pool during the day and BBQ or drinks in the evening then i strongly recommend this place. It is so peaceful with amazing views of the hillsides of Florence and I would definately definately go back again! In fact I wish I was there now and could re-live the amazing memories we shared with our family and friends for our wonderful wedding in Italy.

Kelly and Ryan, London, England. 6th Sept 2011. xxx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Absolutely wonderful location, 5 km from Florence, on one of the hills overlooking the city. Apartments are in an old cloister (15th century), plenty of little spots to sit outside, Fantastic pool (photo) with -again- magnificent view.
We stayed in "Chiostro", a beautiful little apartment in itself, although in high season it is best to stay there with 2, not 3 people. This is due to the fact that the third bed is in the living room, next to the front door and the central entrance to the cloister and the apartments, wich means a lot of noise during the night. On of the other apartments has a table and chairs for general use directly next to its front door.
There was a nespressomachine! Besides we were greeted with a little welcoming basket. Very friendly and helpful staff!

The fattoria has a little shop with very nice products from the estate.

Travel to Florence by bus nr. 11. The busstop is 2,5km downhill - so take your car, it's easy to park there. If you don't have a car than the walk back up is rather tiring.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at Fattoria Di Maiano for 2 weeks and loved it. It's located about 5 km outside Florence and the view over the city and olive fields is absolutely fantastic. It's a nice place to enjoy the beauty and charm of Toscany away from the city, while still being able to travel easily and quickly to downtown.
Everyone was very helpful and friendly including the people at the restaurant, the shop and the reception. Our apartment was very nice and in authentic Italian style. It had two terraces both with a beautiful view, and everything was generally in very good condition. There was also free WiFi.
Tours of the villa and the olive oil production was offered, and there's was also a wild life night safari that is highly recommendable.
It wasn't the first time we stayed there, and it definitely won't be the last!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

we were 10 people together from Australia. Our rooms were in all parts of Fattoria & all had a sewerage smell &/or leaking toilets most of the time. Water presure was mostly poor. Pool VG but everywhere you look much maitenance & upkeep is needed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiesole
0.7 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
0.5 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Fiesole Hotel
Villa Fiesole Hotel
#4 of 11 in Fiesole
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio al Sole
1.1 mi away
Villa dei Bosconi
Villa dei Bosconi
#6 of 11 in Fiesole
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Bonelli
Hotel Villa Bonelli
#8 of 11 in Fiesole
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Di Maiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Di Maiano

Address: Via Benedetto da Maiano, 11 | Località Maiano-Fiesole, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria Di Maiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Maiano Hotel Florence
Fattoria Di Maiano Florence
Fattoria Di Maiano Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Di Maiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.