We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing but beautiful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Di Maiano

Save Saved
You added Fattoria Di Maiano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Di Maiano
Via Benedetto da Maiano, 11 | Località Maiano-Fiesole, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing but beautiful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

At first glance you have to wonder if there is anywhere more beautiful in Tuscany. Unfortunately, that's where it ends. Rustic is a generous description of the accommodation. The apartments are horribly dated, unclean and the amenities are limited. We traveled as a family with a baby and we were without a microwave or kettle. The staff where absolutely lovely and tried their best to help whenever they could, but if you don't have something, you can't give it to someone. We attended a family wedding at the Villa which was absolutely phenomenal. Given the opportunity to return, I would not choose this as my accommodation. For the same price you can find something a lot nicer in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were lucky enough to attend an amazing wedding at the venue and to say that they were, relaxed, welcoming and accommodating to our large group is an understatement.
I guess you could consider us a relatively wild bunch of family and friends and they embraced our party nature at this wedding and made us feel overwhelmingly welcome.
The bride and groom were delighted with the place, which is so important to them enjoying their day, but all of the guests loved it too. the view was breathe taking the place was lovely and homely, the beds were so comfy, and the food and drink were brilliant. overall, it was amazing, and the memories I wish cherish forever.
Also the pool was a bit chilly when we were there but was really nice and refreshing whilst overlooking the best views, and you can even go and make friends with some donkeys!

Room Tip: We shared a little villa type place with six couples having our own room and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We got married in Fiesole this september and booked up rooms at Fattoria Di Maiano for our family and friends to stay. At first we were dubious about the rooms as they looked so rustic I was concerned that some of our fussy guests wouldnt like the place. The rooms we had had no air con but it didnt matter, the weather was around 30 degrees and it did not feel too warm in the rooms. On occasions of course it was slightly warm but we had fans and the staff were more than helpful when it came to asking for another fan if any rooms felt they needed it. It was such a beautiful place to stay with so much character. Each appartment was different and all equally as nice as each other. The reception girl Sara was lovely, so smiley, helpful and friendly she made you feel so welcome, and spoke very good english. I forget the names of the owners son who worked in the resturant and young girl who worked there too but they were brilliant as well. I couldnt fault the staff and the service we got.

The welcome baskets were filled with the best biscuits I have ever had and im gutted i didn't have room in my case to bring packets back, a lovely bottle of home made wine along with olive oil and fruit. Such a lovely touch after travelling to the appartments.

We had a court yard out the back of our appartment and it was perfect for all of our family and friends to get together in the evening to share a few bottles of vino!

Only thing I would say about the place that I wish was better was the location. The taxis from here to Fiesole town or Florence were a rip off even though it wasn't that far.....but it didnt over rule the good points about Fattoria Di Maiano.

If you are getting married in the Fiesole region and want to put your family up somewhere where they can all chill out together around a great sized pool during the day and BBQ or drinks in the evening then i strongly recommend this place. It is so peaceful with amazing views of the hillsides of Florence and I would definately definately go back again! In fact I wish I was there now and could re-live the amazing memories we shared with our family and friends for our wonderful wedding in Italy.

Kelly and Ryan, London, England. 6th Sept 2011. xxx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Absolutely wonderful location, 5 km from Florence, on one of the hills overlooking the city. Apartments are in an old cloister (15th century), plenty of little spots to sit outside, Fantastic pool (photo) with -again- magnificent view.
We stayed in "Chiostro", a beautiful little apartment in itself, although in high season it is best to stay there with 2, not 3 people. This is due to the fact that the third bed is in the living room, next to the front door and the central entrance to the cloister and the apartments, wich means a lot of noise during the night. On of the other apartments has a table and chairs for general use directly next to its front door.
There was a nespressomachine! Besides we were greeted with a little welcoming basket. Very friendly and helpful staff!

The fattoria has a little shop with very nice products from the estate.

Travel to Florence by bus nr. 11. The busstop is 2,5km downhill - so take your car, it's easy to park there. If you don't have a car than the walk back up is rather tiring.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at Fattoria Di Maiano for 2 weeks and loved it. It's located about 5 km outside Florence and the view over the city and olive fields is absolutely fantastic. It's a nice place to enjoy the beauty and charm of Toscany away from the city, while still being able to travel easily and quickly to downtown.
Everyone was very helpful and friendly including the people at the restaurant, the shop and the reception. Our apartment was very nice and in authentic Italian style. It had two terraces both with a beautiful view, and everything was generally in very good condition. There was also free WiFi.
Tours of the villa and the olive oil production was offered, and there's was also a wild life night safari that is highly recommendable.
It wasn't the first time we stayed there, and it definitely won't be the last!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

we were 10 people together from Australia. Our rooms were in all parts of Fattoria & all had a sewerage smell &/or leaking toilets most of the time. Water presure was mostly poor. Pool VG but everywhere you look much maitenance & upkeep is needed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I can't say enough nice things about this property. The apartment that we rented was spacious and fairly priced. We had a huge terrace that looked out over Florence. The location is a fifteen minute taxi ride to downtown Florence, but the quiet countryside offered a quiet place to relax after the bustle of the city. The restaurant and store on site were very good and convenient. What really sets this location apart though, is the staff. I have never stayed at a location where the people were so accommodating. After a couple of days on site, we truly felt like family. From the receptionists to the owner and his family the love and passion for the property is easily seen. Take time to enjoy the pool, the grotto, and the safari. I was not able to discern WiFi availability from other reviews, but it is available and free in the common areas. Finally, many reviews discuss the need for a rental car in this area. I would disagree, and caution readers that the steep and winding roads are better left for the taxi drivers.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria Di Maiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Di Maiano

Address: Via Benedetto da Maiano, 11 | Località Maiano-Fiesole, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria Di Maiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Maiano Hotel Florence
Fattoria Di Maiano Florence
Fattoria Di Maiano Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Di Maiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.