We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Di Maiano

Save Saved
You added Fattoria Di Maiano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Di Maiano
Via Benedetto da Maiano, 11 | Località Maiano-Fiesole, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a beautiful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed in the 3 bedroom 2 bath Terraza apartment for a week while attending a wedding reception that was held at Fattoria di Maiano. The property is beautiful with panaoramic views, great pool and spectacular grounds. Most importantly, this family owned property is run by such passionate people. The service was excellent and everyone was so friendly. I would suggest taking the tour of the villa and olive press. The kids particularly enjoyed the evening safari drive to view the animals on the property as well as the wildlife in the area. The grotto is a quiet and stunning place for an afternoon picnic lunch. The restaurant and market were excellent as well. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for room with views over the grounds and flore
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Great venue for weddings, exceptional views from the villa! I would'nt stay here if you want to go sightseeing in Florence because its far way from the city maybe 20 mins by bus, which are a bit irregular.. But for weddings, I'd highly recommend it! :)

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights with wife and 7month old. Main purpose was for wedding in the Villa next door - amazing building and setting.
Apartments were spacious and fitted/furnished to suit the character of the buildings. Only 1 unit with aircon though so nights were uncomfortable. Because of this we wouldn't return here during the peak summer months.
Taxi into Florence is about 15 Euro. To Florence airport is about 40 Euro.
Nice restaurant - good food and terrace.
Great pool and views.
Would also have expected pool towels and mosquito plug in pads to be supplied with the apartments.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

I read the other reviews and it's interesting that the couples who actually get married there think the place is wonderful, whereas the reviews from guests tell a somewhat different story. We went for a friend's wedding, and found quite a few things substandard - but didn't complain because we didn't want to hurt the bride and groom's feelings. The views are ravishing, the pool is marvellous - but that's the best of it. We weren't allowed to park on the premises and there is no porter nor no porter's trolley - which meant lugging heavy suitcases down the hill, through the gates, up the drive, and up flights of stairs. Our apartment was very shabby, the upholstery was old and grimy, and the decor was much in need of a spruce - and it's the first self-catering apartment I've ever visited that didn't leave us a few basics to start us off - a little washing up liquid, some tea, coffee and sugar, half a pint of milk etc. All they gave us was half a toilet roll. The place is quite a way from anywhere - there is a deli downstairs that services the restaurant but it only sells food and is quite frequently shut. Our toilet didn't work - we reported it to the office, but the lady just said "We are not a hotel." Actually, they did mend it quite quickly, but it didn't help our overall view. And we saw another apartment which was much nicer, so perhaps they are doing it up bit by bit. We ate at the restaurant one night, and wouldn't repeat the experience - it was more expensive than downtown Florence and the food was not up to the high standards we've come to expect in Italy - the vegetables arrived after we'd finished the main course! All in all, we found it rather expensive and an experience we would not want to have again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Unless the traveler has transportation, this place is not situated within easy walking distance to transportation. It is at the top of the highest hill in the area and the daily shuttle runs 4 times a day - and the last two shuttles are not reliable. We stayed for 12 days and walked 2.5 km most days to catch the nearest bus. Returning at night is hazardous if one takes the bus - it stops about 15 minutes from the residence. The roads are not meant for two lanes of traffic and it was harrowing avoiding the cars, especially at nights in the dark.

This is not a place for children or for those with mobility problems. Taxis can cost from 13 Euros to 22 Euros - the drivers flip the switch that moves the metre price higher when he lets you off. It is a 15-minute brisk walk returning home by an alternate route to avoid the uphill climb.

The 15th Century Villa has not updated its amenities. Hot water was a rarity in the main building. It was unreliable and inconsistent. Many a times it became cold within 2 minutesI looked under my bed on my last day to ensure that nothing had slid there and it housed dust bunnies and dead moths. My lamp fell down and it was accompanied by a cloud of dust. We had cleaning services once during our 12 day stay and received one change of towels (one bath and two hand towels).

There are no nearby shops and we were responsible for our own meals. The adjoining restaurant was not opened daily - Wednesdays to Sundays, in the afternoons and then again at 7:30 pm.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

we stayed last month for a wedding, we found accomodation basic but clean, unfortunately there is no air conditioning so at nights was very uncomfortable. It is not child friendly as there are many steps to climb daily. There is no basic shop at the complex which means that you either have to walk to the town of Fiesole and take a taxi back which will cost you sixteen euros to get back with your goods.
This is a beautiful location with fabulous scenery, and with a little moderation of facilities could improve your stay.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed here for a week in September as I was getting married at Castello di Vincingliata.I booked out the entire place(save El convento) for family and close friends and it was amazing. Each apartment is spacious, clean and fully equipped with iron,hairdryer,fresh towels, welcome basket.The rates are also very reasonable for this area.The views from some of the apartments and as you sunbathe by the pool are spectacular. Also, there is an adjoining restaurant with it's own deli. You really have everything you need and Florence city centre is a 10-15 minute drive away.Perfect accomodation and we hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fattoria Di Maiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Di Maiano

Address: Via Benedetto da Maiano, 11 | Località Maiano-Fiesole, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria Di Maiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Maiano Hotel Florence
Fattoria Di Maiano Florence
Fattoria Di Maiano Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Di Maiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.