We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious & magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa San Michele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Villa San Michele to your Saves list
Belmond Villa San Michele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A luxurious & magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I absolutely loved this hotel. I've stayed in some of the loveliest hotels in Italy, and I can say without question that Villa San Michele was my favorite. Firstly, the setting is remarkable, the views stunning, and the vibe, utterly charming. We had just spent the last week at the Lungarno and we'd heard of the Villa's lush scenery. From the minute we arrive we were treated as if we were the only guests there. We were given the utmost of attention by all the fabulous staff who consistently made it their business to ensure we have everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Everyone who worked there, from Managers to waiters to housekeepers were incredibly friendly and lovely. The food was impeccable (yet pricey), and the rooms were large and comfortable. I should mention that the design of this Villa is not at all modern. It's very modest and old world, but very clean and charming. They also have free internet in the rooms and ALSO outside in the gardens! This hotel certainly isn't cheap, but if you want to treat yourself even for a couple of nights, you will not be disappointed! This is PERFECT honeymoon hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    34
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
35
115
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

what an amazing trip! We stayed 5 nights at Villa San Michele at the beginning of october to celebrate our anniversary. We had an incredibe time in Italy, the hotel staff could not have been nicer and always ready to comply with any request. Luca the manager met us on arrival and provided an unexpected free upgrade to a junior suite with private garden with a huge marble bathroom. Housekeeping service was very good.Vittorio the restaurant manager organized an unforgettable private dinner under the star with spectacular view of Florence, the food was great and especially the tagliolini with white truffles.We had dinner also the following day by the terrace restaurant, excellent again,The pool was stunning and had good lunch there. We used the complimentary shuttle to go shopping to Florence, the ride is 20 minutes, it was very efficient.Did not tried the cooking school.We will defenately be back..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I'd like to be really positive about the Villa San Michele but I think that it does not deliver what it should. It is a very expensive 5 star hotel but it seems to be trading on the fact that the view and setting is fantastic and so has lost sight of providing good service. The rooms are nothing wonderful. They are large but the furniture is not particularly nice or even comfortable. The bathrooms are lovely and the Bulgari toiletries are lovely but when I turned on the basin tap I had to wait for some time before the water stopped running brown. So maybe they need new plumbing. They also have an insect problem. There are mosquitos in the rooms and at breakfast there were dead insects in the stewed fruit and on the pastries. Service was off and on. At times there was no one at the pool to give you a towel or put a cushion on a lounge and you had to do it yourself. One morning at breakfast we were just ignored - no dirty dishes removed or menus offered. If you made any comment to the staff about service faults they suggested the fault was somehow yours. For example we waited 20 minutes one night for a drink that had been ordered and when we asked about it we were told it was because they were squeezing fresh juice for it as they didn't use bottled. It was implied that we were just impatient when it was quite clear they had just forgotten. The hotel has a no mobile phone policy in public areas but this wasn't enforced and everyone seemed to be either on their mobile phones and or taking pictures of themselves, which was annoying and not very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This hotel is expensive but worth every cent! The view can't be beat. The staff is very gracious. The facility is gorgeous. I can't wait to go back. Every room is beautiful and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. Another beautiful Orient-Express property.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

No place in Florence can you get an experience like San Michelle. Ive stayed in many hotels in the city, but staying in Villa San Michelle is a totally different experience. We had the most peaceful stay & couldn't help but continue to stare at the views overlooking the city... just beautiful! The staff was everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel as every single need is waited on... even if you love being in the city itself the hotel makes it so easy to get back and forth. Nothing beats spending a busy morning in the city and a peaceful afternoon relaxing in San Michelle... perfect combination! if you love Florence but also want to feel like you are relaxing on vacation San Michelle is the place to go.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed in early May and the air conditioning had not been turned on for the summer. When we arrived I thought that the heating unit had been left on, the room was so hot. The temp outside was in the mid 80's and at night we had to keep the windows open (sunrise around 4:30 am with lots of bugs coming into the room) to get relief from the heat. Other patrons at the hotel experienced the same discomfort . Given the price of the room, in excess of 1,000 euros a night, I think that we paid too much.

The meals were expensive given the quality of the food and be sure to get a quote for a taxi, we spent 40 Euros for a trip that was less than one mile.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I stopped here for lunch a few years back and decided to stay next time i went. We stayed in the napolean library suite. It was very original. I wouldn't say that the hotel is on par with a four seasons, because it is a different animal. If you are looking for traditional european elegance with incredible views of Florence this is the place to stay. very romantic setting. The staff was sufficient, but not by any means over the top with service. If you are in Florence for a few nights or even one I highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the surviving fresco of the Last Supper to the terraced gardens and pool, Villa San Michele is a feast for the eyes. In the 15th century it was a monastery, today it is one of Europe's most fascinating hotels. A Renaissance Villa, a perfect view of Florence. The finest resort from which to appreciate the city of the Medicis via the comfortable complimentary shuttle that in just 15 minutes links the Villa to the shop windows, the art, the museums. Dining at the Loggia Terrace will be one of the most romantic experiences of your entire trip. Don't leave without learning the secrets of Italian cuisine at the hotel's cookery school, where hands-on lessons are taught by famous Chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Belmond, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.