We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa San Michele

Save Saved
You added Belmond Villa San Michele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Villa San Michele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Classic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A true Italian classic. San Michele does not wow you with opulent rooms nor does it have amazing facilities however it has romance in abundance. If you want flashy or brand new with gym facilities, this place is not for you.
We had a garden suite which had its own garden overlooking florence. The rooms are a good size but not flashy (of course with an italian price tag). What you get here is career staff who really know how to treat you. We were looked after by Vittorio and his staff like nowhere else before. The restaurant in the summer overlooking the lights of Florence is spectacular. The food again is classical but excellent. The whole place oozes charm, from the frescos inside to the beautiful lemon garden. Having a bellini on the lawn at sunset is one of my favourite memories. It offers the perfect launch pad to visit Florence without being stuck in the sweltering heat of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    33
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
33
109
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

15min drive from the heart of Florence but providing breathtaking views across the City from a secluded and romantic setting in Fiesole. We found it hard to leave the hotel due to the freindly staff, large pool and brilliant restaurant. I will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

All the management and staff were extremely friendly. The service is excellent. Most suites in the main building are great with nice view overlooking the city. Good location outside the overcrowded city of Florence. The cooking class with the very friendly Chef Attilio Di Fabrizio was really a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just left the Villa San Michele and had a wonderful experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful that we immediately felt welcome and comfortable. The hotel is in an old monastery that has been decorated beautifully, but without destroying the history. The views from most of the property are a spectacular panorama or Florence. Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a superior room. The room was furnished nicely and had a lovely marble bathroom. The dining area includes an outdoor covered terrace that feels very magical in the evening---delicious food with stunning views. My husband and I arrived feeling slightly under the weather and the dining staff prepared special items for us to aid our recovery. They made us feel like they truly cared about our well being.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator and there are quite a few stairs in the main building. If stairs are an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

When I arrived at the front of the hotel, I knew it was a special place, but when I walked out onto the terraced gardens on the way to our junior suite, I thought that I had died and gone to heaven. Was it the scent of the wisteria that climbs the villa wall or was it the perfect realization of landscape, architecture and design? They run shuttle buses into Florence for guests, but why would you want to leave this place for any reason? This is a destination hotel so the perfect trip would be three days in the city and then three days at the Villa by the pool. Did I mention it is romantic? And private? And discreet? With perfect service? And great martinis? Did I mention the view?

Room Tip: We were in the garden in a junior suite with a private terrace. Note that these rooms are built into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Expensive, but worth it! The Junior Suites are wonderful. The staff
is fantastic and the GM is the best, caring and attentive. So nice to be out of Florence in season.
Very busy and crowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first night we were in a junior suite. Very nice. The next night it was booked and we had to move to a regular room. VERY disappointing and over priced!! Tiny and view was of the roof top. We ate almost all our meals at the hotel and all were Fabulous. Mauricio at the front desk was so helpful and provided outstanding service thru out our stay. Our waiter, Dennis and the maitre made our Resturaunt visits fun and offered excellent suggestions. We will return to this property but will be sure to book ahead for the suite.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the surviving fresco of the Last Supper to the terraced gardens and pool, Villa San Michele is a feast for the eyes. In the 15th century it was a monastery, today it is one of Europe's most fascinating hotels. A Renaissance Villa, a perfect view of Florence. The finest resort from which to appreciate the city of the Medicis via the comfortable complimentary shuttle that in just 15 minutes links the Villa to the shop windows, the art, the museums. Dining at the Loggia Terrace will be one of the most romantic experiences of your entire trip. Don't leave without learning the secrets of Italian cuisine at the hotel's cookery school, where hands-on lessons are taught by famous Chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Belmond, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.