We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa San Michele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Villa San Michele to your Saves list
Belmond Villa San Michele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Guaranteed Rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Away from it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a great hotel away from the hustle and bustle. We had a fabulous room with a huge bathroom that seemed to be built into the side of a hill. Room 62.... Nice! When we arrived we had cocktails in the garden. I could have lounged there for days soaking up the beauty and seeing Florence in the distance. This was the third Orient Express hotel we stayed in on our trip and it was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNovella, Direttore generale at Belmond Villa San Michele, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Don W,
Thank you very much for your nice words regarding your stay with us! We are very pleased to know you enjoyed Villa San Michele and that you are a regular Orient-Express Guest!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Marco Novella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    35
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
35
117
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were not staying here,but went for lunch,we were told to pick up their shuttle after waiting thirty minutes we rang and were told that was cancelled, and we had two choices wait for the next shuttle, which maybe in 30 minutes or take a taxi which we did, no apology then or on arrival,lots of well dressed staff but they had little interest in serving us.The food was unmemorable except for the prices,over 30 euros for carpaccio for a starter! the other dishes were similar needing very little skill to prepare.We decided to take coffee outside and waited a further 30 minutes.Understandably there were only 3 other diners.Sadly living on past reputation in need of a good manager.Hard to understand how they justify these prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNovella, Direttore generale at Belmond Villa San Michele, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your lunch and the shuttle bus. We are very sorry for what happened and good note has been taken of your comments despite it would be useful to know more specific details.
Would you like to give us more information with regards to your lunch, we kindly invite you to send us an email to rsv@villasanmichele.net.
We hope to have the chance to welcoming you again and to make you leave with a better feeling.

Best regards,
Marco Novella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Villa San Michele in Fiesole,one km, from Florence is definitely a destination hotel.This 600 year old monastery has a magnificent loggia where you eat overlooking Florence,above is the hill where Michelangelo tried out out his planeur.Most rooms are in the main building itself,but some are also hidden in the gardens.These rooms have little private gardens.Mine had a white wisteria over it.
The Loggia,the main restaurant is airy though a bit breezy.The manager Mario Novella,runs a tight ship.rare for these luxurious hotels,the Villa San Michele has a fantastic children's programme,ranging from making pizza to visiting Florence on a bike.
There is a shuttle service to Florence for those who might want to leave the hotel!

Room Tip: The junior duites in the garden are very private,.İf you are a crowded family ,get the Limonaria,a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What an amazing property !!!!!!!!!!!! from the terraced gardens with super awesome views ,bursting with tulips and other beautiful flowers, to the rooms with view of Florence to greet you on waking up in the morning, to the comfy mattress with high quality cotton linnen, to the beautifully done up verandah restaurant and bar, impeccable service with the best meet and greet attitude......i could go on and on. Oh !!! cannot miss the Bellinis with fresh peach, made by Dennis !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Villa San Michele for 4 nights on our honeymoon. The hotel staff was genuinely courteous. However, the rooms are dated and definitely not worth a 5 star rating. Our room in particular (#30) had no ventilation, worn furniture, a rock-hard bed and thread bare towels. If this is Orient Expresse's interpretation of a quality hotel, I would definitely short the stock. Lastly, dinner at the "fine dining" restaurant was poor and the maitre de treated us like second class citizens. Definitely the worst meal of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNovella, Direttore generale at Belmond Villa San Michele, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time of writing a review of your stay. Good note has been taken of your comments.
We hope to have another chance to welcome you back soon to Villa San Michele and to make you leave with better feelings.
Best regards,

Marco Novella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a way to stay in Florence! Sitting under the arches of the al fresco dining area, and looking at Florence below, is worth whatever exorbitant price the hotel usually charges for anything. We were extraordinarily well looked after by everyone. The general manager greeted us twice, and all the staff remembered us by name. The pool area is wonderfully laid out and serviced, and the breakfast, served in a magnificent indoor dining room, is literally the garden of plenty. The only criticisms are: beds are super old, mattresses feel like planks of wood. Also, internet service is spotty, as is cell phone reception. But maybe it is all for the best, keeping in character with the hotel's monastic past. Please experience this hotel - it is a wonderfully relaxing time warp, despite some shortcomings.

Room Tip: Pay up - it s the only way I m afraid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Were here for a diner.
View was excellent. All Florence at a glance.
While food was very ordinary.
I would not say they have 2 Michelene stars - nothing special.
Very difficult to get by car - no parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the surviving fresco of the Last Supper to the terraced gardens and pool, Villa San Michele is a feast for the eyes. In the 15th century it was a monastery, today it is one of Europe's most fascinating hotels. A Renaissance Villa, a perfect view of Florence. The finest resort from which to appreciate the city of the Medicis via the comfortable complimentary shuttle that in just 15 minutes links the Villa to the shop windows, the art, the museums. Dining at the Loggia Terrace will be one of the most romantic experiences of your entire trip. Don't leave without learning the secrets of Italian cuisine at the hotel's cookery school, where hands-on lessons are taught by famous Chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.