We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Villa San Michele

Save Saved
You added Belmond Villa San Michele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Villa San Michele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Italy at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the time of check in - Adriano so friendly - we were made to feel welcome and at home ...an elegant, not glitzy, yet so comfortable home - being there felt like you were drinking a fabulous bottle of a great older vintage of wine. We had booked a nice room to get beautiful views from the main building but we were upgraded to an even larger and prettier room with a corner view of the hillside gardens as well as Florence. The staff was solicitous and professional, aiming to please and accommodating our special requests at meal time - oatmeal just how I like it. They even arranged with Hertz to deliver our rental car to the hotel. The wine list was wonderful- a deep list of older vintages which we enjoyed at dinner. The terrace is gorgeous and we had breakfast and dinner there. We also had tea/wine in the garden with delicious snacks of chips, nuts, olives in what was truly a spectacular setting. Hor d'oeuvres at the bar- prosciutto, little shrimp, bruschetta - all delicious. Breakfast buffet was great with fresh fruit, dried raspberries!, cereals, wonderful cakes, cheeses, breads, etc. While my fish at dinner was a bit too salty for me, my husband's pasta dishes - gnocchi so light - were outstanding. The bread at dinner deserves special mention as they were freshly made - the little muffin with radicchio was really outstanding. The gym was small but had just enough for a good workout. A large window opened in the gym letting in a wonderful breeze with a to-die-for view. An HD tv in the gym would be nice. The pool setting is spectacular. Free wi-fi made staying in touch easy. Everyone made a point to address us by name, a nice touch. Water offered each time we went out, a power adapter already in the room. Many other really nice touches too numerous to point out. We have stayed in Florence many times at a hotel we love and decided to change it up and stay here. Trip into town was 20 minutes on the hotel shuttle - a simple trip. Coming back to tranquility with a view is wonderful. We are glad we tried a new place. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    30
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
106
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

For the second half of our trip we headed to the Villa San Michele in Fiesole, a short (20 minute) drive from the centre of town. The grounds of the hotel recall the rustic luxury you come to expect of Tuscan countryside.

The ace up the hotel’s sleeve is the view; overlooking Florence, the majority of the rooms and certainly the pool offer beautiful vantage points, as does the hotel restaurant.

A convenient shuttle bus runs hourly between the hotel and Piazza della Repubblica at the heart of Florence, making the villa a perfect option for those who have visited the city before and for whom a stay in greener surroundings is appealing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

VillaSanMichele is a gem. From the moment we entered the building to when we drove off, it was flawless. At the check-in, the receptionist showed us couple of room alternatives and ended up upgrading us. The room that we stayed in had a wonderful garden.

We had both lunch and dinner in VillaSanMichele, which were great. Especially the dinner is a true gastronomic experience with a lot of flavors, and a huge wine list. Again next morning, the breakfast was amazing, loads of very fresh. very delicious stuff, it was hard to refrain myself from overeating.

Pool area is absolutely stunning. So calm and relaxing.The hard thing is to choose between staying in the pool for the entire day vs going to Florence.

Indoor spaces are full of character. A lovely, lovely place. we will definitely go back there. In my review i always add some negatives to balance the review out a bit but it is very hard to find a negative about this place.

Please keep it as it is forever!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I spent an evening at the hotel and we had dinner which in my opinion was Michelin standard. The staff are very attentive and the food was equally fabulous. it was nice to get out of the centre of Florence and experience what I would describe as an amazing hotel with a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

If you want a special place it doesn't get any better than the Villa San Michele.! The room are very spacious,the bathrooms are the best I've ever been in, and all the people that work here cater to you. I can't thank Marcello,Adriano,Dennis and chef Attilio and Danielo for making our cooking class so fun and informative. Can't thank you all enough for making our trip very special! And did I mention the views of FlorenceWOW! Everywhere you look is breathtaking. Xxxooo

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Probably one of the nicest luxury hotels I have ever stayed in. The old world ambiance combined with the beautiful gardens and outstanding view of Florence makes this a once in a lifetime experience. Ask for the Cardinal's suite for a little bit of a twist for your stay. The views of Florence are absolutely outstanding. It is a bit of a distance from the center of Florence but well worth the few extra blocks to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cardinal's suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you want the "most perfect", "most romantic", "best service", and "greatest food", then make a reservation at the Villa San Michele for lunch or dinner. The sommeliers do not "talk down" to you and the waiters are efficient and not pretentious. Now to the food: Everything that came to our table of six was delicious. The risotto was the best of all and from the fresh and tasty salad to the excellent desserts it was the best of the best. Cannot say enough in praise of this lovely spot.

Room Tip: We did not stay here but we enjoyed our very best dining experience here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa San Michele

Address: Via Doccia 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa San Michele 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the surviving fresco of the Last Supper to the terraced gardens and pool, Villa San Michele is a feast for the eyes. In the 15th century it was a monastery, today it is one of Europe's most fascinating hotels. A Renaissance Villa, a perfect view of Florence. The finest resort from which to appreciate the city of the Medicis via the comfortable complimentary shuttle that in just 15 minutes links the Villa to the shop windows, the art, the museums. Dining at the Loggia Terrace will be one of the most romantic experiences of your entire trip. Don't leave without learning the secrets of Italian cuisine at the hotel's cookery school, where hands-on lessons are taught by famous Chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Orient Express, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Belmond Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele By Orient-Express Hotel Fiesole
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel
Belmond Villa San Michele Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Villa San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.