We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Bencista

Save Saved
You added Pensione Bencista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensione Bencista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Benedetto da Maiano, 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Pensione Bencista in late September while attending a wedding. After flinging open my wood shuttered windows to a spectacular view of rolling hills, olive groves and Florence in the distance, all I kept saying was WOW! Bencista is a warm and inviting family run business. I felt like I could have just stayed and explored all the various sitting rooms and stairways and nooks and crannies for days. The decor is perfect, the food is authentic and delicious and all of the staff were attentive and accomodating with any requests we had. The rooms were all unique and had varying features. Wi-Fi was available but the signal wasn't always easy to find/keep. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed was a little on the 'firm' side for my tastes and was low to the ground and moved easily on the wood floor, but it did not hamper the enjoyment of my stay. This is not a chain type hotel and you will not find a flat screen TV, mini bar or coffee maker in your room. It is quiet, rural, and absolutely charming. Aside from day trips into Florence, the lovely Etruscan town of Fiesole is just up the road and worth going to see. There's a small market there on Saturday mornings, as well as an interesting archeological museum and church. We walked there once, but I would recommend taking the 5 minute bus ride instead, as the road is narrow, steep and has no sidewalks.
I loved my stay at Pensione Bencista and happily recommend it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique in size and decor. Even if you don't get a room with a view - the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    41
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
70
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the place I dream about all year round! Imagine a wisteria -covered terrace overlooking the hills of Florence, sipping perhaps a glass of chilled Prosecco before a leisurely homemade dinner. Followed by the best night's sleep in a country house style bedroom - lovely cosy chintz and antique furnishings. Add the warm and friendly owners, the beautiful gardens - and the next day, Florence - this is paradise!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I am one of a group of people who stayed at the Pensione Bencista on the recommendation of the bride whose wedding we were attending in Florence. Her judgement is excellent. The Pensione is set on a hillside over looking Florence and its rustic, even rural ambience is a soothing counterpoint to the hustle and bustle of busy Florence and its marvellous sites. Our rooms were comfortable, the service is friendly, the atmosphere is 'family-like' and the food was very good. And all of this at a reasonable rate. I recommend this hotel enthusiastically and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a gorgeous place, very relaxed and it feels like coming home every evening after looking at the wonderful treasures of Florence. The breakfast is good and the dinner is marvellous. It is really wonderful to be in such a lovely house, in the country and not surrounded by traffic and masses of people. The dogs are very friendly and definately bilingual. The bus ride back and forth is quite pleasant as you feel part of the place with local people. The management are very nice and we felt very welcome. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: View is more expensive but we were very happy in our room as we were saving money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want to experience true Italian hospitality and real Tuscan food and accomodation then stay at Bencista. Staying at Bencista is like staying with your Italian family - the warmth, the food, the views and the whole experience is for me simply the best. We stayed there on our honeymoon 13 years ago and again recently with our 2 kids and nothing has changed (apart from the spa!). For me it is was the highlight of our trip - the views from the terracce are outstanding and just so peaceful after a busy day in Florence. The dinner is also a highlight as we share the family meal with the daily menu - this is very economical (Beatrice - put your prices up for meals - did I say that!) and delivered with love. Simply perfection for me. Dont come hear if you want standard 5 star hotel experience - but do if you want an authentic tuscan experience.

Room Tip: be aware there is no air con so I think it would be hot in the summer. Rooms with view of Florence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed at Pensione Bencista three times and it never fails to delight. This Italian villa set above the Florence valley is a quick 10 minute bus ride from the Duomo and the center of Florence. It is SO lovely to get out of the heat and grit of Florence at the end of a day of sightseeing and sit on the cool terrace overlooking Florence. It's a good 5 to 10 degrees cooler up in Fiesole. The pensione is lovely, the rooms very comfy with fantastic views. Breakfast on the terrace is also stunning. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Florence valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Pensione Oct 1-4th. The building itself is part of the Tuscan experience. The Pensione has the style, location, and feel of Tuscany. An old building with multiple rooms, plenty of common areas, and situated in the hills on the road to Fiesole, an amazing view of Florence. For location and a quiet, beautiful, and authentic visual experience, this place is a 5-star. That is of course, if you are looking to stay away from the city, and are comfortable managing the 20-30 minute bus ride back into town, which we were. The bus system comes up reliably on Google maps and the routes were easy to plan.

Our room was clean and spacious. The queen/king bed was made by pushing two beds together. My side of the bed was very creaky when I turned and it was overly hard. The bed side lights were CFL and were not bright enough.

Food wise, the breakfast offering was plentiful, but it was also plain/bland and the same every day. Dinner is available on site for a reasonable price for 3 courses (15 euros per person). The food is local and has a home cooked charm to it; meaning that it was tasty and comforting, but not very interesting. The one dinner we stayed for included local produce. Unfortunately, the potatoes and spinach were totally overcooked. So for us this place fell short in the food category.

The staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful. It is a family run business and several family members are involved with the day to day functioning of the pensione.

The traditional experience affords a few conditions that you might find charming or a limitation depending on your perspective: no air-conditioning (but there is a good ceiling fan), the high likelihood that mosquitoes will get in your room at night despite appropriate netting on the main windows, and very slow and unpredictable internet.

We are in our late forties. Interestingly, during our stay we noticed that most of the guests appeared to be older, in their sixties and older. I think I saw one family with small children.

So, if you want Tuscan charm and amazing views near Florence, this place is for you. If you want all the accoutrements and services of a modern hotel, you might experience some limitations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pensione Bencista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Bencista

Address: Via Benedetto da Maiano, 4, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Fiesole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Fiesole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione Bencista 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Bencista is a 14th-century villa set in the hills above Florence and surrounded by Tuscan olive groves. The terrace offers panoramic views of the city. You have a free internet point with Wi-Fi in the lounge at Pensione Bencista. There is also a game and TV room, plus a children's play area on the grounds. Breakfast includes sweet and savory Tuscan products. Free parking is provided. The pretty town of Fiesole is just a 5 minute drive from Pensione Bencista. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pensione Bencista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Bencista Fiesole, Province Of Florence, Italy
Pensione Bencista Hotel Fiesole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Bencista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.