We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely order the Mascarpone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reggia degli Etruschi

La Reggia degli Etruschi
Via S. Francesco 18, 50014 Fiesole, Italy
3333556126
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Fiesole
Price range: $40 - $73
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located on one of the most panoramic terraces of Fiesole, La Reggia degli Etruschi (once a monastery and later a tearoom) is today one of the most exclusive restaurants in the city with a breathtaking view over Florence and its monuments.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Definitely order the Mascarpone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Awesome food - great view. This restaurant is worth the steep hike that you have to make to get to it! If you are staying in Florence - it is just a short bus ride on #7 - great little town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    129
    37
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we finally arrived at the restaurant after the heart stopping drive our GPS sent us on, we were greeted with 2 complimentary glasses of prosecco and some delicious bruschetta. We wanted to try the infamous Florentine steak and weren't disappointed. Our amazing waiter said it was for '2" , but it could have fed a small village. We chose grilled vegetables on the side and it was one of the best meals we have ever eaten! The wine, appetizer and service were all excellent. The view of Florence must be wonderful, but we were too late to catch it. Next time...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in classic Tuscan hillside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The view from the hillside at Fiesole overlooks all of Florence and is straight out of the classic postcards of Tuscany pack. The lunch matched the view. My 5cm thick fillet of beef was so tender it almost melted. Ttuscan red wine went extremely well with all the food. Definitely worth a visit then you can walk off the lunch with a brisk walk around the hills or laze on the 2000 year old terraces of the old roman amphitheatre nearby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostersund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Impolite”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were here to eat lunch and we wanted to sit in the sun close to the Faboulus view. But we were told that the tables there were for four people. He showed us a Table in the shadow in the middle of the terras. There was Only 2 tables occupied but he didn't let us sit in the sun with the best view like the other people did. Was it because we were 2 elderly women ? We left the restaurant without eating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Special Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited Fiesole in mid April and went primarily for the panorama hilltop views of Florence. As part of our adventure we literally stumbled across La Reggia restaurant before catching the bus back to Florence. After asking to see the menu (as we were in the mood for beef), we decided to stay for dinner. From the moment we were seated at a table with some of the most breathtaking views in Italy, the complimentary gastronomic surprises began including an aperitif, bruschetta and later some dessert wine. The presentation, taste, and quality of our beef and dessert of panna cotta was truly exceptional. But probably the most amazing part of our best dining experience EVER, was the genuine joy and pleasure the owners took in our enjoyment of their food and hospitality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reggia degli Etruschi also viewed

Fiesole, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Fiesole, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Reggia degli Etruschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reggia degli Etruschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.