We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signoria Apartments - Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Signoria Apartments

Save Saved
You added Signoria Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Signoria Apartments
Condotta, 16, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 201 Specialty lodging in Florence
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Signoria Apartments - Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were greeted by Fabio when we rang the doorbell. We had booked a standard 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights but upon arrival were upgraded to a superior 2 bedroom apartment which meant a bonus 2nd bathroom! Fabio took us to our apartment and mentioned that we can come down in 5 to 10 minutes to checkin at the reception in the basement. He brought up all our luggage to our apartment and refused to let us help him with this.
Our apartment has great views out of all the windows as it's located at the corner of Via Della Condotta and Via Dei Calzaiuoli and on the 2nd floor.
Fabio told us of all the sights, restaurants and local areas to visit and he did remind us of the 50 euros cleaning fee which we were already aware of as it was part of our booking terms and conditions.
The only drawback of the place is that the lift starts from the 1st floor but the central location and space clearly makes up for it.

Room Tip: Read the reviews that the travellers write up when choosing a room/apartment. If 99% of the reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    70
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
132
51
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Found these apartments to be present all of the above and found the staff to be really friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the local area & attractions with a few recommendations for restaurants and sights. I would highly recommend this place for clean and safe appartments at a good price in a brilliant LOCATION!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile reception at Signoria Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Kurt P,
first of all we thank you for choosing Signoria Apartments for your stay in Florence.
Your opinion is very helpful to grow up and continue our precious work in the hospitality even better and we will appreciate your comments very much in particular those about the reception service, always ready to give good advice about the city, and to make our guests feel as at home.

Our apartments are in the heart of Florence, just a few minutes walk from all the main attractions, so as to allow our guests the feeling of experiencing Florence not as tourists, but true Florentine.

If you are planning to visit Florence again in the next future we will be pleased to welcome you, we assure you that our staff will do his best to let your stay unforgettable.

Regards

Danilo Della Ratta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights last week. The main building was full the first night so we stayed at their second location within the grounds of a school about 10 minutes walk away.

When we checked in the rate was 90Euros for the first night and 130 for the second night.

The desk manager - I believe his name was Fabio (young guy - dark hair - thin) - told us that in addition to the room charges we would have to pay 50 Euros for the cleaning fee. He indicated this was applicable for each night because we were changing apartments but that he would only charge us once because we were only moving rooms because there was not one room available for both nights.

He then asked if we would like to pay the 50 Euro fee now and in cash. We told him we would pay it later as we didn't have cash.

Upon checking in we looked at the terms of stay on their confirmation email and on their site - nowhere did we see mention of this cleaning fee.

When it came time to check out there was another manager handling the desk so I did not have the opportunity to challenge Fabio on his cleaning fee.

The other manager made no mention of such a fee and we were not charged anything extra.

Clearly there is a scam going on here - beware.

I would hope that the owner of the property sees this post and takes appropriate action.


As far as the quality of the property goes the space is big but somewhat run down. Also the lift only covers 3 of the floors so troublesome hauling bags up and down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Signoria Apartments, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest,
thanks for the tip. I'm Danilo Beltrante, the owner of Signoria Apartments. I'm really happy to respond to your review on Tripadvisor reassure you that there is no scam going.

The only thing that went wrong during your stay is that you left without paying the amount due.

First of all we are not a hotel, but a company that rents apartments for tourist use, requiring a thorough cleaning that is required to hand, as in most cases for this type of accommodation.
I think the misunderstanding is due to the speed with which you choose your stay in Florence.
I highly doubt that you have read what is clearly described on our website at the 'conditions':

You also received a mail from us with this information before your check-in, with the same information. Feel free to check your email if you want.

I analised your review:

1. We stayed at this hotel for two nights last week.

Our reason
It is not a hotel, but a company that rent self catering apt. Very big difference.You booked only one night becouse it was the only solution available. Then, once in Florence, you asked for the second night. For the second night, apartment you had is normally rented at 260 euro and Fabio (person of scam) contacted me directly to ask a special price for you, considering that the first day price was 99 euro.

2.The main building was full the first night so we stayed at their second location within the grounds of a school about 10 minutes walk away.

Our reason
You never booked apt at the main building, but exactly the apt where you went to stay the first night. Again a wrong information.

3.When we checked in the rate was 90Euros for the first night and 130 for the second night.

Our reason
99 euro the first and a very personalized price (120 euro instead of 250!) for second night. Try to book penthouse apt for october to check the price.

4. The desk manager - I believe his name was Fabio (young guy - dark hair - thin) - told us that in addition to the room charges we would have to pay 50 Euros for the cleaning fee. He indicated this was applicable for each night because we were changing apartments but that he would only charge us once because we were only moving rooms because there was not one room available for both nights.

Our reason
This should be the second time you should say thanks to fabio! It is so unfair for our receptionist.

5. He then asked if we would like to pay the 50 Euro fee now and in cash. We told him we would pay it later as we didn't have cash.
Cash payement is required becouse we have a different management for apartments cleaning. You never payed for it.

6. Upon checking in we looked at the terms of stay on their confirmation email and on their site - nowhere did we see mention of this cleaning fee.
This information is everywhere! you never checked for.

7. When it came time to check out there was another manager handling the desk so I did not have the opportunity to challenge Fabio on his cleaning fee.

Our reason
and also to say thanks for everything?

8. The other manager made no mention of such a fee and we were not charged anything extra.

Our reason
The other manager was Simone, my 18 years hold brother, and may be he just forget to ask for the fee, that is normally requested at the check in.

9.Clearly there is a scam going on here - beware.

Our reason
Clearly there is a big misunderstanding and I hope now the situation is more clear for you.

10.I would hope that the owner of the property sees this post and takes appropriate action.

Our reason
Thanks for your help, it is not necessary in this case.

11. As far as the quality of the property goes the space is big but somewhat run down. Also the lift only covers 3 of the floors so troublesome hauling bags up and down.

Our reason
For the luggage we always thake care of it at your arrival, also in your case. You did not had to carry your luggage by yourself. Strange that you complain a service that you received. It is our standard.

CONCLUSIONS
I personally think that this review is a lot unfair for my company and for Fabio, that take care of you as a long time friends.

I'm glad I was warned, but if I did not know really well fabio also with this review you could put this person in trouble, and will probably lose his job. I ask you to think more than once before writing these things defamatory.
Better read the conditions before booking instead of mounting all this unnecessary controversy.

Best Regards
Danilo Beltrante
Owner Signoria Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fabio was friendly and recommended us various places to visit. The Library apartment was set in a lovely building with very nice gardens. It was clean and comfortable but basic. There were no views as the apartment has velux windows. The location was good, next to the river Arno and close to Piazza Santa Croce, there's also a supermarket opposite the apartment which is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile reception at Signoria Apartments, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your review.
We are happy that you liked the Library apartment, just next to the National Library and two steps away from Santa Croce square, one of the most characteristic and local area that you can find in Florence. As you said, there is a supermarket opposite the apartment, very helpful, and also this area is full of bars, pubs, restaurants, wine bars and many small cloths shops for your Florentine shopping!

Regards
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in a lovely apartment round the corner from Via Condotta. It was full of history and character and beautifully put together. Plus clean. Brilliant unbeatable location and nice team. I would stay here again with no hesitation. Lisa

Room Tip: Our room was exactly like the photo. So whichever one you pick - it's pretty representative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile reception at Signoria Apartments, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Lisa,
thank you for your kind review.
You stayed in our apartment located in Via dei Calzaiuoli, which is one of the most important street of Florence, that connects Signoria Square to Duomo square.
We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment, hope to host you again!

Regards
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Fantastic location. Enjoyed my stay much. Apartment is clean and conducive. Supermarkets, shops and sightseeing places are within walking distance. Stayed here twice. Once in winter and their heating system is good. The last stay was in summer and airconditioning was great. Yes, a place where I will definitely go back. Danilo and Lucas have been of great help. Would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Florence. However, internet facility could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile reception at Signoria Apartments, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Magdalene,
thank you for your review.
We always appreciate your company and this year you've got to experience Florence in Winter as in Summer.
The city, in fact, can change face in a few months, just a bit of sun and a lot of tourists come, but I recommend a visit in January or February, the city is much quieter and the prices are generally lower.
We are actually working to increase the internet signal in the apartments, as nowadays, with all these smartphone and tablet the line is never enough :)
Hope to see you in the Spring, or maybe even in the Fall.

Greetings

Danilo Della Ratta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed in Aptment 6. The location of Signoria Apartments is excellent and is an ideal base for our stay in Florence. Within walking distance to most sights. Downside was that Aptment 6 is located on the third/fourth level (although there is a lift for the luggage).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Signoria Apartments, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Jessloyloy,
thank you very much for your nice review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your staying in Signoria Apartments.
The central location, allows our clients to walk easily through all the main attractions of Florence.
All of our apartments are located in a characteristic and historical buildings, where generally it's hard to find an elevator, however we are lucky to have a lift in our main building starting from the first floor, very useful to carry the luggage to the upper level and useful for the customer too.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Best wishes

Fabio Palmieri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Signoria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signoria Apartments

Address: Condotta, 16, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 201 Specialty lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Signoria Apartments: experience the majesty and elegance of living within the comfort of your own charming apartment in the heart of Florence! The historical palace faces the famous Via Calzaiuoli and gives the chance to enjoy a unique view over the main streets of the old city centre... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Signoria Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signoria Apartments Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signoria Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.