We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“par for the course” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Nerone

Trattoria Nerone
Via Faenza 95/97 R | Centro storico, 50123 Florence, Italy
055 291217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #630 of 1,873 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $22 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
austin, tx
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“par for the course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We ate at trattoria nerone because it was close to the hotel and looked absolutely darling. Let me state, that the only reason I am giving this an average rating, rather than a very good rating, is because this is Florence - and ALL of the food is delicious. An average meal in Florence is likely to be better than most you'll have at home. That being said, the service here was excellent, the price was an excellent value, and the house wine was great. The food was average (for a Florence trattoria) and the tiramisu left much to be desired. If you happen to be in the area, then you should surely stop in. It's just around the corner from the leather market, too!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    323
    143
    57
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“hold the sauce & order the pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

one night i insisted on wearing heels out to dinner, and in italy that means cobblestone streets and i ended up watching every step and clinging to the arm of mio compagno. so we chose Trattoria Nerone which was right near our place on Via Faenza. we'd passed it several times on our walks to and fro and it looked so cute and funky and welcoming. and indeed it was! it's actually pretty big and we were led to the back section, full of mismatched - well - everything, which is also pretty much my aesthetic too. it was cozy and romantic, actually, and we never lacked for anything to look at around us. oh, and the ladies room is pretty interesting too, darkly painted with mood lighting (so don't plan on touching up your makeup :) ) we'd read about trattoria nerone in a rick steves guide and were looking forward to a hearty meal after a long day of walking all over the city. i think their specialty is pizza but we were in a pasta, meat and salad mood, so that's what we ordered. i got fettucine alfredo and chicken and he got steak and both were drowned in sauce, half as much would have been more than sufficient. we certainly went home quite full and it was good, but i think we probably should have gotten the pizza. it's a charming place and when we went in may it was not overrun with tourists. my guess is that it is packed later in the summer because it certainly has a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super price and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The restauarant has a unique , charming decor with great atmosphere. We went there for diner and loved it. I do not like Italian pizza so we had their meat dishes. House wine is good too.The staff is very friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“unusual and very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went here every night and had some great meals and will be back. Good price and good food. The service was geeat and pizza to die for

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
833 reviews 833 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
3,651 helpful votes 3,651 helpful votes
“Pizza at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The pizza maker always seems to be the same person year after year and he makes the best thin crust wood oven fired pizza in Florence.

We always eat a big lunch and then have pizza in the evening and this is the best pizza in Florence. The restauarant has a unique, indivualistic decor and we love it. Service is always terrific.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Nerone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Nerone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Nerone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.