We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corte dei Medici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Corte dei Medici to your Saves list
Corte dei Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Canto de' Nelli 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Scranton, PA, USA
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Location - Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Rarely can a location be both a blessing and a hindrance, but this is one such case. A blessing because it is as central in Florence as you can get, within walking distance of the station, the Duomo, Piazza Signoria, major museums, the Ponte Vecchio, etc. However it is smack in the middle of the San Lorenzo market which is teeming with stalls hawking merchandise and blocking sidewalks and reachable only by walking 50 to 100 meters from the closest place cabs can access. That said it is adjacent to the Medici Chapel and San Lorenzo Church, and has good security with modern electronic access both to rooms and through the street level door. It has a small lift to transport you to the 3rd floor lobby and breakfast area, as well as the 2d floor rooms. The staff is young and welcoming and very helpful, rooms are clean and well furnished and breakfasts offer an abundance of pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, coffees, teas and juices equal to or better than most 3 star establishments. Certainly worth a try if you can ignore the crowds and noise below as pricing is very competitive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    71
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
42
103
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to experience old Florence. We stayed with our 2 daughters (10 & 13) and we all loved it. The location was close to everything (Santa Maria del Fiore) and in behind the leather market. Can be tricky to find, but if you look for the flags above the door not a problem. The room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned. The breakfasts were good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We returned for a second stay at the Corte dei Medici and were as delighted with it as we were the first time. The location is superb - five minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella (the railway station) and five minutes walk to the Duomo. The room was very comfortable and clean, and was serviced to a high standard each day. It had excellent air conditioning - a must in the high summer temperatures in Firenze.
A couple of minor points (that do not take away from the excellent rating we've given this hotel) - 1. the entrance door to the hotel is not particularly obvious from the street - we missed it on our first stay at the hotel but knew what to look for this time (the hotel is doing renovations at present and we understand this is to include a more obvious entrance area). 2. As complete tea-drinking fanatics, we were a little disappointed that the water for making tea at breakfast time was warm to reasonably hot but not really hot enough to make a good cup of tea.

Room Tip: Hotel currently being renovated, although we didn't hear any construction noise during our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very nice hotels itch a lovely old style, excellent staff with fluent friendly english, great breakfast with a selection of things to suit different tastes. Great location and a great jumping off point for local sights. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Decent hotel with very nice situation and very hospital staff. They will help you all the way you need also in english. Freakfast is good enough and kitchen staff try to fulfil your hopes. We have some difficulties to find the hotel because of streetshops. You can,t see the door og the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice staff, perfect location, lovely and functional room, fair price. Excellent choice!
We have just stayed in Florence for 2 nights and 3 days and we have been delightfully surprised by the quality offered by this simple hotel.
This was that kind of place where you do not expect to get anything special, and instead you obtain much more. One floor of the hotel is under rennovation. Despite that we have never been bothered by noises or disfunction.
The personnel was always kind and helpful, all of them. The location is strategical: 10 minutes by foot from the train station, same distance from the main sites. Perfect!
I will definately recommend this hotel and I am planning to organize a trip for my parents to Florence so they can stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Although a bit tricky to find WELL WORTH IT! Nicest most accommodating polite, amazing staff, very sweet and FANTASTIC breakfast buffet! Rooms were very clean and beautiful, including amazing views of the leather market and church!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corte dei Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte dei Medici

Address: Via del Canto de' Nelli 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Florence
#84 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#92 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corte dei Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Corte dei Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Dei Medici Hotel Florence
Corte Dei Medici Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corte dei Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.