We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wine Bar in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina

Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina
Piazza Pitti 16, 50125 Florence, Italy
+39 055.212704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $50 - $85
Cuisines: Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Wine Bar in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband found this place on trip advisor. I cannot begin to tell you of the service they have. Zeno, Eduardo and Manuel own this restaurant. All are very personal. They really know their wine. Recommending and knowing about each wine they serve is very important to them. And the food. They have a chef on site that is fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    144
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine, experience dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Myself and my fiancé ate here twice - for dinner and for lunch, over the space of a few days. Each time a different experience, but both times equally as rewarding. Pitti Gola e Cantina is definitely based more around enjoyment of their many fine wines, but don't let that distract from the joyous cuisine. We both found each visit to be a journey - initially the wines were selected to match the food, but on the second visit, Edoardo took us through both the wine and dining menu and built a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Great value for money, fantastic personal, yet non-intrusive customer service. Couldn't have asked for more. Perfect to sit back, relax and enjoy. I just hope everyone has as much fun as we did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Put on the Top of Your List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This wine bar lived up to it's many fine reviews. Be sure to reserve as it is not very big but you will be welcomed with open arms. The six of us had a wine tasting experience with some light food which was very filling. Had lots of fun, drank about 6 or 7 wines...had a great time there...don't miss it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic first visit, very good second visit...great food and wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have scored this a 4 perhaps unfairly because we were sooooo impressed with the first visit, we went for a second, which wasn't as good. On the first visit, we were hosted by the excellent Zeno. He was extremely knowledgeable about wine and showed us a video of how the wine we were tasting was produced. He brought wine for us to try based on our tastes (my fiancé wanted a white for red drinkers and he hasn't stopped talking about the Damijan that Zeno brought out since!). We also ordered some food to go with the wine. We ordered two dishes to share (went for the wine really not the food). This was a real surprise. We ordered 'Asparagus and poached egg' and chicken liver terrine. Both were amazing! The asparagus and poached egg came as two portions in small jars...really sweet of them to do this since we we sharing. When we went back we had one each of these because they were so tasty (seriously, just get one!) and these came in bigger jars. Still amazingly good but the smaller ones were more of an intense flavour. The terrine was also excellent. On the second visit, Zeno wasn't there. The service was really good but just not the same as the previous trip (not much info on wine or recommendations and we were left more to ourselves)...still great but only a very good rather than an exceptional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable evening! Good food and wine :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here after the Pitti Palace and enjoyed tasting the wines - so much, we joined the wine club! Impressed they don't charge you until your chosen shipment is ready (fall and/or spring). We also bought a 67 chianti to take home after being provided a complimentary glass. :) Staff are professional, friendly and able to discuss wines in English. Had pasta for dinner too; the ravioli (not the one) and tagliatelli and they were magnificent. Started with the roast pancetta which was average because it was cold (our mistake for not checking!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca Pitti Gola e Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.