We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't want to leave, but very $$$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Firenze to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 99, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 461 Hotels in Florence
MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“didn't want to leave, but very $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Unbelievably gorgeous gardens and property. Loved the pool and hot pool, the pool was huge, rectangular, but the salt water? "hot pool" made our skin dry out completely. Loved the workout/spa building and the games on the treadmill screen, helped distract me, and there was not a single person there except for one other guest. Awesome gelato by the pool. Served with much pomp at breakfast, but the serving staff was genuinely warm and friendly. Enjoyed the fresh fruit and water and handwritten note upon arrival. Our kids got some chocolate covered espresso beans and chocolates to welcome them and a little coloring book. We are a family of 5 so they required "by Italian law" that we get 2 rooms as only 3 people per room. Bathrooms were huge. Ended up spending US $4000 total on 2 rooms for 2 nights....ugh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And nuts to spend that much, it was my husband's idea...Didn't care for the front desk woman who checked us in, she seemed fake, sub-par and paused for a tip after she took us to our separate building in the golf cart. Room service was unbelievably expensive so I tried to order my food off the kids' menu when they ordered. Some of the front desk staff were hilariously uppity (they acted like I would prefer them to be uppity), while others were warm and sweet.

It seemed like hardly anyone was there but the hotel said it was fully booked.

Will add some photos soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    62
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
164
398
23
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Travelled to stay in Florence for our honeymoon, booked a deluxe room at the Four Seasons and prepared ourselves to relax in style whilst there for 2 days. Plus - Beautiful hotel and beautiful private garden. Minus - Our room had no hot water, and though we brought it to the attention of the management on 5 seperate occasions, it was not fixed, we were not offered an alternative room (though the hotel was empty) and we were not offered any apologies. On check out (and my refusal to settle the bill in full), the only explanation we were offered was that there were problems with getting hot water to the pipes on the third floor of the hotel (whch is where the room they had selected for us was situated). I did not think this was an acceptable excuse. So, on reflection, beautiful hotel but that is no good when you cannot take a hot shower or bath while you are there. And very unhelpful staff, with no idea of customer service.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Four Seasons Florence. The staff were kind and excellent and when we arrived they gave us a double room upgrade. We also received free breakfast every day (I think both were due to fact we had booked through a preferred partner).

We stayed at the palazzo side of the hotel and I would definitely recommend that over the conventino unless you want to be in a very quiet part of the hotel. The palazzo side has all the restaurants, bar etc and has more of a buzz to it while the conventino side is quite quiet and a 3-4 minute walk from the palazzo (on the other side of the gardens).

Our room was very large, had very high ceilings and was beautifully appointed overlooking the gardens (premier room). There was also a huge marble bathroom which is always very nice to have. I would avoid having a room on the ground floor (there are some overlooking the street and they seem to have bars on them which would make it kind of like staying in a cage) though I dont think most rooms with a street view would be a disaster since its on a relatively quiet road.

The hotel itself was beautiful and they did an excellent job restoring a historic palace while also giving it a hip and modern feel. You do feel as you are staying in a museum.

We found the service excellent - when we arrived we had an avis rental car that we needed to return and when we asked the concierge how to get to the car rental place he told us not to worry about it and delt with returning the car for us with no fee! They also did not charge to take our bags (luggage) to our room as one person commented.

The resturaunt was good - the food good and the atmosphere sitting outside with the piano at night really special. The food will not be the best you will ever eat (ie not michelin starred) but perfectly nice and its the atmosphere that makes it (I am not sure it would be quite the same sitting in the restaurant.

I would also recommend going to this hotel when its summer (though it is nearly double the price). The gardens are stunning and huge (at least 8 acres) and there is a gorgeous outdoor swimming pool in the center which made our trip. There is also an excellent gym/spa. And you can sit outside to have dinner and breakfast which is really special.

I dont have many complaints of the hotel but there would be 1 - the bar area. It's a bit corporate, lacks atmosphere and not somewhere particularly inviting. I dont think they did a great job with it. The 50 eur a night car parking is rediculous hence we returned our car the day we arrived and took the bus to pisa to get our BA flight back which was very easy. Two other points: Its also a 20-25 minute walk from the ponte vecchio and shopping etc (but then you wouldnt get the grounds it has if closer)and they charge for internet in the rooms but you can use it at the business center for free (seemed to also be the case when we stayed at four seasons mauritius).

All in all one of the best four seasons hotels to stay at.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Four Seasons Florence is a beautiful, enormous property in a slightly seedy area of town. It's a good walk (or drive) to anything of interest, so the location is less than ideal, but the hotel itself is impressive. It consists of a main hotel building , the Palazzo, separated by a park from a second hotel building, the Conventina (it was once a convent). The Palazzo is definitely nicer. There are lovely frescoes in the entry and the bar is huge and opulent. We were here only for one night and stayed in the Conventina, which was nice, but not overwhelming, at 600 euros per night -- a lot to pay for a small convent room. True, it was immaculate (as a convent should be) and very quiet, but seemed almost a bit austere. Next time we would stay in the Palazzo building.

The hotel grounds are partly gardens, partly specimen trees and lawns; there is a large pool area that we did not visit. It was nice to have a peaceful, private park in which to stroll and relax on a bench. The hotel staff was pleasant and professional, as per the Four Seasons brand standard. In all, I would not stay at the Conventina again at these rates, but would be interested to compare a room in the Palazzo.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I know this review will not be too well received, in the midst of the all those glowing accounts. Indeed, I was hoping and ready to love this place.
But it was a complete disapointement..
This was the fourth time that my wife and I had returned to Tuscany, as we find this part of the world to be truely blessed by the gods, for all its beauties and unique charm.
And every time, we have had the good fortune to stay at hotels offering a magical setting and atmosphere, such as La Villa San Michele, and Villa La Massa, among others, offering true Tuscan style.

The Four Seasons in Florence, is set in a very handsome Renaissance building, but in my view they have managed to make the place both cold, and soulless.
We arrived at around 10 pm exhausted from a seven hour drive; we checked in for two nights into our junior suite. Famished we rushed to the main restaurant before it closed for the evening.
We sat down at the table we were given, with relief. We waited a good while to get a menu, and never managed to get one, as only a waiter of a certain rank was allowed to do so, but he couldn't be found . I waved to a waitress who came promptly, and asked her if we could at least have a glass of white wine while we waited for our menu. 'Oh no', she said nervously, ' I must send for the Sommelier!'
Well the sommelier never came either, and tired and hungry, we decided not to play along with some ludicrous protocol imposed by the ill-managed restaurant staff, and left our table to eat in the bar instead.
To dine at this hotel bar was about as charming as dinning in an empty public library. The dishes were a sad joke. The 26 euro caesar salad was 99% tasteless lettuce from a packet, 1% equally bland slices of the poorest quality chicken. The tomato pasta dish was a nostalgic flashback to my student days. All served with pomp and ceremony.

The hotel staff varied from cold and indifferent for some, to overly friendly for others ,which would be fine if one didn't get the feeling of an artificial, well rehearsed behaviour. For example, after being asked how has my day had been so far, and had I any plans for the evening, I found the same friendly guy asking exactly the same questions to another guest, using the same intonations and fake sounding chuckles.

Back to our room; large, boxy due to very high ceilings, uninviting, very neutral with coulours, mostly white, pale greens, and a nasty busy patterned carpet in shades of mustard.
The room decoration was elegant, but about as Italian as the Eiffel Tower. The interior-decorator is indeed French, he also did the GeorgesV, and is admired for his taste and talent. But the great majority of the furniture, objects and fabrics is of french inspiration, and therefore totally out of place and character here.

A sumptuous present was awaiting on our coffe table though; one whole bottle of mineral water , with a printed card from the management! Wow . I should perhaps mention that this room cost over 900 euros a night, without breakfast... (850 euros plus 10% sevice to be exact) .
Now I knew this was a very expensive hotel, and on this very trip, we stayed at similarly priced hotels in Paris , Geneva, and in other parts of Tuscany. And every single time, we recieved an upgrade, (also thanks to American Express), breakfast included in the rate, gifts such as champagne in the room, flowers, complimentary in-room mini-bar, vouchers to spend in the hotel spa, we even got a free 'a la carte' lunch.
In the Four Seasons Florence you get NOTHING . Any extras? that'll be extra!
You even have to beg housekeeping to replace your two third used shampoo and shower gel ! Anything you may need or want will be a complete rip-off.
Did I mention the car park? 50 Euros a night! tip not included! You can either laugh or cry. We were just happy to leave.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Where to begin,...... Four Seasons exceeds our expectations every time again. From the moment of checking in till the moment of checking out, this is just a magnificent treatment of luxury and feeling Guest with a capital G! The only minor remark which I can speak out is the checking out time which can be organized a bit smoother. The communication between the bellboy and the person who gets our car wasn't that organized as the rest,.....this lasted a bit too long,.... but what to complain.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We had a wonderful five days at the four seasons. there was a large group of us and no one had any serious complaints. The hotel and grounds are amazing, i would however say that the bar and restaurant service could be speeded up. They also know how to charge. For example we paid 520 euros pn for a standard room and so were surprised to see an additional charge for the bags to be taken to the room.

Overall a fantastic hotel all they have to do is speed up the service and perhaps not be so greedy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Address: Borgo Pinti 99, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Spa Hotel in Florence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze. An enchanted city sanctuary in the midst of Florence, where an art-filled Renaissance palazzo and conventino frame a centuries-old private park. Relax amidst original frescoes and sculptured reliefs, graced by sunlight and airy garden vistas. Sip espresso under majestic trees, lounge by the open-air pool or bask in Italian spa secrets. Wonders of the Uffizi and Duomo are a stroll away. Tuscan hill towns beckon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, Amex, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Firenze
Florence Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.