We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful place in A magical city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Firenze to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 99, 50121 Florence, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #11 of 463 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most wonderful place in A magical city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel, the park, the staff and service.... simply unsurpassed. Possibly the most magical hotel we have ever stayed in. We stayed in the Convento wing and while smaller than the main building, it is fabulously private and quiet. Worth every penny

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSFlorence, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to read your words emphasizing our hotel amenities, expecially the Conventino, a formed villa of the 15° century, converted into a convent in the 16° century. It is undoubtedly the most "magical" part of the urban resort we are proud to run.

The Conventino is intimate and private and, as you highlighted, an oasis of peace and tranquillity where feeling pampered and looked after by our attentive staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    81
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
206
485
27
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great choice, particularly for families. Could not have a more perfect location. Rooms are luxurious (maybe a bit too "renaissance" for our taste, but very, very nice nonetheless and very spacious). The pool is a beautiful and we made great use of it as a nice break from all the other activities Florence has to offer. Not as flexible with breakfast timing as some of the other hotels we stayed in on this trip, but then much larger as well so it is understandable. The Concierge at the hotel was truly excellent. The restaurant recommendations were top notch, particularly when we were able to talk about the options instead of relying solely on the handout provided. The recommended guides, help with transport options and just generally dealing with us and making us happy was terrific. Staff went out of their way to ensure the whole family was taken care of - even led us up to the cuppola to watch fireworks. If I have one complaint, it is the bill. It's not that it's expensive (the hotel is expensive, but not as expensive as other comparable options or even as expensive as some other hotels we stayed in on this trip), but that there were a lot of little things that came up on the bill that I did not expect. I did not really notice this at the time we checked out because we were late and rushed, but I did notice it later. It's my own fault for not raising it with the hotel when we were there. It is, however, the only hotel we stayed in on this trip where I'm left with this lingering feeling. That said, I would still recommend the hotel very highly. The combination it offers is hard to beat in Florence.

Room Tip: for families, adjoining rooms are a must given the size of the hotel. Our overlooked the street. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This one is really a different Four Seasons member as far as the architecture. The hotel is just great in a big green land, with very high room ceilings and probably the biggest standard room I have stayed in almost like a suite, with all Four Seasons luxury included. There is no need to talk about the level of service, the breakfast and the staff, I have never witnessed something negative about these aspects in a Four Seasons hotel. Same goes with this one, all of them are perfect. There are only two things you should consider here. First, you are around 15 mins walk to dowtown and Duomo. Some people consider it as a plus to be a little far from the crowds and noise but on contrary some people want to be within 5 steps of all the attractions. If you are in the second group, consider 15 mins walk mentionned. Second part is the spa, which is the strange part of this hotel, it is located in a different building in the same street. So, think again before getting out of the room with your bath clothes and slippers. I did this on February so it was not pleasant in that weather. This might be the only negative thing I can mention, surely you do not expect the spa to be outside in a Four Seasons.
Other than this detail, I really do not see any reason for not being happy in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of the places that you will never forget...it is beautiful, historical, romantic, green, with all the comforts, friendly and helpful staff...the food is absolutely great....the best breakfast ever...what else i need to say...i want to live there...if possible in the Villa (nos 700)!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We (my family) just returned from our trip to Florence and the Four Seasons yesterday. It really was one of the best hotel stays we've ever had. My sister and I had a bright, spacious twin room - so gorgeous and relaxing to be in - in the Conventino building. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, as is the pool. The gym is excellent. Every member of the staff was incredibly helpful and cheerful, in particular Benedetta at breakfast who was wonderful and remembered our order every morning, the concierge staff (including a trainee concierge who gave us great restaurant recommendations and were so helpful in booking tickets for various things), the housekeeping staff and Dmitri by the pool. In general, the service was impeccable and the property beautifully maintained.

I'm surprised at some of the reviews I read below. I noticed that people complained about things like not getting extra perks like treats for their kids constantly or free gifts. What more do you really want than a spotlessly kept room, on point assistance from housekeeping and the concierge, and fresh fruit, water and ice every day? To my mind people who complain about these things have an insane sense of entitlement. The 'basics' that this hotel offers are more than worth the price. I also noticed people getting persnickety about getting a room in the Conventino building rather than the main building - so what? The rooms were great. Anyone who had a bad stay because the insecurity of not having the absolute best room kept them up at night has more issues than a hotel can deal with. Also, no one was snobby or made us feel less than welcome. So all of these things were, in our experience, untrue.

2 things to know: the hotel is not bang smack in the middle of the action, but it's a very easy 5 min walk to the Duomo, so don't worry too much about the location. Also, the shower is kind of hard to figure out how to turn on. Also a yellow jacket wasp menaced us each morning at breakfast when we sat outside, which I think amused the waitstaff because we were so disproportionately terrified. Apart from that, perfect.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel while dropping our daughter off to begin her studies at university.
We drove to the hotel, and I will say that driving in Florence is more than a little confusing, with lots of one way streets, but as soon as you know that it's cake.
The entrance is hidden, and when we arrived I was really frustrated (due to above getting lost etc.). I was a little bit irritated because the doorman/valet/welcome committee gentleman asked us to please move the car out of the way instead of getting in and driving it away himself as I thought he was going to do, but chalked this up to mis-communication as he was perfectly pleasant in every other way. Also, I felt kind of bad because I didn't tip at this point - but that was because the parking charge is EUR 55 per day and we had to move the car out of the way ourselves etc. etc. I know that parking in Italy is anyway a sore point and extremely, outrageously expensive in every village so wasn't surprised, but also don't want to give rewards for it either.

After this bump, everything else was better than wonderful. Check-in was really really nice, we were upgraded to a junior suite which was lovely, with a pretty view over the park-like gardens of the hotel grounds. As you can imagine, the hotel is lovely and chic, and choc-a-bloc with Americans which really surprised me. If you are from the US and want to feel at home away from home, this is a great place to come. No one could speak Italian, though, which was kind of sad - but everyone who works in the hotel speaks excellent English as well as many other languages so no worries about being misunderstood in a foreign land.
There are two restaurants on the property but we only stayed one night and went to the more casual one, which was outstanding. We had drinks outside (my bellini's were amazing! and my husband had a dark artisanal beer which he really enjoyed), and at dinner on the terrace the pizza was of course sublime and the tomato soup was actually the best I have ever had -so thick, it was more like a pasta sauce, with chunks of cheese inside it... great.
Breakfast also good, cappuccino perfect as it should be in the place it was invented, the sun was shining, the birds were singing, and we did not experience any bad service at all, a surprise for me in Italy (sorry, guys. I love you but had many bad experiences in your country until this visit). The best was check-out; we were very worried and sad to say goodbye to our daughter, and the ladies behind the counter were so nice, so supportive that I almost cried. They were both from Florence and they said that it was not only a beautiful and historic city but also small and safe, and that Florentines are well known for their hospitality, once you get to know them. Sounds like the Swiss, where we live, so I felt better...
Yes, we will definitely go back, not only because our daughter is there but because the Four Seasons Florence is a good mix of an international hotel chain (you know what to expect with things like bedding and bathroom fixtures, etc.) and the special touches of being in a city unique to its place on earth (Florentine bath products, extra special friendly people, outstanding food and location unlike any other place on earth).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

There is nothing else to say but this is one of the most perfect hotels I have travelled to. Fantastic location in a huge park, quiet, perfect room and above all the most perfect service I have experienced in a long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#6 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#8 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Villa Cora
#4 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,238 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#17 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Address: Borgo Pinti 99, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze. An enchanted city sanctuary in the midst of Florence, where an art-filled Renaissance palazzo and conventino frame a centuries-old private park. Relax amidst original frescoes and sculptured reliefs, graced by sunlight and airy garden vistas. Sip espresso under majestic trees, lounge by the open-air pool or bask in Italian spa secrets. Wonders of the Uffizi and Duomo are a stroll away. Tuscan hill towns beckon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Firenze
Florence Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.