We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Firenze to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 99, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 459 Hotels in Florence
London England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

we (6 in total) stayed 5 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday. We booked well in advance to secure the rooms we thought we would like, one suite, one superior and one standard. We called in advance to double check our choices but made little progress. All the rooms are wonderful and not much tangible advice is given by the booking staff. So it was not too much of a surprise that there was a minor misunderstanding on what we were looking for. All that said the reception staff were calm and helpful and we all got excellent rooms. 314,108 and 101. The beds were firm for our taste but there was no hassle in asking for a mattress topper. PS the beds are mostly European king size and the better rooms from what i can make out don't have twin beds. Room maintenance was great, both turn-down and room service. The concierge made our restaurant bookings and invariably the restaurants made an extra effort as a result. Our initial concern was that the location, a walk from the centre would prove annoying. The opposite was our experience. it provides a quieter location, a fabulous garden and the walk is on quiet lesser used streets passing two restaurants towards the centre. The fist is more family, welcoming and value. the second more discerning and an occasion. We recommend both. We did not try the spa but the gym is well equipped and the changing facilities excellent. Breakfasts are four seasons standard. I am not sure how the evening restaurant works as we ate out. Whilst we were there, Feb and presumably low season for them, the evening restaurant was in the bar area. May be in summer autumn its in the breakfast area which over looks the garden and to our mind this would be better. Finally through out the hotel the décor is just what you go to Florence for and adds a grandeur to the hotel

Room Tip: the garden side rooms are quieter. Higher floors allow greater appreciation of it. We enjoyed 314
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    74
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
187
452
24
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Situated only about 2 kilometers from town you'd be forgiven thinking you were in a strange backstreet with not many pretty sights. Well you do have a garden at the rear of this hotel. Stayed one night but couldn't help but head back to The St Regis hotel for its better location, service & food. Things just didn't hit the spot on this occasion at Four Season although staff were exceptionally professional & pleasant, but it wasn't enough to win me over to extend my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSFlorence, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your compliments paid to our staff who will be surely happy to read that you have appreciated
the sense of hospitality for which Four Seasons is renowned all over the World.

I am sad to know that you disliked the location. We are in fact 10 minutes walk from the Dome and despite being so central we are lucky to have 4.5 hectares of Garden, the biggest private garden in Florence.

It's true that the surrounding streets are narrow, because they are historical, and I believe they can have their charm.

This said, I am sincerely sorry that our service and food did not meet your expectations.
The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and for this reason, please consider me at your disposal, if you wish to send me further information concerning your disappointment. I will be delighted to follow up in order to improve our products and service.

Most Cordially

Patrizio Cipollini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Four Seasons Hotel Firenze was the highlight of our trip; it was our first stay with the Four Seasons and it was fantastic.

The service was perfect from the first greeting, and it was nicely orchestrated from check-in to being ushered to our room. We had personalized greeting from the manager, shown to our Four Seasons room by a very cheerful staff, and we were amazed by the welcomed amenities.

The grounds are immaculate: the lobby, the atrium and the garden are simply beautiful. Service is top notch and this Four Seasons does not disappoint. Like the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok, we were remembered and greeted by name at every turn. Furthermore, the restaurants remembered our preferences and allergies were noted even by room service.

There were so many fantastic folks at the Four Seasons Firenze, but noteworthy include: Francesco the bell hop, who gave a very personalized guided tour of the hotel, Nichola of the Il Palagio restaurant, who remembered every gastronomic detail, and Ken, the very handsome Alberta transplant manning the entrance.

There were a few minor hiccups here. I would skip the spa, I found the treatment a bit too feminine and flora for my liking. The concierge can be a bit short; they are quite good at giving directions and recommendation for tourist attractions. However, any requests a bit more substantial can be met with mild reluctance. The location is a bit of a walk from center of town, but taxi is always available.

The dining is quite good here; I recommend eating the breakfast, the lunch, the dinner and afternoon tea. The spread is continental, but I did see tofu on the dinner menu. This place is as close to hotel perfection. Simply come and stay, and experience the tranquility and the beauty of this hotel.

Stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, you will be wowed!

Room Tip: Pay for the highest category in your budget. The rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent two nights at the wonderful Four Seasons Firenze in January. The property is stunning with beautiful furnishings and fixtures. Rooms are equally beautiful and spacious. Our room was located on an upper floor with sloping ceiling complete with exposed beams. Adjacent was a stunning bathroom with (enormous) separate shower and a bath. The bathroom amenities are from Lorenzo Valloresi and are positively luxurious. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the major sights in the city and en route there are several great local cafes at which to stop for a morning coffee and pastry. The Concierge at the hotel are welcoming, gracious and happy to share insightful information on the city, its attractions and restaurants. We can happily recommend: Buca Lapi, Enoteco Fuori Porta, Baldovino and Cantinetta Antinori. We dined in the hotel's Michelin starred restaurant - "Il Palagio" on one of the nights and it was stunning. We had the tasing menu and it was superlative. The sommellier (we can't recall his name regrettably) was amazing. His knowledge was impressive but never overbearing nor arrogant. He steered us towards some truly amazing wines which added an extra dimension to the enjoyment of the evening. Out two days passed in a flash and we never had time to enjoy the SPA or the lovely grounds. Four Seasons Hotel Florence is the perfect place to stay for a luxurious stay in this wonderful city. The hardest thing? Leaving!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Europe and spent 2 nights at this Hotel. It really is beautiful. The location is great, the food fantastic and the staff very attentive. I would highly recommend a stay at this lovely Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSFlorence, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for publishing your positive review!

We are very appreciative for your kind comments, and delighted to read that you will recommend
our Hotel to others.

We hope to welcome you back soon and until then, we send you our best regards from sunny Florence.

Patrizio Cipollini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The best hotel we've ever stayed in. Big beautiful rooms, fantastic spa treatments, gorgeous gardens and pool, delicious food, all wrapped up with amazing service.

The only downside is that the setting is so lovely it is hard to drag yourself out into the city, but when you do be sure to try a guided walking tour arranged by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSFlorence, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words and for emphasizing our hotel amenities, attentive and personalized service.

The Giardino della Gherardesca, the beautiful private garden, is the "treasure" we all are proud to have as integral part of Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, an oasis of peace and tranquillity where, as you highlighted, feeling pampered and looked after by our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Unfortunately my husband and I did not stay at the hotel but as a special treat for his birthday, I booked afternoon tea in the Atrium Bar. Firstly the staff were so helpful and friendly even prior to our visit they had been brilliant via email in helping with the arrangements.

Atrium Bar is beautiful, very traditional in its décor, is very comfortable and has a relaxed atmosphere. The afternoon tea was delicious (the macaroons in particular), with a vast choice of teas and coffees and plenty of sandwiches and scones. It was also very good value given the lavish setting. The staff also bought out a complimentary birthday cake for my husband which was a very thoughtful touch.

Overall we loved the afternoon tea and hope one day to return to Florence to stay at the hotel. One final thing worth noting is that the hotel is a good 15/20 min walk from the main central attractions of Florence.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Address: Borgo Pinti 99, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#2 Spa Hotel in Florence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#4 Family Hotel in Florence
#7 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze. An enchanted city sanctuary in the midst of Florence, where an art-filled Renaissance palazzo and conventino frame a centuries-old private park. Relax amidst original frescoes and sculptured reliefs, graced by sunlight and airy garden vistas. Sip espresso under majestic trees, lounge by the open-air pool or bask in Italian spa secrets. Wonders of the Uffizi and Duomo are a stroll away. Tuscan hill towns beckon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Amex, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Firenze
Florence Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.