We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas through New Year's is as good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel Firenze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo Pinti 99, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 461 hotels in Florence
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Christmas through New Year's is as good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

What is the ultimate in a Five Star Hotel?

For the Four Seasons Hotel Firenze it could be that it is the best in the world because it is built in the rennovated Palazzo della Gherardesca and its Convent, former Palace of the Medici. The beauty is unsurpassed. Or it could be the grounds: the exclusive Giardino della Gherardesca, perhaps Florence's largest private garden. The restaurants are impeccable in service and food, the guest rooms have 16 stem Murano chandeliers and perfectly pressed Italian bed linens.

For this destination, the Four Seasons Hotel Firenze excells from most global Five Star Hotels in
their service. Every member of their staff are highly trained to make each individual guest as comfortable as possible. They anticipate your needs. As an example, we were using one of the four down pillows on our bed as a pillow on the reading chair and the next day, a fifth pillow had been added to our room - it was on the reading chair.

If you request a guide for the museums, they provide one with the knowledge and insight of a PhD, but with the ability to quickly assess your level of knowledge and, without seeming condescending or elite, show you the works that most interest you while giving you the background information to appreciate what you are seeing. They know their job well from the technical details to the way they engage you in the conversation. Absolute gems.

The waitstaff seem to remember your wishes from one year to another, as do the rest of the staff. And the chef does not create special dishes if he feels the cost of the raw ingredients are too astronomical: an example is that last year he was able to buy white truffles at this time of year. When asking a waiter about unusual items that might be possible but not listed on the menu, the pasta with white truffles was suggested. When the orders were presented, there had to be at least one half of a cup of sauteed sliced white truffles in each order. It was more like sauteed white truffles with pasta garnish. Absolutely delicious...we ordered it four or five times during our stay and it was worth what we were charged and more! This year, my first question at dinner was if it was available again. The answer was startling: the chef said that the quantities were so rare that the prices were so high that he did not think the finished product was able to be offered at a reasonable price to the guests, therefore he did not buy them this year. I did not want to ask how much they cost, but it reminded me of the time Tiffany's ran the ad "Don't buy silver - it is over priced" when the silver market was manipulated and priced more than tripled in a few months.

Housekeeping is run as well as any department here. The rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day (including dusting the light bulbs in the lamps on the nightstands). After it is complete, two supervisors inspect the room. Turndown service is every evening. And if you need extra towels at 2 in the morning, they are at your door at once.

DOGS ARE WELCOME. Although it's too long of a trip to bring our dogs, we arranged an afternoon tea date in the hotel with local friends who brought their three dogs. All were welcome and we had a lovely afternoon.

Although the hotel is totally full now, there is no noise to be heard in the rooms. None of the staff appear a bit flustered. Everything is continuing as if today was any other day.

Just one request: if your children are loud in public places and restaurants, please consider another hotel. Many well behaved, well mannered children are welcome guests but the few that are not are irritating to everyone else. No amount of nannies nor parents are able to control these children who are not confortable behaving well.

Granted, the cost of a 5 Star hotel is a lot, but if you are in a position to stay in one, the Four Seasons Hotel Firenze is worth every dollar, euro, or whatever form of payment you make. That is something I cannot say about some of its competitors.

Room Tip: If you plan to go for the Christmas holidays, book in advance with the hotel. People have discovered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSFlorence, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dearest Guest,

I cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review and let me also express my gratitude for your loyalty to our Hotel and to Four Seasons.

Your detailed description of this property and the service offered by the staff is truly amazing, and
the team is honoured to receive such a consistent and nice appraisal.

We are sincerely happy that you enjoyed, also this year, your stay in Florence and that you would recommend our Hotel to others.
The confirmation of a satisfied guest is quite rewarding for all of us and we thank you for the time
you took to let us know.

Wishing you a successful and healthy 2013, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Most Cordially,

Patrizio Cipollini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    630
    59
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
154
365
23
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great hotel in almost every-way except the price! So this is not a cheap hotel. If you ignore that, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. It is immaculate and the architecture is stunning. The food - breakfast (especially good), lunch and dinner is fantastic. Our room was beautiful. The staff are knowledgeable and attentive - it was our 2yr old's birthday on check-in, they noticed, and sent us a cake in the afternoon.

Probably the best feature of this hotel are the grounds - so I think the hotel outshine's itself in the summer. This is because the grounds give you an oasis of calm from a very busy tourist season and they are great for children to run off steam and explore. Even adults can get lost wondering around them. Because of this and the great staff, I'd say this is best four seasons I've stayed in for families. Tough to fault the hotel, until you pay the bill!

Room Tip: Anything looking over the gardens is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great gym and amenities, super concierge and overall service. Stayed for 5 nights. The grounds are lovely, and the location is perfect if you want a little privacy and quiet, while still being able to walk to all the sites. The staff are exceptionally friendly. Spa was also lovely. Wish i knew the outdoor hot tub attached to the pool was open year round, as we did not bring our bathing suits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is probably one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at. We were there for four days and stayed in a junior suite. Large health club for a hotel. Restaurant and service were excellent.
You can walk to the main tourist areas, but it’s about 1km – or there is a hotel shuttle.
If you stay there, allocate some time to walk around in the garden and climb “magic mountain” (you’ll understand when you see it).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are worth the extra cost. Try the tasting menu in the restuarant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while in Italy. When I stepped into tthe hotel, what blew me away was the amazingly decorated lobby especially in time for the Christmas season. Service was very good as expected of a five star hotel. It was my first time staying at a Four Seasons hotel as I am usually at Hyatt. However Florence did not have any Hyatt chain hotels so I was deciding between St Regis and Four Seasons.

During my stay I tried the spa and the hair salon, both of which offered very prompt and excellent service. The spa facilities were very comprehensive and I felt right at home after my massage. I tried the candle massage which was supposed to be new. The drops of buttery oil on my body felt amazing especially in the cold and dry weather.

I had read about the large outdoor garden and pool before my stay but unfortunately did not get to see them in daylight as I was out of the hotel and only returned during the evening. However, I did get a feel of how large the property was when I walked out of the hotel to get to the spa which was situated in a separate building. The hair salon also had its own premises in the garden.

One drawback was that I was looking for hotel right in the centre of the city and after the first day I realised that although the hotel is pretty near to the centre, it not exactly in the heart of it. It took 15 mins of cab rides a day to get to the centre which easliy came up to 20-30 euros a day. The Savoy Hotel would be much closer to the city centre in this case.

Other than that, I would stay in a Four Seasons Hotel again next time as it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everything was perfect. The staff of course was wonderful - always smiling and saying "Buon giorno!" Always trying to be helpful as well. The hotel is like a museum, and the grounds are a great escape from the city. The best of all worlds - walking distance to everyhting in Florence,but the grounds felt like the countryside in Tuscany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I have been delighted by the very harmonious and aesthetic of this ancient palazzo carefully restored hotel (we also enjoyed the beautiful artwork of the artist Ugo Riva, both inside and in the park !); the large park, down noise and passers, is a major asset for this hotel. The whole building is marked with the seal of excellence and the service is impeccable, both host, that the room or restaurant. We enjoyed being upgraded to a superior room, very large and comfortable. The breakfast is hearty and very refined. The concierge team has helped us greatly throughout our stay (recovery left our luggage at the airport in Paris, tour bookings, information on the city, ...). This is the fifth time we go to Florence and staying at the Four Seasons was the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Firenze

Address: Borgo Pinti 99, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#1 Spa Hotel in Florence
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Firenze 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Firenze. An enchanted city sanctuary in the midst of Florence, where an art-filled Renaissance palazzo and conventino frame a centuries-old private park. Relax amidst original frescoes and sculptured reliefs, graced by sunlight and airy garden vistas. Sip espresso under majestic trees, lounge by the open-air pool or bask in Italian spa secrets. Wonders of the Uffizi and Duomo are a stroll away. Tuscan hill towns beckon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Firenze
Florence Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.