We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night dining in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden View Open Bar

Golden View Open Bar
Via de Bardi, 58/r, Florence, Italy
+39 055214502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #376 of 1,968 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $0 - $124
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Late night dining in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It was after 10;30 PM and my daughter and I were looking to dine. The hotel recommended THE golden View, within walking distance to accommodations.
Although it was late when we arrived the staff was very accommodating and pleasant for a late Wednesday evening dine.
Jazz was playing in the background (perhaps a bit too loud) and we were promptly showed our table.
A nice, not expensive, bottle of Italian Rose Spumonte was enjoyed with some incredible appetizers of Buffalo de Mozzarella and an exquisite Parmigiano.
Then a nice risotto with fresh prawns.
Followed by the classic Bistecca Florentine.
My criticism: Thought the Parmesan was a little pricey, the risotto a bit too "al dente" for my taste, but that is subjective.
Service was fine, unobtrusive, informed and helpful. although it was past midnight when we finished there was no pressure to leave and we had to request the check.
BTW, the seafood display in the window is always fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    314
    120
    52
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've booked this restaurant on the web almost one wee before going and I've asked for a table with a POnte Vecchio view. It couldn't be more perfect! We has a wonderful dinner with a beautiful view of the Ponte at night...the food was great, we had some great brunello also and some prosciutto crudo...I believe the best one I've ever eaten. I totally recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We ate here on our Florence visit a few weeks ago. The seafood dishes are excellent. I had the swordfish which was very tasty. Others in our group also had delicious seafood . The pasta dishes were also wonderful. The crostini appetizers were out of this world, as was the dessert sampler plate. Great atmosphere with a jazz band that played wonderful background music . Loved the atmosphere in Golden View, and right on the Arno River. Only complaint was that our waiter seemed to take advantage of the fact that we were a large group of Americans, and he was a bit pushy with us ordering more expensive dishes to increase the bill. Otherwise, I highly recommend Golden View.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Modern Spot in Oltarno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After reading some other reviews, I was a little hesitant about this place, but we had a good meal with good service. The atmosphere and decor are nice and the wine list is outstanding.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great View, Food, Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place was great! When you get tired of the heavy dishes of beef Florentine, head on over and have some nice fish/seafood appetizers, salads, small dishes, pizza. The view is fantastic, not too crowded, great wine list, bubbly options, drinks. Went early (lunch) three times, always given a great table, nice service! Enjoy!! We shared pizza and salad, or seafood and salad, this made it not so expensive, splurged on the sparkling wine! I am surprised at the other recent reviewers, seems we had the opposite experience! The waiters remembered us, gave us little extras, not a tourist trap!! Very modern decor, fresh fish daily!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden View Open Bar also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Golden View Open Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden View Open Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.