We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grom

Grom
Via del Campanile, Florence, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped today on our first day in Florence, have had Gelato in Rome, Pisa, and Cinque Terra. This was the best

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    301
    139
    49
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best gelato in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I believe that kids don't lie when it comes to ice cream. So, our kids unanimously told us to come here every single day (sometimes twice a day!) during our one week stay in Florence. I think that says a lot about how good Grom is.

We did try other popular gelaterias in town, but still, we went back to Grom.

Their gelato does not pile high like mountains, but kept hidden in closed lid containers. I tried about 5-6 different flavours and all of them are less sweet but more flavourful than those in other gelaterias. With Grom's you could actually taste and smell strawberry, hazelnuts, pistachio, chocolate etc. when eating it.

Chocolate lovers must not miss chocolate extra noir. Coffee is also excellent. But my daughter would tell you that their strawberry is the best in the world because she insisted on having just that one flavour every single day ( they do a 'mini' one scoop portion at 1 euro for small children).

To avoid the line, be there before lunch. Afternoon is the gelato time, thus long line. Or go at night, the place is opened til midnight!



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and make a stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

During my trip in Italy, I made it a point to try all the gelaterias that were highly recommended in each city. I tried gelato in Milan, Venice, San Giminagno (supposedly has the best gelato in the world), and Florence. My favorite by far is Grom. I had a scoop of strawberry and creme of Grom (egg cream w/ chocolate chips) and it was unique and delicious! It was 2.50e for a small size and can choose 2 flavors. The strawberry is excellent, much better than the one i tried in San Gimignano. This is worth the stop, multiple times!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in Firenze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I loved the caramel and the Columbian Chocolate. Very fresh and organic. The lines can be long but they move quickly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Amazing gelato and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We've been two days in a row and will definitely be back tomorrow. I can't get enough of the pink grapefruit paired with lemon. We have also tried strawberry, pistachio, nougat, caramel, and coffee, and all are excellent. Gelato stores are a dime a dozen in Florence but this one is worth turning the corner for.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grom also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Grom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.