We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt just like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Notte Blu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Notte Blu to your Saves list
La Notte Blu
Via Zara 7, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Felt just like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in a room with an on-suite bathroom and the room and b&b were perfect for us. Silvia the host is lovely and gives you great restaurant recommendations. It is a little bit of a walk from center city but we needed after all the eating. It is in a very safe area and most nights we slept with windows open. I thought breakfast was good and it was nice chatting with other guests. It was a great place and would recommend if you want more of a home experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    24
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
48
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location of this B&B is about 10 minutes walk from the Gallerie dell’Accademia and 25-30 minutes from Uffizi. It is not right in the action; however, if you are happy to walk, the location is good for the price.

The B&B itself is on the first floor of a nice old building, with an old-style lift. We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom, which was just across the hall. The owner of this B&B is delightful, she is very chatty and willing to help with anything.

However, we found the B&B to be really noisy. Our room wasn't soundproofed in the slightest, so we could hear EVERYTHING that goes on in the rooms next door. One night we were there, next door blared their television until 2am, and it was impossible to sleep at all. Another night, there was some partying going on at the bars/cafes near the B&B so the yahoo-ing from the street came nice and loud through the terrace windows. First thing in the morning (about 6:30-7am), other guests of the B&B start to stir, and you can hear everything in the corridor, from bathroom doors slamming and people chatting to the coffee-machine whirring across the hall in the breakfast room.

Our room was nice and large, and kept quite clean, as was the shared bathroom. The bed was old and springy, so it squeaked and creaked loudly which actually woke us up one night when one of us rolled over! It was also somewhat uncomfortable, so even when it was (finally) quiet inside and outside the B&B it was still hard to sleep deeply. Shower in the bathroom had terrible water pressure and the temperature was very inconsistent, with occasional jolts of scalding water followed by bouts of freezing water.

Pros: The wi-fi was strong and consistent, and the breakfast was fine – just cereal, toast and home-made muffins. Simple but pleasant. It is quite a secure building, and despite the noise from the street it was a nice part of town. There is a Laundromat one block away, which we utilized, and there are a few pizzerias and shops nearby as well. As stated before, the owner is charming and very helpful with whatever you need, even taking care of our luggage on our last day so we could go to a gallery before leaving.

Some ups, some downs. I wish I could score this B&B more highly, because the owner is just so nice, but we truly found it difficult to get a good night’s sleep which, in a place like Florence, is needed to deal with the queues and vast array of sights. If you are a heavy sleeper or going at a time when there is barely anyone in town, this place would be terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in Spring'13. It's about 10 or 15 minutes walk from the centre of town in a smart, quiet residential area. Sylvia really is as helpful as her reputation, she really cares about her patrons' stay and is full of good advice about the city.
Our room was large, clean and characterful, well renovated and soundproofed. Decent bed (pillows let it down though) and a balcony.
Breakfast consisted of home-made bread and cakes, jams and yoghurt, juice, machine coffee and, hurrah, Twining's tea (available any time). Only thing missing was Marmite!
There are some good restaurants nearby (especially Tito's, fantastic) and a few local shops.
All round great value and ideal for a city break.

Room Tip: Our room had a shared bathroom but we never noticed anyone else using it. We had a balcony while mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect room, wonderful breakfasts and Silvia is a very kind person! Two nights with my girlfriend visiting Florence. It's very close to the centre and you can reach walking almost all must-visit places in Florence

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

it was my first ever staying in B&B, expected to have a little bit more variable breakfast, but overall it's excellent, super clean and the owner is like a member of your family, so helpful and friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September 2012 for two nights. We really enjoyed this place. It is close to nearby everything so walking to and from your most famous sights is a joy. The building is old,but the hotel itself is very welcoming by your lovely hostess. Everymorning she's up early making homemade bread, she provides very nice pastries, and coffee. Rooms are large, beds are comfortable. A lttle noisy in the early morning hours for traffic but overall very nice. Definitely will go back here.
Good value for the money and very clean. She cleans herself and is very meticulous and wants her guests comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Sylvia welcomed us warmly and gave us excellent advice on what to do, where to go to eat, and made us feel as if we had come for a visit with friends. The location, a short walk from the center, is quiet - a real plus for light sleepers! Our room was very comfortable, very clean and much larger than I'd expected. The breakfast included Sylvia's homemade bread, cereal, toast, yoghurt, juice - in short everything we wanted to start our day. The tone, set by Sylvia, was friendly among the other guests as well. We hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Notte Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Notte Blu

Address: Via Zara 7, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Notte Blu, is a totally new Bed & Breakfast within walking distance from the magic attractions of histrical center of Florence . In less than 5 minutes walk can easily reach the Duomo and Galleria dell’ Accademia , the Station and the Fortezza da Basso exposing centre.It’s a quite and relaxing place that combine elegance and comfort in an exclusive residence that will suit the needs of most sophisticated traveller.It’s an ideal choice to visit Florence , whether it would be for business and conference or tourism and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Notte Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Notte Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.