We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak dinner in Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Mamma Gina

Trattoria Mamma Gina
Borgo S.Jacopo, 37/r, 50125 Florence, Italy
+39.055.239.6009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #353 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best steak dinner in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

On the recommendation of friends, we went to Trattoria Mamma Gina on the Borgo San Jacopo
in Florence, Italy (walk over the Ponte Vecchio and take a right).
The place is unpretentious but the food is really good, and so is the service. We had a memorable Steak dinner, in a country not really known for beef dishes. The Bistecca alla Fiorentina was on the bone, thick, juicy and well seasoned. I ordered mine medium which came more medium-rare, but it was so flavorful that I did not send it back and relished the whole thing! We had spinach on the side, and a salad of arugula with shaved Parmesan iin good olive oil. And the house wine was good too. Tutto era buono!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    150
    47
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Soups and great service. Great place to stop from pitti palace / boboli gardens before heading back to the central city. Great friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friends and I dropped in to Mamma Gina's for a quick bite before going to the opera at St Mark's... and so glad we did! Our pasta dishes were great, the house red went down well, the service was friendly and efficient and the ambiance relaxed and attractive. I'll definitely be returning to try the mains and desserts!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled upon this restaurant in 2011 and couldn't wait to go back this past September! The waiters are so welcoming, friendly and the prices are reasonable. The Cannelloni Mamma Gina is so fresh and amazing! The Tuscan Soup is also very good. I will definitely go back to Florence and Mamma Gina is on the top of my list to eat!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had the most exquisite bistecca Tuscany at this beautiful, romantic restaurant on the Arno river in Florence. The waiter was so friendly, the wine list was superb and the food was unsurpassed. Great value, and great time! Not to be missed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Mamma Gina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Mamma Gina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Mamma Gina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.