We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant full of locals.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 'O Munaciello

'O Munaciello
Via Maffia 31R, 50100 Florence, Italy
39 055 287198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #633 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Essex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great restaurant full of locals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

A recommendation from a local led to this find. Down a road you wouldn't necessarily venture down but really glad we did.

A lovely, very helpful lady served us. Pizza was yummy.

Quirky looking restaurant with a good atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    237
    106
    37
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

On Friday I went out for dinner with some friends and we spent the night at the Munaciello in Florence.

It's a nice restaurant, really fancy perfect for a dinner out with friends. It is located in via Maffia 31 red, few steps from Piazza Santo Spirito. It is furnished in a funny way with lots of things hanged around, such as lucky horns, strings of garlic, tomatoes and so on. The Munaciello is situated inside the old convent of Santo Spirito, into the part that was used as Pilgrims' inn until the end of '800.

I like this restaurant because of this particular atmosphere and because of the good pizza and good food you can have here. Pizza is hand made and baked into a classic oven with wood. It's the original pizza from Naples that is soft and thick covered with fresh ingredients coming from Sorrento and surroundings. I suggest you take a classic Margherita and taste its genuine flavor. Otherwise try "Sette Nani" (seven dwarfs) with seven different ingredients.

i also suggest you try something with "Mozzarella di bufala" that is really special. If you like pasta order it because pasta is handmade. Don't forget to order a dessert, that are delicious such as the "mattonella al cioccolato" full chocolate cake.

The service is nice and friendly, but it's a bit slow especially when the restaurant is full. So you have to try it if you're not in a hurry and you're patient.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We really liked the pizza. Perfect. Very friendly waiter. Called a taxi for us when we were done. We came early at 7:30 and were some of the first ones there. By the time we left at about 9:00 the place was packed. Highly recommended.

Very nice salt and pepper shakers on the table. Good grind on both.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Only if you don't have alternatives”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

Ok the atmosphear is very nice and folk but that's it!
1h20' for two plates of pasta with no flavour and greasy may be is really too much! Especially if you think that there were few people. The restaurant was almost empty!
So bad experience, no more!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We dined at this restaurant on the recommendation of a local Florentine (Stefano), our tour guide that day on our Best of Tuscany tour (also fabulous, see my review). We asked him where to get the best pizza in Florence and he did not lead us astray. The decor was hip, modern and fun, the service was friendly and prompt, and the pizza was delicious (and we had a lot of pizza in Italy) - this was by far the best. Lots of varieties to choose from; I had a pizza with eggplant. If you want great quality pizza and a fun dining experience, don't miss this place when you are in Florence!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'O Munaciello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to 'O Munaciello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 'O Munaciello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.