We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bussola

La Bussola
Via Porta Rossa, 58/R, 50123 Florence, Italy
0039-055-293376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $21 - $93
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I liked La Bussola so much that I went twice during my trip.

On my first visit, I had the no. 2 Tuscan pizza (with walnuts, pears, Tuscan sheep cheese, and Tuscan honey) which was to die for. The combination of the thin crust with the sweet honey, tart pears and gooey cheese was perfect. The wine list was pretty extensive, and the service was excellent.

On my second visit, I had the seafood spaghetti and I'm still thinking about it to this day -- almost a week later. The server was quick to recognize us from our previous visit and even served us complimentary limoncello at the end of our meal.

I would have happily gone back again had I had a few more days in Florence.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    251
    62
    36
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here, we were really looking forward to our dinner here. For starters, we had pasta, one of which had to be returned because it was cold. The staff did quickly rectify this but it was a disappointing start to our meal. The pasta dishes were fine but nothing special. We then shared a pizza - again nice but nothing special - but it first had to be returned because the waiter hadn't told the chef that we didn't want ham on it. The price was okay - high but fairly standard for central Florence - but we didn't appreciate having the waiter pushing us to order a €40 bottle of wine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful little gem in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our hotel concierge told us that they ate at a quaint little restaurant nearby, so we strolled over to take a look. Typical european restaurant with stone walls and a nice looking wine rack. What caught our attention were the happy waiters - singing, humming and smiling. We ordered the fish with a potato crust, a four cheese pizza, some wine set about enjoying a wonderful meal. We had cheese platter and a fruit pie - excellent!! The service was pleasant, prompt and helpful. We spent about: 100 Euros (tip included) for 2 which included a moderately priced bottle of wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Proper Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Discovered this restaurant by accident and was not disappointed. We stopped for pizza and these were properly and freshly made. The menu was short, but this meant that the pizzas were properly made to order. The chilli olive oil that accompanied the pizza had a lovely kick to it.
We were really pleased with our pizzas and the understated atmosphere of the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Margherita Pizza we ever had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The service was superb!

The food was excellent with the best Margherita Pizza we have had. It is not crisp more more of a soft and flavourful experience. The sauce was almost like a soup. My wife and I loved it!

The Florentine steak was also quite excellent!

A wonderful dining experience in Florence!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bussola also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.