We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat solo in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bussola

La Bussola
Via Porta Rossa, 58/R, 50123 Florence, Italy
0039-055-293376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $21 - $93
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to eat solo in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

La Bussola not only offers great food, it's one of the few places in Florence where you can eat solo and not feel like a spectacle. Dining in Florence is a social, group activity, so if you find yourself there on business, as I was, it can sometimes be awkward eating in a restaurant. But at Bussola, there is a bar where you can sit, order your meal, and chat with other folks, including the pizzaioulo. The pizzas are excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    251
    62
    36
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Now our joint favourite place to eat in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spend two weeks in Florence around Easter, and in the last coupe of years we have started eating at La Bussola more and more. The food is excellent, the service attentitive and friendly and the atmosphere is great. At the moment (April) they d not have the outdoor seating set up but when they do, its also quite fun to eat n the side street. The steak and ruccola (with basmaic sauce) is excellent as are the various pastas. Certainly not cheap but you get what you pay for and you wll have a great meal and evening here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

10 of us arrived in Florence, checked into our hotel - Porta Rossa - and then hastily looked for a restaurant at 10pm ! The nearest to the hotel was La Bussola so we all piled in. The head waiter looked a little startled and made jokes about our timing etc but after a 10 minute wait he had us all seated. The food was excellent and we were impressed that they were willing and able to produce our 2 or 3 course meals so late in the evening. We weren't hustled out when we'd eaten - the staff came round and chatted to us. We were there for 3 nights and we all ate at La Bussola each night and all were equally good. The service and the banter are second to none and the food fabulous

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - good food, good service and good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We trusted TripAdvisor and had a great meal. Tempted by Pizza, it did look and smell good - but chose from main menu and were not disappointed.

Lovely atmosphere and good service delivered with a smile and banter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“late and great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you are looking for a great range of wine, fresh bruchetta and friendly service, this is the place. My boyfriend and I went for a late dinner, it was around 11pm the restaurant was pretty quite but the staff made us feel very welcomed. The pasta was just amazing!! It's definitely worth. We even got same advice where to party in Florence.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bussola also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bussola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.