We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great roof terrace, tidy rooms and very hospitable hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Dimora Altea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alla Dimora Altea to your Saves list
Alla Dimora Altea
Viale Belfiore, 58, 50144 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great roof terrace, tidy rooms and very hospitable hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Me and my girl friend spend 2 nights in Alla Dimora Altea at the end of 2013. Our check-in was supposed to be later than the office hours, hence Matteo and Alessio (the two guys who run the hostel) were very cooperative by organising a hand-over of the room keys to us (including the digicode for the central door).
In general, we can not say but the best about Matteos and Alessios hospitabilty, their disposition and their endeavour to make us feel as comfortable as possible.
The rooms were very clean, the bath rooms with shower, fan, douche gel, shampoo and towels (everything provided), the roof terrace with a breathtaking view above the city as far as the surrounding hills around the town. I am talking about rooms in plural, as we extended our stay for one other night and were kindly transferred to a 2nd room, who was as impeccable as the first.
The location is close to the Santa Maria train station, the banks of the Arno river and its tourist districts are within a 20 min walking distance.
Given the rather tiny price per night and what you get in return, in combination with two great hosts, we can - in good conscience - recommend this hostel to any potential customer who is looking for an affordable accomodation.

Big thanks again to Alessio and Mateeo for their hospitality,
Martin & Angela

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    68
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
103
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very affordable and cute B&B. Located close to the central station, it has simple but nice rooms. The breakfast is already in the room when you arrive, a bit simple but not bad for the rate. The B&B has an incredible panoramic terrace. It's a bit hard to find free parking space close to the hotel.
The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It is located approximately 10 minutes walk from the train station. It is an easy walk without luggages. Mateo (host) suggested some buses that we could take from the street nearby to the city center.

I believed we got one of the bigger rooms. The bathroom was also big.

Breakfast was simple packed croissants/jam/biscuits that were placed in the room everyday. We were entitled to a cup coffee from the coffee machine everyday by inserting our room token into the machine. However, there was an error in the credits in our token - so no coffee on the second day. This was subsequently resolved later in the day when we bumped into Mateo.

Internet was very weak in the room. We usually sat at the reception area to stay connected to the wifi. Be careful of mosquitoes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We split our days and spent some time in the middle of the day resting - we aren't as young as we once were.The terrace was great for this purpose. The walk from the station/ centre of the city was longer than advertised and so our walks were more than we had been led to believe. On a better note the proprieters were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and adequate but the shower must be the smallest I have ever used. All in all a good choice and good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which gave direct access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple of nights ago. We stayed in room #6. We had a wonderful time. Room was very spacious and very clean. Breakfast was good. We loved the view from the Terrace. Mateo is a great host and helped us in any way with his recommendations, he knows the best restaurants in Town and showed us in the map which places were the best to know in such a short period. He told us we could call his mobile at any time if there was any issue or question. The location is good, just a few minutes’ walk from the main station. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay here after having read the stellar reviews. This must have been the first time TripAdvisor reviews failed me so terribly. Where to start? Terrible location. Can't take a bus, even a cab. The walk to center of Florence goes through the shadiest part of town. We felt unsafe walking. The view from the terrace is not of anything beautiful but construction. The Duomo is on the other side of the building. The rooms are small, so are bathrooms. Everything needs to renovated and replaced. Not even sure how clean anything was because everything looked so worn out, could not be sure. The breakfast is prepackaged croissants, unclear how old. They give only two bath towels per room, not any other smaller towels, or a towel to use as a floor mat. The hosts are never around, can never find them. For the rates they charge there are plenty of alternatives in Florence that are better value for money. Do yourself a favor, don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimoraaltea, Proprietario at Alla Dimora Altea, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are always very sad when a guest isn’t pleased with his experience in Dimora Altea: we usually accept negative reviews to improve ourself, but only if they are true…and your terrible experience, dear Lululu, seems a little bit overstated.

Are you really sure that in your room there weren’t two big shower towels, two face towels and a one to use as floor mat!?
It seems strange…but anyway you could have asked us others…it’s not so expensive for us give you one more towel.

Are you really sure that there weren’t buses in the street downstairs!?
We can definitely prove that less than 50 meters from us there are more than ten bus lines all leading to the station ( http://www.ataf.net/System/files/mappe/RED20130329-mappa110x100.pdf )

Are you really sure that there weren’t cabs in the street!? We are in Florence, not in the Amazon Forest!!!

You wrote that you felt unsafe walking to reach the historical centre of Florence…if 15 minutes are too many for you….you could have booked somewhere else…we are in 2013 and by google map you are able to understand where we are located, how and by the time to reach the main places of interest.

Ahhhh…I apologize if Duomo is “on the other side of the building”…and you can see it only from the left side of our attic terrace !!!! you could have booked in Duomo Square but you wouldn’t have spent 75 euro in high season. If you find something like this…call me!!! I really would like spending a night with a big attic terrace in front of the Duomo!!!!

Please, Lululu, do yourself a favour and think why hundred of people review our B&B “very good” or “excellent”…probably all they are crazy….probably you have been a little bit over the top!!!

Sincerely

Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A simple, friendly & quaint B&B. The rooms were a little rustic but very clean and the breakfast wasn’t very substantial - you get a selection teas/coffee & a kettle to boil your water, a pre-wrapped croissant and a juice box. The bathroom was very small however, the bedroom was very spacious. The host Matteo, was absolutely lovely and so welcoming. He really knows the city and has some fantastic recommendations that you must check out. Every restaurant he recommended was absolutely fabulous!! He definitely made our stay  The large rooftop terrace is what makes this B&B. The views are incredible and I would highly recommend grabbing a bottle of wine and watching the sunset – this still remains one of our highlights of our Europe trip. You can’t help but feel like it’s located in a bit of a shady area and it’s not super close to the heart of Florence (about 20/25 minutes walk), however, it is close to Santa Maria Novella Train Station and for us, we didn’t mind walking!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Dimora Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Dimora Altea

Address: Viale Belfiore, 58, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alla Dimora Altea is a kind b&b near the centre of Florence, placed near main attractions of the town. It's at 400 meter from the rail station (Santa Maria Novella) and at 2 Km from the airport. You can reach the historic centre of Florence in 10 minutes by walk. B&B Alla Dimora Altea is placed at the sixth floor (with elevator) of a beautiful building near Fortezza da Basso, in a good district of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alla Dimora Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Dimora Altea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.