We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy A+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Santo Spirito

Osteria Santo Spirito
Piazza Santo Spirito 16r, Florence, Italy
055-238 2383
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #252 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Easy A+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

When we first arrived, we were greeted by (who we thought) was the manager of the night in which he told us a seat outside would be about 20 minutes or so. He walked us over to the bar next door and told us to get a drink (which was on the house). Awesome (and fun) atmosphere and it was just cool talking to locals! The bar tenders were super nice too.

However, after about an hours wait (oh well), we were finally seated outside next to another couple on a date. We were served bread with olive oil, and were quickly approached by our server! She was very nice and willing to help us make a selection of food to pick from. Little did we realize that we had such tiny stomachs, but our food was SO GOOD! I mean, delicious. Simple ingredients, LOTS and LOTS of flavors combined together to make your mouth go "YUM!" We did rigatoni pasta with tomato sauce as our first dish, then split the chicken and vegetable platter (which was to die for).

Just as we finished our second plate, we asked what kind of desserts there were left and the waitress said "cheesecake." Sold. The cheesecake was flippin' awesome. Loved it. Everything was such a great price too! My only complaint is I wish I had a bigger stomach to eat more food! Can't wait to come back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    282
    82
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Dissappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We walked three blocks in the rain because this was recommended by our hotel. The reception was less than friendly, we were seated upstairs we felt like we were taken out of the way from the regulars, maybe because we were seated with all the other americans. The servers were not friendly or very accomadating. The food was a real dissappointment, there are much better restaurants to enjoy while in Florence.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surprisingly poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a very different experience this month from others (although the off hand waitress experience similar): no house white wine and a number of others not available; a number of dishes not available although we were there early, but most disappointingly, dreadful food! We both had pasta - huge quantities, yes but soggy with water, very dull and tasteless. We would not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We wandered through the streets seeking a place to eat and came across this wee Tuscan restaurant. Initially the waitress was a little offhand as we hadn't booked in advance and quite dismissively tossed her hand in the air and said our only option was to eat inside. I had no problem with this and we were seated at a table for two. I ordered cold purée if tomato feta , olive oil and fresh basil. ( like a cold soup it was lovely)
My hubby was disappointed as he would have preferred whole sliced tomatoes ( he likes to use his teeth) mains were enormous portions! Too much for me on pasta, but hubby scored rest. Wine recommended by waitress was fabulous! Toscana 2006! Yummy. Full bodied and strong very good. We returned for lunch with friends a few days later and had another great meal seated upstairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Busy place that delivers, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We've been here a few times and would not hesitate going back. The place, despite the incredible turnover manages to deliver decent - if rushed a bit - service, which is a feat considering how popular it is with the locals. This also means you might need to wait with an apperitivo to be seated.
Location is great, and they have a sizable terrace. The food is good, but mind the portion sizes - the primi can get quite large.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Santo Spirito also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria Santo Spirito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Santo Spirito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.