We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meat, but needs to do other dishes better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Caffe Italiano

Pizzeria Caffe Italiano
Via Dell'Isola Delle Stinche 11/13 R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 289080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #771 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $15 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Steakhouse, Winery
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent meat, but needs to do other dishes better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to the restaurant after finding it in the lonely planet guidebook.

The dishes I had were great however you do need to be a lover of large portions of meat. It was also nice to be shown the piece of meat before it is cooked for you to confirm you are happy with it.

What let this restaurant down was its consideration for those who may not wish to have a florentine style steak. My wife had a lasagne and it looked as though it was bought at a supermarket and by all accounts tasted as good there wasn't even a garnish . In addition the buffalo mozzarella starter was oversized and was a bit too much. It is possible to have too much of a good thing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    138
    38
    45
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Over-priced tourist trap. Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice looking restaurant, food quality OK, but they will try to rip you off and if you catch them out can become quite unpleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go to the pizza place next door (part of Osteria del Caffe)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The pizza place connected to the Osteria del Caffe Italiano is very casual compared to the Caffe itself. There are only 3-4 pizza choices, but it is delicious Tuscan pizza and a good value. If you have trouble finding the pizza place, ask in the restaurant. It is a little difficult to find in comparison to the restaurant, but I hear the pizza is a popular choice with locals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Terrific Local Restaurant in Central Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant for lunch one day around 12:00Noon. The only other person inside was an Italian woman eating by herself. Our waitress was nice and friendly and eagerly wanting to speak English with us. This is definitely a local restaurant, with more locals than tourists.

On the outside the menu is only in Italian, but they have an English version inside.

I highly recommend the traditional Tuscan tomato/bread soup. It’s not a brothy soup but is a very sick soup almost like a sauce with the bread just crumbled into it. It’s a very traditional dish served with a little olive oil on top, and some fresh ground pepper.

To be honest, it was possibly the most delicious dish on our most recent trip to Italy. So simple, and so delicious that I must learn how to make it at home (even though I know I’ll never get it to be as good).

As it became 1 and then 1:30pm, this place filled with locals (always a good sign).

The prices were cheap, and I highly recommend it for lunch or dinner. I hope to go back on future trips to Florence!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great out of the way Caffe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stumbled across Osteria del Caffe Italiano during my recent stay in Florence. We were extremely tired and hungry and a waitress named Rosa made us feel completely at home. The service was great, the food was delicious and Rosa kept the wine flowing. I would go back to see her and have another meal and glass of wine at this terrific hideaway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Caffe Italiano also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Pizzeria Caffe Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Caffe Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.