We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Giostra

La Giostra
Borgo Pinti, 10/12/18 R | 10/R 18/R, 50121 Florence, Italy
055 241341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: European, Italian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Twenty years ago, the Hapsburg Lorena princes decided to open a restaurant in Florence: La Giostra. The new of a noble family managing with dishes and napkins made headlines, but it was not a surprise to everyone. The friends who were accustomed to gathering around the table of the prince at the castle of Barberino Val d'Elsa, in Chianti, had often suggested him to do that. The restaurants that were supplied with olive oil, wine and other products of the family estate had always been feared of the idea ,as many of their best recipes they had drawn from the Prince own mouth.The son Soldano personally supervises the cellar, and he knew that passion would eventually infect and involve it in a full time job. The passion started in Vienna, when the grandmother used to takie the nephew in the kitchens of the castle -and the servants away-, showing him a "big magic": the sourdough of kraphens.. A fantastic spell that charmed the young prince, destined for a life to browse old manuscripts of recipes, anecdotes, and suggestions to prepare the traditional dishes of the Hapsburg Lorraine's.."The sciences are not as Minerva came all armed from the brain of Jupiter, are the daughters of time", here is the secret of La Giostra. We expect a typical kitchen and you will taste new flavors, ancient hundreds of years. The flavors of a Tuscany Lost, when still the place ,where the restaurant is now located, covered by arches sixteenth century in red brick hosted the tournament in Piazza Salvemini, that is the reason of the name . Where shiny horses rested, today there are just sixteen tables, at which sit couples in love, beautiful women, celebrity guests, sometimes entire theater companies ... All united by the love for good food and the pleasure of a refined hospitality: in a "homley", home, warm and informal.. Merit of the prince's son, first of all. Merit of flattering reviews from the specialized press. Merit of the historic chef Ubaldo Tonarelli, Florentine doc who is now joined by a number of new talents. Merit of Liliana, who every morning kneads pappardelle noodles and ravioli, bolognese style, with all the freshness of the ingredients freshly picked. A 'merry band of dispensers of joy ... "Because food is necessary and choosing is a privilege, but cooking is art".
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Loved This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

What a fun evening and a wonderful meal. This is a small and intimate restaurant which my husband and I loved. It is a little difficult to find but well worth the exploration. Food was great. Service was very good and attentive and the ambience is really cute and sweet and memorable. We each had appetizers and then split the veal scalapinna limone-- FABULOUS! Highly recommend this cute little restaurant. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    262
    114
    65
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was a group event where 12 of us spent an amazing evening at La Giostra. The ambiance, service and food was perfect - we still talk about how much we enjoyed it!! Do not miss this when you go to visit Firenze, but you will need reservations. It is that popular. From start to finish it was incredible; appetizer plates, wines decantered and paired with the meal, outstanding main dishes, and then desserts, limoncello, and grappa to top it off. They went out of their way to make our dinner a memorable experience. A clear cut 10/10.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My family (adult children) visited Giostra last night. Located a few blocks south of the Duomo on a side street, it is not imposing. Yet the food and service were outstanding. My wife and I ordered mixed salad expecting it to be standard fare. It was beautifully presented, included corn and the lettuce and other ingredients were absolutely fresh. We both had fish, Bronzino. Her's was prepared with vegetables, very good. Mine was made with sweet red peppers and Borollo wine, excellent. I hade a side dish of spinach cooked with garlic and pecorino. Others had ravioli stuffed with pear and cheese.

Even the serving of wine was special. We ordered a nice bottle of Chianti Classico. The glasses were cleansed with wine and the bottle was decanted. Even a simple wine seemed better with a little air.

The cost was 50-60 euro per person...not cheap but a value for a meal so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The BEST !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Soldano does his father proud by offering the best resturant in Firenze. Everything is wonderful from the comlimentary appetizers and champagne, the level of service, the best hand picked wines from the region, and the delightful ambiance of the Carousel (giostra !!). Whatever I choose is as good or better than the last time I ordered and ate there. Lately, I have been loving the goat chops (better than lamb chops !!) although the Filet Balsamico and Osso Bucco are also favorites. I will never go there and NOT order the white truffle pasta - it is not from this earth !!! I have been eating there at least 4 times a year for many ,many years,and they have always exceeded my very high expectations. There may be other great restaurants, but there are none better !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recommended by a widely traveled friend, we looked forward to our visit to La Giostra and weren't disappointed. Small & tightly packed but were seated immediately and enjoyed a wonderful meal. High priced but worth the splurge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Giostra also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Giostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Giostra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.