We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly - don't bother - check the other reviews, I wished we had” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alle Murate

Alle Murate
16R Via del Proconsolo, Florence, Italy
055-240-618
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #609 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $86 - $129
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Honestly - don't bother - check the other reviews, I wished we had”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was personally recommended and was in the guide book - forgot to check TripAdvisor :-(

The menus is quirky and I struggled to find something that I really wanted at the price. Who mixes anchovies with veal? The list of odd flavours continues on the menu. My wife's Lamb stew, was just to salty and there was no liquid in the stew - so very dry.

The service was terrible and I do mean poor, slow and seriously rude or lacking knowledge. The senior person argued with me when I asked politely if it would be possible not to have the anchovies - something about the "chef" will not like!

Sorry, I am paying....

We didn't bother with desert, we had waited 2 hours for first two courses.

This place needs a rethink from both service and menu perspective.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    71
    40
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, average dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewer, in that the building itself is the star attraction here. The space manages something almost impossible: modern surfaces and angles in an ancient, curved space -- and it works! This may be one of the most beautiful restaurants in Florence, and you'll want to wander around. You'll have plenty of time to do this, fortunately, because the service is quite slow. The staff does indeed put on a show of service, but it always seems to be for someone else. Previous comments about the menu are spot-on: it's hard to know what to order because there's no identifiable theme to the menu. And the wine is overpriced. What you're paying for is the ambiance, which is excellent, but you leave feeling it hasn't quite been worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pretentious and over-priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We always spend a good part of the year in Florence, so we consider ourselves familiar with a wide range of Florentine restaurants. Alle Murate came highly recommended, so we looked forward to our dinner there. The room itself is spectacular and unique, but that's the high point,
I'm afraid. The confusing and redundant menu tries to be both hip and authentically Tuscan, but misses the mark on both counts. But it's the tone of the place that is the real disappointment. They all bustle about with an air of efficient formality, but it ends up being self-conscious and mechanical. That wonderful combination of grace, charm, and effortless proficiency shared by all the best Italian restaurants is simply not there. To top it off, we waited almost fifty minutes for our "second," which they had apparently forgotten all about. Through it all, not a hint of an apology.
Perhaps they thought that that would somehow break the spell...... Insomma, a terrible disappointment for both of us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place but food not delicious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The place is absolutely stunning specially if you are there for a special ocassion. A very romantic restaurant in the heart of Florence. The service was impecable as well as food presentation just as you expect for a 200 Euros meal. The food is average eventhough the menu is very reduced (only 3 plated per dinning time), with this selection I would expect stunning and tasty food but the flavor is not so great. Overall I recomend this place if you want a nice atmosphere and you want to spend some money for average food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food extravaganza under 14th century frescoes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A very special place for very special occasions. Excellent and very creative food, exclusive service, fantastic wine choice. And all this in a medieval palazzo under the first known portrait of Dante (14th century). Do not miss the little sightseeing tour, the staff will give you an audio guide. All in all, a fabulous experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alle Murate also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Alle Murate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alle Murate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.