We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Trattoria Fare in the Porta Romana neighbourhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Vecchia Bettola

Alla Vecchia Bettola
34r Via Luigi Ariosto, 50124 Florence, Italy
055 224158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #347 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Montreal
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Trattoria Fare in the Porta Romana neighbourhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Since being introduced to this Trattoria by a friend from Florence, it has become my go-to lunch restaurant whenever I am in Florence. Located on a busy street near the Porta Romana, the decor is eclectic rustic chic, the ambience laid back, the clientele mostly local regulars and the food is authentic and consistently good. There are a few outside tables, but most of the seating capacity is inside. Do not be surprised if you are asked if someone can share your table. Try the Arista, a rosemary infused pork roast with side dishes of potatoes and whatever vegetable is in season. If you order the Bistecca Fiorentina, the Florentine rib steak, expect it to be cooked rare, the way the Italians eat it. The house wines are perfectly drinkable. Service is efficient. Budget about Euro 35-40 per person for a three course lunch with wine and coffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    106
    38
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great Place, fantastic autentic food where locals like to go out for dinner. Reservations a must, try the house wine, fantastic past and filetto as well the bruschetta!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Pasta dish I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The pasta dish that is named after the restaurant, is hands-down, the best pasta dish we've ever had. It looked so deceptively simple - just some orange colored sauce over penne. But it packs such a punch in flavour! We were so hungry we savoured it within minutes, hence no photo, what a shame. I still think about it now and then, and tell the husband that I miss the pasta from "restaurant no. 9" (it's number listing in the restaurant guide given to us by Taste Florence).

The restaurant is quite far from the historic centre though, and they open quite strictly after 7.30pm. It was freezing cold that November night when we visited, and it was a shame that they did not allow us (even though I'm pregnant) to take shelter inside when we went early. But other than that, service was attentive and very fast(!) when we were finally seated. They could also call a cab for you to return to your hotel/apartment at the end of the meal, since they're quite far away.

The food quality is well worth the effort to go to the place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun and authentic Florentine restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you are looking for a fun, casual and real Florentine experience, across the river from the more touristy places, come here! Good food and fun, nothing fancy here, it's like having dinner with your distant Italian relatives.

I often come to Florence on business or pleasure, but usually end up in the center city. This time we were at a hotel across the river up on the hill. While driving down the hill one business day, my Florentine colleague commented on this restaurant, "now there is a real Florentine restaurant, you should try it!

So we tried the next night, but couldn't get a reservation. After searching for some other choices, we instead tried to go a bit early to Vecchia Bettola and try our luck. We were warmly greeted by one of the waiters who were scurrying around, already with an almost full house. But as one other reviewer put it, they were all having fun while working incredibly hard. Even without a reservation, they accommodated us at the end of one of the tables (it is a small restaurant that seems more like we are dining at their home than at their restaurant - we loved the overall feel of the setting). After 8 I predict that this would be impossible, as by 9:30 the second wave of guests were arriving (in fact this is one of the only paces I have ever dined at in Italy that has a "table turn" planned into their evening - at least on Saturday night).

I had a nice Florentine peas and pancetta ham starter while my spouse had a green and tomato salad, a little sparse on the tomatoes but nice and fresh greens. For seconds we had a pasta with mushrooms (fresh porcini!), and I had the very large Florentine steak. The pasta was excellent, and the steak was cooked exactly to my liking (medium here, which is medium rare by US standards), and very tasty. If you are American you should not expect your typical American steak - this one will be from cattle raised in a much healthier way, free of antibiotics and drugs and grass fed, so while it won't be as tender, it is much better meat and tasty in a different way.

We had the house wine although there were many choices, and it was just a nice and acceptable red. The presentation was great - they just brought a big old-style Chianti bottle and we drank what we wanted (8€ for both of us).

Service was good, and friendly and fun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

When in Florence, don't go to a restaurant where tourists go. Go to Alla Vecchia Bettola where locals have their lunch. Great food, great service, an experience not to be missed. Simply beautiful

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alla Vecchia Bettola also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Alla Vecchia Bettola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Vecchia Bettola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.