We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating with the locals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Lezzone

Coco Lezzone
26R Via del Parioncino, Florence, Italy
055-287-178
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,285 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eating with the locals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

On a very wet March day in Florence, we found Coco Lezzone at lunchtime on a back street parallel to the riverbank, not the easiest to find but worth a visit for the experience. The menu was very restricted, I guess because it was lunchtime. The Bean Soup was very Tuscan and wholesome. The pasta dish I had was divine, everything you would expect of an Italian restaurant. The real star of the show was a side dish of fresh Peas, superb. We had the house white wine which was quaffable. Obviously a haunt for local workers, a bit pricey for what it was, but the quality shone through. I have a saying 'quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten' that saying applies to Coco Lezzone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    55
    30
    38
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The place is historic and has rustic Italian food. Very casual and simple with decor and food. The food is so good.
Loved the pasta and the meat dish but you must go for the ribolita which is a traditional tuscan peasant dish. Famous spot and a must.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stale bread and cold dishes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We read about the restaurant in Time Out Florence -apparently Anthony Hopkins is a huge fan. I'm not sure why - we could not have been more disappointed. The bread was stale, the soup more of a puree (and incidently the only edible dish), the meatballs and ossobucco had clearly been prepared days prior to being served and were served cold. After complaining and returning the dishes, we received them back hot but just as unedible. The side dish of spinach was boiled so much as to be tasteless. We couldn't stomach trying any of the deserts. This delightful meal set us back 50 euros. I would say avoid at all cost.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, but lacking the promised charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Coco Lezzone is up a small alley not far from the train station. We picked it out of a guidebook, hoping a posh meal in a charming trattoria; reality didn't quite match expectations.

The food was admittedly excellent. Our salami antipasti was plainly presented but tasty; the pasta with meat sauce and the white bean soup were delicious. My partner had roast pork and a side of artichokes for the main - it was an enormous portion that both of us were unable to finish, but beautifully seasoned with sage and rosemary. My osso bucco was a more reasonable portion, and my white bean side was delicate and savory. Despite us both being incredibly full we split a tiramisu which was competent but unremarkable.

The wine list is extensive and somewhat intimidating, with some bottles fetching over 1000 Euros. We settled on a reasonable Spumanti, but I couldn't even fathom most of their cellar.

The atmosphere was off-putting at first. We were led through an unimpressive open kitchen into a plainly decorated dining room consisting of long, communal tables. As we settled into our corner my partner remarked that it felt like we were crashing someone's family Christmas dinner, and we both spent some uncomfortable moments wondering what we were in for. The service was cordial but impersonal and the mood of the room, despite the convivial set-up, was a bit on the sombre side. With a few glasses of Spumanti in us we relaxed a bit and the setting grew on us.

I would go back, but with expectations in check and a more casual wardrobe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Would not go there anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were recommended this place by a otherwise great guide and had dinner there the two of us.

When entering the restaurant - where the interior is slightly outdated and not charming as one would assume when reading the descriptions - we were seated next to other people, although there wasn't anyone else there. Well, we thought, let's order: We got a mushroom entry and a salad as a starter. Both wasn't very good, although pricey (the mushroom salad was 20 Euro so I expected a nice dish).

As a main we had vegetables, traditional meatballs and a fillet. All these dishes didn't taste excellent, but were rather cold and without salt. The veggies were overboiled too. The wine that was recommended was ok, but not too great either. The waiter who served us is generally far away from a smile and rather cold when talking to people.

After this disappointment we didn't order any desert (and coffee they don't serve). The price we paid for the two of us was 75 Euro.

Conclusion: This place is run down and we would not recommend it. There are much nicer places with a traditional atmosphere and food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Lezzone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Coco Lezzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Lezzone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.