We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cammillo Trattoria

Cammillo Trattoria
57R Borgo Sant Jacopo, 50125 Florence, Italy
055-212-427
Improve this listing
Ranked #505 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mount Kisco, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would recommend this restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I received recommendations on this restaurant by friends and locals. The service was good and our food was delicious! The atmosphere was friendly and inviting. I would suggest that you make a reservation because the restaurant fills up fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    124
    57
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nothing Special with a Flop Here and There”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A few minutes after we were seated in the early evening, a crowd of waiting diners formed at the front door. We had just serendipitiously selected this spot for dinner. So this development I felt was encouraging. I should have noted that the crowd was exclusively comprised of fellow tourists: not a good sign.

I learned later that this restaurant was listed in several tour books. So the food should have been pretty good. It wasn't. A porcini risotto was described as "Uncle Ben's with mushrooms". My beef cutlet was nicely battered, but dry and underseasoned. Most of the dishes were just OK, but nothing stood out and a few (e.g. Uncle Ben;s) flopped.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good but overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Food was pretty standard with items like stuffed zucchini flowers, veal 3 ways, Florentine steak, fried cauliflower. It was full of English speaking guests and quite crowded. Definitely reserve at least a day ahead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Spot on! Delicioso! Must enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place gave me one of the best meals I had during my entire 2 week trip across the country! You must go! Get the number and call ahead as they have unusual hours and set a reservation! This is a must. We got lucky w/o a reservation and snagged the last table snuggled in by the door. Cozy, great food, great people, nice atmosphere(can be very romantic), and did Imention the phenomenal food!!! LOL! Oh and it's centrally located.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Remarkable menu, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This small place with its bustling kitchen has an amazingly extensive menu with many interesting choices. Great place for lunch or dinner, with truly professional waiters. A treat"

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cammillo Trattoria also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cammillo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cammillo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.