We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - rude service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cammillo Trattoria

Cammillo Trattoria
57R Borgo Sant Jacopo, 50125 Florence, Italy
055-212-427
Improve this listing
Ranked #505 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Langley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food - rude service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This restaurant was very busy and we were lucky to get in when we showed up without reservations at around 9pm. The restaurant is dated but still very cozy. The food was some of the best we had on our trip (deep fried lamb and veal), however the service was definitely the worst. The Waiter, who was very busy, was rude, forgot a drink and was just generally not interested. It was really disappointing because it was such a culinary treat. One of use was gluten free and the bread was excellent (very hard to find good bread for gluten free). We would recommend it but beware that the service may let down the experience. In addition, check your bill they almost overcharged us 10 euros for the wine!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    124
    57
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner at Trattoria Cammillo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a most attentive waiter, Alan, and had outstanding food. It's porcini mushroom season and my veal scallopini was loaded with them. Decicious! So was my husband's tagliatelle with mushrooms. Our other dishes, spaghetti with 3 clam sauce and shrimp with garlic and tomatoes over rice were equally as good. We ended with limoncello and a wonderful grape tart that they only make during Sept/Oct. There are many good restaurants in Florence, but this one is worth going out of your way for.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not what we were expecting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This rustic restaurant appeared a bit run down and crammed. The service was not helpful and rude. The food was mixed and either very salty or bland. We might have caught them on a bad day as it had been highly recommended by a friend. Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Firenze atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

On the other side of the Arno, this is an old style Florentine trattoria that has been around since the mid 1940s, so they must be doing something right. It certainly seems to be popular with locals as well as tourists.
Spread over three very busy yet intimate rooms, Cammillo has an extensive menu of mainly standard dishes, a fine wine list and good, solid service, with waiters buzzing about in that Italian way that confirms they take their job seriously.
We had a simple antipasto plate of boar salami and local cheeses, which was very good, followed by an equally good ragu tagliatelle, washed down by a bottle of Chianti classico. Simple dishes done well.
Happy to return next time we are in Florence.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL FOOD, WONDERFUL ATMOSPHERE - THE BEST MEAL IN FLORENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Warm and friendly atmosphere and service, wonderful food, lovely location near Santo Spirito. Would definitely recommend this first class trattoria - you may even need to book!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cammillo Trattoria also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cammillo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cammillo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.