We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service and a tourist trap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Gilli

Caffe Gilli
Via Roma 1/R, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 213896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #906 of 1,943 restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
melbourne
1 review
“Worst service and a tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

You would think for the price you pay at this caffe you would at least have good service . With an average price of 4-5 euro for a coffee more than double the price of a coffee place around the area and a cover charge compulsory of 3 euro a head, the service was the worst we receive throughout our trip in Italy. Waiters and waitress was rude and only choose to be nice to selected tables. Avoid this place if possible unless you want this experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    155
    177
    91
    65
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My favourite café when I'm in the mood for something a little more old-school.
These guys have been here along time, and they know what they're doing.
The decor feels so classic with it's wooden bars and mirrors. The waiters are dressed in black and white and offer impeccable service.
And the coffee is quite simply perfect.
And the pastries are out of this world!
Yes, it is a little expensive. And is it worth it? You bet! You get to sit on beautiful Piazza della Republica and savour the best of Italian treats.
I need to go back there--now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cold and arrogant staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Another example of a tourist trap counting on the thin veneer of its past reputation to attract clients. The worst part of the experience at Caffe Gilli is the unfriendly staff that seem to take pleasure in their contempt for the very source of their livelihood, the customer!
And a word about the bathrooms at this supposedly elegant place: filthy! The seat on the toilet was missing and the whole place neglected and smelly. The owners should be ashamed of themselves, but just maybe the staff is a true reflection of their managers...After all, in business at least, the rot usually starts at the top.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Cafe in Downtown Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I love coffee (roast our own etc.). We were on a mission for a great cappuccino and we found it here. The pastries and chocolates are outstanding as is the lunch. We also had some pre-dinner aperitifs here and found the service and food to be wonderful whether we stood at the espresso bar or ringside of the piazza. Yes, it is expensive but this is Florence and everything is expensive so you might as well get the best for your money!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sweet Temptations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was wandering down the street when I came upon thes most gorgeous display of sweets that seemed to beckon " Eat Me". A closer look and I found myself inside an iconic cafe that served coffees and teas as well. I discovered later that it was an old cafe, a true Florentine and worth a visit when relaxing in the Piazza Republicca. A bit pricey but worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Gilli also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Caffe Gilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Gilli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.