We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro but I am loving it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silla Hotel to your Saves list
Silla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€5 off room rate
Ranked #52 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Retro but I am loving it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We booked an en-suite double room bed but was ecstatic when we were greeted with a very spacious room that includes a double bed and a single bed. There is also a living area. Bathroom is of comfortable size too. Room is clean and very comfortable. My partner and I literally jump in joy after the bellboy closed the door for us. Breakfast is lovely and the receptionist spoke good English. The hotel is also near to famous attraction -Piazza Michaelangelo and Ponte Venchio. Few doors away from the hotel is a mini market. There are also some pretty good Italian restaurants and bars nearby. Overall, a great spot!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    334
    60
    11
    10
See reviews for
189
409
42
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at the Silla in December through New Year's. Our room was spacious, with easy accommodations for 4, lots of storage space, and a large well maintained bathroom. One issue was noise from the adjoining street, which came right in to our window from morning until late at night. I think other rooms might have a better location, but the larger ones are on that side of the hotel. Not a huge problem, and pretty much the only blemish on a great stay. The location is a short walk from the Ponte Vecchio, and the neighborhood surrounding the property has most of the conveniences you would want, such as a small market, pharmacy, some restaurants and bars, etc. The Uffizi, Duomo, and other highlights of Florence are all within a 15 minute walk. All in all a nice , convenient, well maintained, and clean hotel, especially for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I would highly recommend staying here whilst exploring gorgeous Florence.

Although Silla Hotel isn't plush by any standards it is clean, comfortable and lovely to come back to after a jam-packed day of sightseeing. The staff were wonderful, very gracious and welcoming. All the reception staff spoke good English. The breakfast staff could understand what people were requesting in a variety of languages, but (I think) they appreciated it when I inflicted my Italian on them! Their caffè latte's were to die for and the breakfast choice was varied and fresh.

Being a solo traveller I had a single room and was pleasantly surprised by how spacious it was. My room contained a double bed, double wardrobe, desk and chair, luggage holder, armchair, minibar and a modern bathroom which was a good size with a powerful shower. The wardrobe contained a small safety deposit box as well as extra pillows and bedding. My only complaint would be that the room did smell of smoke although I'd requested a non-smoking room.

The location of the hotel is excellent. I walked everywhere and never felt the need to use public transport. Ponte Vecchio is a five minute walk from the hotel and from there everything else is easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

From the greeting on arrival...to a newly upgraded room, to the lovely ladies bringing you espresso etc in the breakfast room....if you had family in Italy, you could not possibly ask for friendlier service...quiet neighborhood...short walk to many of the must-see churches, museums,shopping, palazzi, restaurants, all in all, after 5 or 6 trips to the Silla, it just keeps getting better. Will return ASAP. Even a garage next door if you bring a car.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Based on recommendations from a dear friend and my uncle we booked this lovely hotel in Florence. When we arrived at the hotel the desk clerks were both very welcoming. Our room on the top floor was beautifully clean. The Italian breakfast was served in a lovely blue decorated room. Front desk was wonderfully helpful in making restaurant reservations as well as suggestions. They were very thoughtful and warned us about the marathon that would interfere with city travel on the day of our departure. The room overlooked a square a block away from the river Arno. Walking distance or a quick bus away from everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Hotel Silla is a great value for the money. The rooms may not be the Ritz, but they are very clean and comfortable for the little time you stay in your room. The breakfast room is beautiful and there is plenty variety to choose from. It was too cold to sit out on the terrace, but it looked lovely. The best part was to hotel staff. Very accommodating and wanting to please. We asked many questions and they were always happy to answer them or make us reservations. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

I stayed in the Hotel Silla for the weekend of the Florence marathon. A group of my club mates all stayed here and we had a really wonderful time. The staff were incredibly accommodating organising a buffet pasta dinner the night before the race, allowing us a late check-out so we could shower after the race and recommending local restaurants. All in all I thought it was a really superb place to stay and I cannot find fault. Grazie!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.