We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our home in florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silla Hotel to your Saves list
Silla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€5 off room rate
Ranked #50 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
n eastham ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“our home in florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

From our first stay in "02"and 6 more since it rates 10 plus.comfortable, clean, great location,and the staff BELLISSIMO! yes we know where our spot in Florence is! The Silla's staff is the key. How does the song go.? "nobody does it better"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    327
    59
    11
    10
See reviews for
187
403
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The location was amazing. An easy walking distance to the main section. Really clean and we had a room with a view of the river. The breakfast was awesome and the staff was extremely friendly. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was really modern. Internet was free so that was also a big bonus!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

perfect location, clean rooms, incredibly nice staff (they were very helpful in calling restaurants to make reservations for us, even the lady that worked the breakfast room was a doll--lent us her watch so we could time our eggs!)
plus, the oltrano is a great neighborhood--across from the craziness of the duomo, and home to a ton of really great restaurants and bars where the locals eat and drink.
can't go wrong!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Great location - walking distance from the main happening areas of Florence including the Piazza dela Santa Croce and the Duomo but still in a nice shady and quiet area of the city.

Rooms are nice and though it is next to the river views are obstructed by trees. Staff is friendly and welcoming and the breakfast buffet out on the terrace is a great start to the days.

The hotel offers indoor paid parking but its a rather tight and narrow parking area and the keys of the car have to be left with the reception for them to be able to take out other cars.

The best thing about the hotel is that its part of a much older building made in the traditional style with a small central courtyard with trees. some of the rooms have good views.

The rooms themselves though large are very basic .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Our second trip to Florence - first time we stayed at the Montebello Splendid,
but didn't want to spend the money to stay there again (very, very nice hotel,
but a little more expensive). We had a wedding blessing arranged at Santa
Croce, so Hotel Silla was perfectly located, and pretty easy to get to
driving-wise from the north and the south of Florence. I'd suggest requesting
rooms 30-34 if you want a view of the terrace and front of the hotel (may be
partially blocked by trees, but nicer than overlooking the alleyway). Anyway,
it's an old building but very charming, including the rooms (huge ceilings!).
A lot of stairs, but they have elevators, including one of the smallest ones
I've ever seen (my wife and two large suitcases was all that would fit in
there, and my wife is petite!). We stayed in two different rooms at the hotel the two different nights we were there. Bathrooms were large with tubs and good water pressure (curtains in one and the weird folding half-shower glass shutter in the other). Very large rooms for Italy (and Europe), and the beds were so-so in comfort. The staff couldn't have been any more accommodating than they were - extremely nice and spoke English real well. We were visiting Italy with another couple, and the staff at Hotel Silla let us keep our bags in storage and our extra vehicle for two nights while we went to visit and stay in Siena and San Gimignano. Parking was 19 Euros a night. When we returned, they had already put our bags in our new rooms. Since there are no irons in the rooms (removed by the owner due to fire hazards because of some previous guests), the staff let us iron our clothes in the laundry room (Ronald with the staff couldn't have been any nicer and helpful - funny story - he said his name is Ronald because his parents were big fans of 'ol Ronald Reagan). Breakfast was average and similar to most hotels in Italy - nothing special - but the wait staff was very nice. There was some construction going on in the area, but it didn't bother us much. There's internet access from a computer in the small lobby. There's a couple of cool hipster bars on the same side/block as the hotel that I'd recommend for a late-night drink. Across the street, and between the hotel and the Arno River, is a well-maintained park. Overall, I'd definitely recommend Hotel Silla for the location, extremely friendly and accommodating staff, and large rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We were a group of six adults who, after navigating our way around chaotic traffic, finally arrived at our oasis --- Hotel Silla. Our entire group was so pleased with the service at this hotel, we all agreed we would recommend it. The patio full of flowering shrubs and an olive tree was a welcome respite after a day of touring. It overlooks a park that has green, heart-shaped grass areas -- how romantic! The sounds of the church bells were welcoming, never intrusive. The staff is the most friendly, accommodating and professional I've yet to encounter in my small travels. If you stay at Hotel Silla, they will take care of you like family! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We truly enjoyed our 3-night stay at Hotel Silla. The staff were friendly and helpful....even getting us train tickets and sending faxes (at no cost) to the US helping us take care of business while we were on Holiday. It would be our top/only recommendation in Florence. Conveniently located to sights--and good restaurants....even some nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#51 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.