We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Florence!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silla Hotel to your Saves list
Silla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #53 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great find in Florence!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was fantastic! The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, a 5 minute walk into the centre of the city over the ponte vecchio. Breakfast was included and was adequate. We had the special rate of €44 a night due to construction being done on the hotel. Given that we were never in the hotel during the day this wasn't a problem and we still had a great view!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    318
    57
    11
    10
See reviews for
181
387
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Pros:
¤ The best thing is the location. Close to many great local restaurants/bars in Firenze, and in a quick 5-10 minutes walk over the bridge your in the centrum next to everything. Also a nice little food shop a few steps away.
¤ Friendly and helpful staff. I got my tickets to my Fiorentina soccer match delivered to this hotel with no problems.
¤ Clean and open-spaced rooms.
¤ Okay breakfast in good atmosphere.

Cons:
¤ Free Wi-Fi didn't work before my very last day. Then the connection suddenly was connectable.
¤ Not the best isolation in my room, could hear my neighbours talking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I returned to the Silla Hotel in the Oltrarno district of Florence in January 2013, more than five years since the first time I stayed there. This time my husband was with me, and I was concerned that it might not live up to the memories I had of my first stay. I had no need to worry - it was as warm, friendly and welcoming as ever, with excellent staff who were keen to ensure their guests had a wonderful stay in Florence. Our room was immaculately clean, extremely well maintained, of a good size, quiet, and with a fine bathroom with quality amenities. (It is worth noting that the towels are not like we're used to, being more like linen rather than towelling, but we found them very servicable and they were of excellent quality and beautifully laundered.) The breakfast was more than adequate, with coffee prepared freshly for each guest, and a good selection of breakfast foods including "do-it-yourself" boiled eggs for those who wanted a more substantial meal. The staff members were exceptionally kind and helpful, happily making museum and restaurant reservations and suggestions on request. We especially enjoyed staying in this part of Florence, on the "other" side of the Arno River, because it was less touristy and crowded than in the historical centre, but with lots of cafes, restaurants, bars, etc. in the area, and within easy walking distance of everything one would want to see. I would have no hesitation in warmly recommending Hotel Silla as a three star hotel that exceeds expectations.

Room Tip: Our room faced the river with a lovely view, yet it was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Good place to stay at for reasonable price. Friendly daytime staff, very clean. Breakfast could be worked on as well as the modernity and interior design, however free wifi in rooms was excellent.
Overall good hotel, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I love Silla Hotel. - the prices are reasonable (for Firenze), the location is just across the Arno within a few moments walk of the Uffizi. When you arrive the entrance is inside a courtyard - a little obscure but keep walking and take a couple steps up to the lift. The hotel staff was always friendly and very helpful. The hotel serves a hearty breakfast with a robust buffet -make your own soft boiled egg and toast, pastries, cereal, fruit and fresh juice. They will bring you a yummy latte. The rooms are compact but very comfortable. The bathroom was just fine will a full shower and a small in wall hairdryer. The towels are like giant dishclothes - not fluffy but they do the job and are quite adequate, just different than we're used to. There's something just nice and cozy about this hotel. There is a nice bar, a courtyard where you can enjoy breakfast during nice weather and a very comfortable dining room. The lobby has a computer available for guest use and the staff is happy to print our tickets for tours and boarding passes for you. There is a little grocery store down the street and the hotel is within walking distance of shopping, museums and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review. I'm glad you liked your room and thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the Hotel.
Claudio Belotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful old world hotel the staff were helpful & friendly,car parking for us was a bonus.Our room was huge,crisp and clean,also very quiet.The hotel is situated just across the river from Florence,s attractions we just left the car garaged and walked everywhere........we should have stayed longer but our schedule didn't allow us.We have put this hotel on our must go back list. Breakfast was just GR8.

Room Tip: We were delighted with our room. Large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Silla has good breakfast (free), walking distance to Ponte Vecchio (5-8 minutes) and its cheap compared to hotel in the middle of the fray. Not fancy, clean enough, and great value. Ill go again.
Tiny tiny bathroom, but who cares...you can still get clean there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#52 Family Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.