We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Silla Hotel to your Saves list
Silla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy (Piazzale Michelangelo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€5 off room rate
Ranked #57 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful old world hotel the staff were helpful & friendly,car parking for us was a bonus.Our room was huge,crisp and clean,also very quiet.The hotel is situated just across the river from Florence,s attractions we just left the car garaged and walked everywhere........we should have stayed longer but our schedule didn't allow us.We have put this hotel on our must go back list. Breakfast was just GR8.

Room Tip: We were delighted with our room. Large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    350
    60
    12
    10
See reviews for
198
433
44
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Silla has good breakfast (free), walking distance to Ponte Vecchio (5-8 minutes) and its cheap compared to hotel in the middle of the fray. Not fancy, clean enough, and great value. Ill go again.
Tiny tiny bathroom, but who cares...you can still get clean there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We chose Silla Hotel for our stay in Florence as it is a bit outside the centre but still close to get to easily during the day. The hotel is off the main road along the river Arno, separated by a small park. The check in was easy helped by the friendly staff. Our room was clean, large and comfortable. The key for the wall safe is available from the reception . The hotel has a lovely terrace for sitting outside (coffee, etc is available) when you feel like relaxing after a day running around Florence. The breakfast was nice with plenty of sweet and savoury choices. If it would have been a bit warmer, you can sit on the terrace too. There is a small supermarket a few doors away for getting water, etc. There are a few nice wine bars (Bevo Vino, Fuori Porta) nearby, if you don't feel like walking back to the centre in the evening.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 12 days in Italy this past July (2012). For 4 nights we stayed at the Hotel Silla. The room was the largest we had during our Italian vacation. It was not what you would call charming, however the furnishings provided us with the most storage for our 2 suitcases of clothes than any place we stayed! Everything was clean and well maintained. If you are looking for a hotel that provides luxury, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a clean pleasant place to stay - this is it! The staff was so very accommodating. As a matter of fact, they made a reservation for me at a restaurant that I found on tripadvisor months before my trip! We did it all via the internet. One day we did a wine tasting tour to the Chianti region. When we returned with a bottle of wine and meat, cheeses and fruit from a local market, they gave us flatware, plates, glasses and opened our bottle of wine for us! We enjoyed dinner on the terrace. We found the location to be amazing. Everything was an easy walk from here. the hotel was right across from the Arno River and we were able to access everything! I would recommend the Hotel Silla to anyone looking for a great home base during your stay in Florence!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here with a companion recently for 4 nights. It was a very clean hotel, and very quiet. The room was adequate, though the one thing I would complain about were the towels! I don't normally get picky about such a small thing but it was a bit disappointing that the towels weren't the usual fluffy toweling sort, it was like drying yourself with a large tea towel, very strange, though it was only a small irritation, not a major issue. Other than that the hotel was perfect for seeing the sights, quite a few restaurants around as well. The bar was not very welcoming, it usually closed very early and we had to get someone off reception if we wanted a drink, but again that wasn't a major problem. Breakfast was fine too. I would recommend the hotel as a good fairly priced option if you want a nice clean hotel well situated for the sights of Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel Silla sits across from the Arno river facing a small park. It is prefectly located to anything you might want to do in the historic Florence city center. The room was the largest we've enjoyed at any time in Europe. The amenities were few, and the furnishings were simple. However the room was clean and neat, as was the bath. Our balcony overlooked a narrow street with little traffic. The room was solid and quiet. The staff was pleasant, courteous, and helpful. The bed was firm but comfortable and the A/C worked flawlessly. Wireless internet from the room was sketchy but usable. We loved this hotel more than any other on our recent tour of Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopefully
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Location is just across from Arno River; within walking distance to Ponte Vecchio. Rooms are great and extremely clean. Breakfast was served on their beautiful terrace and included fruit, pastries, cheeses, and ham. Hotel has bar and laundry service. Lots of great places to eat and drink close by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
#50 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#53 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#60 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#33 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#79 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#38 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.