We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service, comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silla Hotel to your Saves list
Silla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #54 of 461 Hotels in Florence
San Francisco,CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and service, comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had stayed at Hotel Silla on a bicycle tour 16 years ago. This time, I was there for a continuing education "conference". I liked the hotel the first time, but this time, I came away thinking that this will be my home base for every future visit to Firenze (one of my favorite destinations in Europe). Massimo and Claudio provided a warm welcome, and check-in was easy. The room was clean, reasonably large by standards of other hotels where I have stayed in Firenze and Roma, and even had a bathtub. The staff was friendly and efficient, and always ready to help. Breakfast (after the education sessions ended at 10:15 am) was wonderful, with fresh fruit, eggs, croissants, yogurt, cheese and salami, and of course, caffe (espresso) beverages on request. The outdoor terrace is a wonderful setting for breakfast, or to hang out over a glass of wine after a day of exploring the art, architecture and culture of Firenze. As a bonus, Massimo and Claudio were both very helpful in permitting me to utilize the phone to straighten out a problem that I had in obtaining cash. Oh yes, the location cannot be beaten, very close to the historic center, but on the quiet side of the Arno. I will definitely be back, and I recommend Hotel Silla highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for such a kind review Mr. S.
We look forward to meeting you here in Florence again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    318
    57
    11
    10
See reviews for
181
387
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Silla during our trip to Tuscany and it was really a great choice ( thanks to trip advisor reviews!!) , considering how expensive are the hotels of Florence. Silla was a gem, in a very convenient situation, with nice views (we had a room facing the park and the river, and the cute terrace as well). The terrace , full of flowers, was pretty. Unfortunately the breakfast was served inside during our stay, but you could have a coffee from the bar and sit out, which was lovely. The breakfast was ok, not something special, but it is a 3 star hotel, so don;t expect a breakfast of a 4 star.. The room and the bathroom were just splendid. I apprecciated too much the glass door of the shower and the plenty of shelfs to put my things on!!
So if you don't need a hotel with a lobby downstairs (Silla is in a palazzo and the reception is on the first floor) and you are not crazy with very rich breakfast, Silla is a great choice for Firenze, in a very good price for this expensive city!
Some tips now:
1) The neighbourhood is very nice with some restaraunts nearby ( in the same road and at the back) and many bars if you like having a dink at night . Is very close to Piazza Michelanzelo too (by foot, 15 min , through flowers!)
2)It is very close by foot and in Santa Croce (you just going along the Ponte Gracie) , a neighbourhood full of restaurants, very lively, where you could have a superb ice cream in Vivoli Bar (they say they make the best!!)
3)Use bus 23 for going to San Marco (the stop is just oppossite by the ponte Gracie), bus D for Santa Maria Novella Station, (same stop) and C3 ( the stop is close, to the vertical road to the left out of the hotel) for Santa Spirito , another great neighbourhood, charming and full of life. We even had there a live jazz concert for free in a small piazzalle!!
3) If you use then a rent car, it is very convenint to take it from Amendola Avenue , because is very easy to avoid ZTL from there , cross the Ponte S. Nicolo and go for the Chianti. We used the airport , but you could save some euros with the way I mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review, it is great to know you had such a pleasant stay at ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Loaction perfect for everything, hospitality and staff - first class. Could not believe our luck choosing this Hotel - not sure when EM stayed but the bedlinen was superb, service exceptional. The staff could not do enough for us, booking tickets, offering help and advice, providing a vase at 1am for the Roses my husband bought me!! Breakfast - great and a lovely al fresco location - even boiled eggs! We were comfortable, safe and pampered. We would return and recommend. Oh and those towels - well we actually liked them - weird (as we are not used to them) but practical and not heavy like some bath towels.

Cannot write this review without mentioning Luigi at the High Bar - literally turn left out of the Hotel and 100 yards on the left (the last bar) great food, at great prices and he was a great host. Inside the bar he provides an amazing selection of nibbles, free to just help yourself, even if you sit with one beer everyone is welcome to snack. Music, plenty of tables inside and out, he is a part owner of the bar so cares very much about each and every customer and he deserves a mention.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the alfresco dining area and street - it was peaceful and cool - the weather was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, which of course, it was a joy to read!

And thank you for taking the time to answer to one of the other reviews, we really appreciate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The best part about Silla? The parking. However when we first arrived we were slightly disappointed in the service. Turns out if the hotel is not in the ZTL area they cannot waive your parking fines for you. But the attitude of the receptionist made us rather unhappy when we first arrived. That aside, the parking was convenient and right next to the hotel.

There is a large supermarket right next to Silla, and pretty good and reasonably priced food nearby. The Ponte Vecchio, a beautiful bridge in Florence that has lots of shops in the day and street musicians at night is just a short walk away, and great for just quiet relaxation. The Uffizi was also just a short walk away. Getting to the San Lorenzo market was quick- just 5 minutes by taxi. Breakfast was simple but rather good.

Basic hotel, perfect for sleeping and having breakfast. Beds were comfortable though, and we had the large family room with three single beds and a king bed. The room was extremely spacious, and the beds were also comfortable. Dont expect too much as it is not immaculately decorated, but it was all in all a good stay and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The location was as promised : within walking distance to the center of Florence, nearby Ponte Vecchio. The reception on arrival was poorly at the least. The receptionist did not provide any information regarding the hotel. We were shown to our room and left behind without any info. The infobooklet in the room wasn't worth looking at. We didn't even get informed about breakfast hours. Breakfast itself was poorly presented on a not so well kept terras. Cheap products and a limited assortment of bread. The room itself was relatively clean but the furniture and the bed linnen had seen better days. The sheets slightly smelled of vinegar, the towls were as thin as those sheets. The bathroom was small with a shower in the bathtub. Because of the rather high bathtub showering wasn't very comfortable. Drying yourself with the ultra thin towels wasn't very pleasant either.
I suspect that the pictures shown on the hotel site and in the hotel folder were taken years ago or these rooms were especially done up nice for the fotoshoot. Coming from the beautifull Radisson Blu Hotel in Milan this was more than a few steps back in comfort and pleasantness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsilla, Owner at Silla Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hotel Silla.
I apologise if the receptionist wasn't able to give you the information you needed which is unusual, most of our reviews stress how helpful our staff is, again I'm sorry we were not able to fulfill your expectations.

I'm surprised by the fact you found sheets smelling, but I'm even more surprised you didn't rush to reception asking to change them - instead of informing us one month later, if it happened to me I simply wouldn't sleep in them.
I don't want to appear rude, I just would like to let you and other reviewers note that if something in the room or service is not as you expect it might actually help to let us know so we can fix it while you're staying at the hotel.

Thank you again for your review, be sure we are taking the action to avoid other guests to be disappointed by similar issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I cant say anything bad about this place. For a 3 star hotel, located perfectly on a quiet street next to the big city hussle - it's great. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, clean rooms. I think it's a very good price/quality arrangement and will come back. The street is a hip happening location with a few nice bars and a great local restaurant. Very good stay!

Room Tip: top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

rooms vary in cleanliness and bed comfort. We stayed for 4 days and really didn't like it. Dark and slightly dank.

On the plus side: if you have a car, this is one of the few places you might find parking.

Room Tip: be sure to look at exact room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silla Hotel

Address: Via dei Renai, 5, 50100 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#52 Family Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your moments of rest in Florence in a XV century palace, away from the tourist crowds but at only 5 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio, Uffizzi Gallery and the Cathedral. Have your buffet breakfast in our lovely terrace or just relax with a refreshing drink after a day among art, history and shopping. Hotel Silla offers a gracious hospitality. Each of our well-furnished rooms has air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, direct-dial telephone and safe. The hotel is provided with a spacious garage, located in the same hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.